We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquil hotel which really does live up to all the hype!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Montra Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Montra Hotel
Ranked #24 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Tranquil hotel which really does live up to all the hype!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2010

Eight individual villas surrounded by beautifully kept gardens and a great pool which interlinks the suites. The villas have a separate lounge and bedroom which was great for us traveling with our baby, we stayed ten nights and didn't want to leave. Their Hue restaurant does yummy Thai food and my husband really enjoyed his Thai cooking course and we found the food and drink reasonably priced compared to the other bigger hotel complexes. Thank you to all the staff who really made our stay great, there is always someone there when you need them and nothing is too much trouble even moving the satellite receiver to our suite so my husband could enjoy a premiership football match! A special mention to Sathit, Su and Nong!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank northernangel77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    303
    49
    16
    6
    4
See reviews for
42
246
10
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

First of all, after reading the reviews of Montra I had high expectations. Trip Advisor had been pretty accurate on all the accommodation we have stayed at so I was expecting to be blown away and Montra did not disappoint.

We were greeted by nothing short of an entourage on arrival, smiles, fresh juice and cold towel, immediately made up for the fact there was no transfer from the port. Our three night stay at 3,000B per night was made even more appealing by the news we were entitled to a complementary Thai massage at the spa.

The actual room/villa was fantastic and quite frankly embarrassed everywhere we have stayed in a similar price range in Thailand. NB: we haven't stayed in a bad hotel yet. This wins hands down as each villa has a large bedroom, separate sitting area (DVD, stereo, cable TV). The bathroom is probably the best part, two sinks, a separate shower and a bath you could practically swim lengths in.

I do hate agreeing with people but the facilities outside of the room are just as impressive. The restaurant food is superb, as was the cooking course. The massage and facial we had we exemplary while the swimming pool and surroundings are authentic while tastefully modern.

The service we received was also a master class in how a hotel should be ran, there is always someone on hand (mainly down to Montra being a relatively small complex). The service is not overwhelming though and the staff blend into the background until they are required once more.

The cost of the drinks, spa and restaurant is relatively high, but you would expect that anywhere in a resort of this type. Overall the stay has been an absolute pleasure and I would recommend this to any couple looking to pamper themselves at a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iamrivaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shenzhen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2010

everything is so good.you can enjoy the calm & quiet tropical garden,the lovely pool.We just want to stay at the hotel enjoying the relaxing life rather than going anywhere else

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jessica820104
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2010

We stayed here for 4 nights we were extremely surprised by the serenity and beauty of Montra. Its so quite and relaxing and the staf does everything to help you. You can have breakfast, lunch and dinner in the beautiful restaurant or in your private villa. The value for money is probably the best you can find in Samui. But what we best liked in Montra was the service and attention by the people who work here, especially by Su and Nong. They were great! We will never ever forget them. If you go to Samui stay here, and rent a car so you are mobile. They can arrange everything for you.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fatih007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2010

As the title indicates - it's difficult to describe this amazing place without loosing credibility since I can't find one single flaw. We stayed there for 6 nights and believe me, we had a hard time leaving the place... every day! The excellent restaurant, friendly yet proper service and nice facilities makes it a wonderful paradise. The fact that it's such a small hotel with only 9 villas makes it very personal and we really enjoyed to not have a lot of new faces walking by. After just a few days we recognized all people staying at the hotel and we felt very secure and didn't even bother locking the door. Try to to find that feeling at a larger luxury hotel! Montra is definitely worth a detour and we will come back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BrasseHasse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2010

Its always so easy to forget to give thanks to the shining stars when you have had the odd bad experience on Holiday. I am thankful to say that the Montra Hotel is the shining Star of our 3 week break to Thailand. Myself and Girlfriend would like to thank all of that Staff at the Montra, from booking, checking in, dinner, breakfast, reception, maintenance, security, management and anyone else that we might have mistakenly missed out.
As a review of the hotel, we stayed in the Hanson suite, excellent considering this is the hotels entry level room. As stated it is a "real" suite with separate lounge area to bedroom both of which have ample space to dance around in, the bathroom has both a huge tub and massive shower, and double sink. The decor is as it looks on the Internet, perfect. Our rate included breakfast which included fresh fruit, tea,coffee, juice and an order from the kitchen, a great way to set yourself up for a day of sight seeing or sun bathing. The Hotel pool has a great design, fairly narrow but stretches around the rooms, giving the option of either swimming lengths or just chilling out in a corner. We also dined in the Hotel for one of our evenings, but on reflection wished we had dined a few more times as the food, service and ambiance could not have been beaten in the local area. We kept it Thai with a reasonably priced bottle of wine and the bill didn't get out of hand.
Location wise the Hotel is a short walk away from the main town which suited us fine, meaning we could walk off dinner, didn't have any road noise and we got to explore a little more than we would have if we were in the centre.
To pop the cherry on the cake, after we had left the hotel a few days later on my girlfriends birthday, we received an email from the hotel wishing her a happy day.
Would I recommend this hotel, yes, would I stay again, yes, do I wish that all hotels in Thailand we like the Montra, Yes, Yes, Yes.

Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank doah2k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
2.0 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
1.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#8 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
1.7 mi away
Boujis Boutique Resort
Boujis Boutique Resort
#39 of 104 in Chaweng
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montra Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montra Hotel

Property: Montra Hotel
Address: 142/33-42 Moo 4 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84312, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#2 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Montra Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Montra is a small independent hotel located in Lamai. To enter you have to duck through a pair of solid old wooden gates and, as the gates clunk closed behind you, you find yourself in a magical peaceful garden, you feel yourself relaxing and you have the feeling you are somewhere special. Our quiet hillside location, one kilometre from Lamai Beach, allows us to give you holiday lodgings in a beautiful villa for a price better than the tiny room at the beach. Being a nine villa property means Montra is able to offer a more personal touch with staff knowing you by name and learning your preferences whilst still respecting your privacy. Our nine luxurious villas are situated in lush tropical gardens dominated by an elegant swimming pool. All villas are 63 square meters and offer a master bedroom with a high ceiling, top quality bed and linens; the living room comes equipped with all the modern amenities; the 14 square meters bathroom offers both an open shower with a bathtub designed for two with twin headrests and double sinks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Montra Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montra Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing