We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem on the hill”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort
Ranked #8 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We travelled to Silavadee in November/December 2013 for our honeymoon. From booking, to transfers, to staff and comfort we thoroughly recommend this resort.

All the staff were very friendly and never without a smile. The turn down service with a different Thai snack each evening was fantastic, little things go a along way.

We were especially impressed with how well the resort shuttles were run. If they said 3:15, they would be there on the dot, every time.

The food was tasty, the rooms incredibly comfortable, the spa relaxing and the pools fantastic.

There is still a bit of construction going on to some of the back rooms and a new entertainment and possibly restaurant area - this was all fine while we were there - I only mention it as we'd return just to see how it has improved.

There are some hills depending where you're located, so if you're one for complaining about walking then perhaps talk to the hotel before booking. The staff golf carted us back to our room one night because we were exhausted (they move around mostly on carts).

The location is secluded but has some great local restaurants, and while you can't walk to town it's easy enough to catch a taxi or use the shuttle services.

We hope to be back one day!

Room Tip: If you're not much a of a walker, ask to be closer to the reception. The best views are closer t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Justin-dft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (922)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

297 - 303 of 922 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We were lucky enough to get Married at Silavadee Resort in December 2013.
It was truly the most spectacular wedding we could ever have hope for. I was naturally apprehensive about trying to arrange a wedding in Thailand from the UK, but I have to say how impressed I was with their service, from the initial email contact, to finally meeting the wedding planner (Nokie) when we arrived in Samui a week before our wedding. I could not have asked for a more efficient wedding planner. Nokie was absolutely fantastic. Her attention to detail was impressive, particularly given the number of events she is responsible for at the resort.
The great thing about this resort, is the number of options we had in terms of menu, décor, and reception locations around the resort. We opted to have the ceremony and reception on the beach, which worked out perfectly. We thought it was going to rain at one stage, but luckily the rain held off.
We actually lived in Samui for 9 months, and there are not many resorts on the island which offer the privacy of your own beach for a wedding. We were also offered a pool villa as part of the package we stayed in the night of our wedding. The villas are beautiful, and tastefully designed.
All in all, our wedding was everything we could ever have dreamed of, and would have no hesitation in recommending this resort as a wedding venue.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tarryn84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

I spend 10days at Silvadee Resort in Koh Samui over christmas 2013.
We stayed in an Panormaic ocean pool villa.

The villa is very spacious and has a big pool. The sundeck was big enough for two sundbeds and a lunch/dinner table for two.
But,
The view! It was not panoramic. There where trees and other roof tops covering the ocean panorama view. In the free area in where the ocean could be seen the view was very nice. But i would not call the view panoramic.

The hotel beach was magnificent. All you can ask for; white sand, blue/turqoues ocean, lime stones and palm trees.

The resturants in the resort delivered over all expectations! The food was excellent and the wine list was also excellent full of very nice choises.

Over all our stay was very nice. Some maintanance is needed here and there and Silavadee Resort should concider to remove some of the trees blocking the sea view from the "parnorama" villas.

Room Tip: I would not stay in the Panoramic pool villa again - since the view is not panormaic. Add an exra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Patrik T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed in this resort for two nights in an ocean facing room with hot tub on the balcony, over all I enjoyed my stay as there are many good things about the resort, but...there were one or two issues that the management need to address soon or their trip adviser rating is going to suffer. Good points are, staff are awesome, very friendly and well trained, food is very good and not too expensive, drinks also are a fair price and there is a happy hour to take advantage of. They have a buggy system which will take you anywhere at short notice as the resort is built on a hillside, the staff are happy to take you to and fro at a whim, beach is small but private and beautiful. There is also a very well equipt gym overlooking the beach which I enjoyed in the morning.
Bad points........our room was very tired and dated, see pics, the wall paper was covered in some kind of tidemark which was horrible and the air conditioning was very noisy, like trying to sleep with the washing machine on it' s spin cycle! considering it cost us £398 pounds for two nights it was very disappointing. There was also a foul odour at the infinity poolside which was sickening, obvious a blocked drain issue, I reported it to reception but the smell was still there the following day. It is a real shame because this hotel has some real potential to be a big hitter but the people who run it need to get their finger out and reinvest some money back into the place before it is too late.

Room Tip: The hotel was only half full so make sure you get a nice room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BJPDunfermline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2014

I had been to Silavadee in Jan.2014. I had booked an Ocean View Jacuzzi room for 3 nights. Silavadee is located on the eastern coast of Samui. It is perched on a hillock and the landscape of the hotel is at split levels. By far, this is the most beautiful hotel property I have ever seen in my life. The rooms, villas and restaurants have been built around the natural landscape of abundant trees and rocks giving a feeling of being close to nature. There are club cars within the premises to ferry guests from one location to another. Trust me, you need a drop-off after eating to your heart's content at their fantastic restaurants. The trees in and around the property are beautifully lit up at night.

About the room - The flooring and furniture was of solid wood. It gave a nice rustic feel to the room. The bathtub is simply superb and the balcony overlooks the villas and the South China Sea. The views of the sunrise from the room are unbelievable and superlative. The amentites included free wifi, beach bags and beach towels, a JBL sound-dock with an ipod shuffle, beach slippers, beach umbrella, mosquito repellent, plenty of tea/coffee sachets etc. all free of cost (not many hotels provide all this for free). The saddest part about the room was the Jacuzzi. Unlike most of the jacuzzi systems, when the pump would be switched on, the bubble jets used to inject cold water instead of air in the already filled tub. I could not enjoy the jacuzzi at all. It wasn't very clean either.

About the Restaurants - The Height is an authentic Thai restaurant. It is located on a cliff overlooking the rocky beach. The views are fantastic. What an experience to dine here. It does not have enough choice of dishes though. But, the taste of the food is quite good.
Sun,Moon,Star is a new restaurant - The Sun bar opens out to a new infinity pool, The Moon offers a mix of Continental, Asian and Western menus, The Star Bar is open to sky and it is no surprise why it was name as such. The views from all these restaurants are yet again superlative. The breakfast is served at the Moon restaurant and the Western and Asian breakfast menu options are great. Service is a bit slow though.

About the Spa - I'm coming here once again just for the Spa. Need I say more? No surprise why it has won so many accolades world over for the Spa. Truly unforgettable experience

About the Pool - The Infinity Pool is unarguably the best I have ever seen yet. It offers stellar views of the ocean and the rocky beach. Yet again, superlative...

About the Beach - It is a private beach because SIlavadee has built an access to the beach which is naturally protected by dense vegetation and trees. So in a way, nobody else has access to this beach. The Beach Bar is quite good. The sea is choppy and rough most of the times so you cannot really swim or snorkel. But when the tide is low in the early morning, it is pristine. Unfortunately, the strong current brings in lot of trash from the adjacent beaches. I hoped that it would be cleaned each day, but it wasnt.

About the Service - The service is great and the staff is warm and courteous. Everything is well explained in the drive around the property at the time of checking-in. Nice way to make the guests accustomed to the beauty and scale of this pristine property.

After having said all this, I can only say that Silavadee is a slice of heaven on earth. A tropical paradise.. Its peace and tranquility are priceless. Away from the hustle and bustle of the busy Chaweng and Lamai beaches...

Room Tip: The Pool Villas are superb if it does not pinch your pocket. The jacuzzi rooms offer stunning views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RohitAgharkar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
24
Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

Summary:

A decent family hotel at slightly high price point with decent amenities for a comfortable family holiday. It is more of a 4 star hotel than 5 star.

Why I would come back:

- Friendly staff
- Good location with nice views from the Ocean view suite.
- Clean rooms that are fairly well kept.
- Information easily and readily available for what to do.
- Good hotel transportation service with English speaking driver.
- Nice breakfast with great serving staff. The A La Carte options are not well advertised but are included in the breakfast price and are not extra so ask for a menu.
- Good room service.
- Nice bathroom and showers.

Why I wouldn't come back:

- Beach is below average and if you want a beach then you have to leave the hotel and travel for about 20-30 mins by car.
- Room fit out is basic and very little furniture in even the most expensive chalet/suite. 
- Room size is small.
- I think you can probably get more for the price at another branded resort.

Feedback to Management:

- I paid $1,000 per night for my ocean view suite but I was disappointed at the lack of furniture in the room. There is nowhere to sit in the room and a simple wooden bench in the balcony which is very uncomfortable to sit on for more than 10 minutes. The only place to sit is on the bed. This means you don't fully enjoy the ocean which is what you pay for.
- My kids stayed in the room downstairs in the chalet and there is no phone between the two rooms which meant that if we wanted to check on them or talk to them we had to leave our room, go down and talk to them. Massively inconvenient in the morning and at night.
- The flooring used in the bathrooms is very slippery and we all slipped several times during our 4 day stay.
- The glass on the balcony entrance is a hazard as it is very clean with no markings and the reflection in the night means you can't see the glass and on several occasions you are about to crash into the door. On the last night my wife did badly bruising her nose.
- There should be an evening turn down service as it would be nice to get the bed freshened again considering there is no where to sit in the room other than the bed during the day.

On the whole a pretty average stay. I certainly don't leave disappointed but I also don't see myself staying at the same resort again the next time. 

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2013 via mobile

Perfect place to find peacefulness and a buzyness hideaway. The staffs are very friendly & helpful and the hotel facilities are great. The room itself is awesome especially if you stay in panoramic or ocean front pool villa (not forget to mention about the private infinity pool inside the villa ). Highly recommended accomodation in Samui!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank lisqial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,443 reviews
1.3 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
2.9 mi away
Vana Belle, A Luxury Collection Resort, Koh Samui
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
1.5 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Silavadee Pool Spa Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Silavadee Pool Spa Resort

Address: 208 / 66 Moo 4 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#11 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £153 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Silavadee Pool Spa Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Silavadee Pool Spa Resort is the latest luxury resort on the island of Koh Samui and offers 44 pool villas and 36 deluxe rooms. Much of the native landscape has been retained during the construction of the resort, and all the furniture and fabrics have been especially designed and handmade by local artists. Guests can enjoy Asian as well as international dishes at The Height Restaurant, and premium wines and cigars are available at the Wine and Cigar Lounge. Be sure to head to the spa to experience massages and therapies that will leave you feeling rejuvenated. Nearby activities include a range of water activities and sight-seeing tours. Booking your stay at this fabulous resort is easy - simply select your dates and click. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Sawasdee, Expedia, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Holiday Gems, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Silavadee Pool Spa Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Silavadee Pool Hotel Lamai Beach
Silavadee Pool Resort
Silavadee Pool Spa Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing