We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Depends on wat you're used to!”
Review of Utopia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Utopia Resort
Ranked #26 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
gelderland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Depends on wat you're used to!”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

After 4 weeks Thailand, I ended my trip at Lamai in Utopia. To be honest, this accomodation is average. Not good, not bad, just average. The bungalows a build in pairs or tripples and therefore different. Mine was basic and old, but clean, with AC and TV, but who needs TV in paradise? The location is good, strait on the beach and fairly quiet, but in walking distance of shops and eateries. No Pool, but a clean beach with free sunbeds. The garden around de bungalows is tropical, full of flowers and absolutely beautifull.
The management at checking in (streetside) wasn't very friendly, but the staff at the restaurant (Beachside) was wonderfull. It was a real pleasure, having breakfast viewing the beach and sea. All and all I stayed at better places for less, but it all depends on wat you're used to. Lamai is (a bitt) more expensive and more touristic compared to other beach resorts in the southern islands (Samui, Phangan and Tao), but still is a nice place to spend some days. Just make sure this isn't the only place you stay in.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank reizertje1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

118 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    54
    13
    3
    7
See reviews for
25
56
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Barbirey-sur-Ouche, France
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

each year we spend a few days in this old place in samui, now the manager of bungalows have changed and it s not so interesting, breackfast is not included now and people at reception are not not so friendly, but in the beach area the other manager is still friendly and the cook is excellent for thai typical plates

it s still a good deal in samui cause all the prices are increasing each year

you can stay here for a bungallow along the beautiful beach of lamai for 1500 bahts

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank micot21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
christchurch
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2011

Just got back from another stay at the Utoipa Resort in Lamai and it was fantastic again. This is the 2nd time we (my wife and I) have stayed there. If you are looking for a budget hotel on the beach that is clean, tidy with frendily staff and air con we would again recommend it. It took me 45 steps to get to the beach which is clean and great swimming and 125 steps to get to the main street and shopping .

It is not some flash place but it is more than comfortable and a great price

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank b-d-christchurch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
liverpool
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We have just come back from 2 weeks at this resort, it was booked by my dad who is staying over there ( think he forgot I will be picking his nurseing home) Only jokeing, when we first saw are room my daughter and I were nearly in tears, the floor and walls were dark wood and the bedding was also dark so made the room look quite miserable. It was late at night and we had been traveling for over 24 hours and were very tired.
When we got up the next day the resort its self was set in its own grounds which was very well kept. an seconds from the beach.
The rooms even though dark were well looked after cleaned every day, with clean towels, sheets and no crawely things.
First off it wasnt great but the staff are friendly enough and for the money its not to bad
I would give it another go, just dont tell my dad.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank spiceladyLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napa,ca usa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2011

My husband, my sister in-law, brother in-law and myself traveled to Thailand for 3 weeks. We stayed in Bangkok for 2 days and then travelled by train to Chaing Mai where we stayed for 4 nights and 5 days before flying to Koh Samui for the remainder of our trip. All of the before mentioned travel plans were booked online and went very smooth and held no surprises since we do our research and work BEFORE we start a vacation.
We arrived in Samui Sat. afternoon and were greeted by our driver, as planned and headed for Utopia Resort right on schedule. A friend of ours ( who lives on Samui ) had previously gone to Utopia and paid for two rooms for two nights. He paid in full ( NOT A DEPOSIT). This is where it gets ugly!! We were told by"Kim" that he must have made a mistake and rented our rooms to other people. This was Chinese New Year week and the little town of Lamai was very crowded and it was now almost sunset and we had no place to stay. We of course asked how this could have happened and Kim's reply was " this is Thailand" I am convinced he let our rooms go to other guests who were willing to pay more than the amount he collected from our friend. A basic tenet of innkeeping is to take reservations and honor them. This man stranded us on a very busy night and his only retort was I made a mistake, you never make a mistake? How hard is it to keep track of a dozen or so rooms? Apparently very hard for a man of limited mental capabilities or low moral standards or questionable sobriety. We had just travelled for many days in Thailand and this Thailand was not the Thailand we had come to love and appreciate. The people of Thailand went way out of their way to accommodate us and make sure all of our needs were met. If we weren't happy they weren't happy. This Utopia situation was very uncharacteristic of the people and shines a bad light on what was otherwise a fantastic trip. Please stay away from Utopia and try one of the other respected places on the island. My tip would be to stay at the other end of Lamai street at the Golden Sands!!

Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Napa_causaDonna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brno
Level Contributor
115 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2011

Utopie is in great location on the beach and near the all nightlife pleasures. Bungallows are very nice we stay in bungallows with aircon. Bungallows are in the nice garden right on the beach Lamai. Lamai is imho best beach on island! Silver beach is most beautiful but it far to night life about 6 min by bike. Taling naam is nice too but its so far to bars about 30min ang Chaweng its not so nice like lamai... Breakfast was good, classic some egs, bacon ham a nd cheese and fruits. Staff is great and the owner is joker :)Only one minus has this bungallows and they hasnt a pool but, who stayed in the pool when you can be on great beach and sea.Wifi function only in reception. For the price is my best otion on lamai and i have been ther 3rd times.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Joll32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GVA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 December 2010

I based my choice on the good reviews i had read on Trip advisor but was unfortunately very disappointed. ok, it was kind of law season (still rainy season), and the all island was pretty empty, but this does not excuse the fact that the place is totally run out! First night at the pseudo luxury bungalow on the beach was dipressing as ever (plugs coming out of the wall, rotten furniture, bed sheets from the 70's, etc), second and third night we moved to a cheaper and slightly better bungalow 20 meters away from the beach. It was raining in the room! Honestly, the place is falling apart! We orginaly booked 5 nights and were asked for a deposit of half the total price of our stay. .We were pretty disappointed and did not want to get more annoyed with the management by asking for our money back and therefore stayed 3 long nights and left for a hotel next door (literally next door!) with brand new rooms, free wifi and lovely staff for cheaper than those rotten bungalows...
Based on all the above, I would therefore not recommand anyone to stay in this place.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lisagaedecke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
536 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
220 reviews
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
666 reviews
0.3 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort

Property: Utopia Resort
Address: 124/105 M3, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#10 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing