We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fond memories”
Review of Utopia Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Utopia Resort
Ranked #29 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 August 2013

Went back to an old favourite resort for this visit to Koh Samui. This resort hasn't changed a lot in the last twenty years, the bungalows and restaurant have been upgraded and the grounds maintained but the staff are still as friendly as ever - even remembering and welcoming us back.
Perfect little resort. I did find the restaurant a little expensive and preferred to eat elsewhere. There are quite a few deckchairs on the beach for guests use. I would consider staying there again. Some of the previous reviews seem to be negative but i was happy with my stay and the facilities. The laundry was a little expensive making you pay one price per piece regardless of whether it was underwear or jeans.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MrsFreo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (123)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

37 - 43 of 123 reviews

Reviewed 19 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for New Years from 30th December 12 to 3rd Jan 13.

It looked nice and modern on our arrival, this is where our positive opinion of it ended. When checking in the owner was friendly enough but then showed why it was like moving in to an old people's home. My girlfriend asked for the wireless password and he cracked some joke about how we youngsters can't live without the internet these days for 5 minutes. No mate, we are on the other side of the world and haven't spoken with our family for quite some time.

Anyway, we got taken to the room expecting a fairly reasonable sized room and for it to be clean with the money we had spent on it. The room turned out to be absolutely tiny with paint chipping off the walls, air conditioning that barely worked, a sink crawling with ants and a bathroom that was so filthy and smelly that their were as my girlfriend put it "siht flies" all over the walls and hovering around the toilet.

We did have breakfast included and it was quite nice as it was freshly cooked, but a piece of bacon an egg, slice of toast and tiny glass of orange juice again is not acceptable for the price we were paying.

They had a tourist desk in the reception which we went and asked for some prices for a ticket over to Koh Phangnan for NYE, here we were told 1000 baht. Not a bad price we thought for what was included, however we went 2 minutes up the road and asked another travel shop for the same thing and were given a price over 200 baht less so please make sure you check elsewhere before stumping for the price you are given here.

My review is very poor, this isn't the worst place I have stayed though, it was just very poor considering the price we paid for it and because the owner was rude and a bit weird.

Room Tip: Pay extra and get a bigger room nearer to the beach, they looked like they could have been nicer. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Johnny255069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 December 2012

We booked a "Super Delux" bungalow and were quite disappointed.

The room was clean & tidy however in need of some TLC. The bed was comfortable however we only had one pillow each and the extra one we were provided with was quite shabby.

The bathroom again wasnt dirty however really wasnt what we expected for a "Super Delux" room. The shower wasnt attached to a shower head and was awkward to use. We did notice that alot of building work was going on while we were there so they may be in the middle of an update :)

The location here is good and I would rather have stayed in Lamai Beach than Chaweng or Bophut as it is slightly quiter and really easy to access everywhere else. The beach area was lovely.

Wouldnt stay were again however the hotel is okay value for what we paid.

xxxx

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2012

Utopia laundry totally ruined 4 of my shirts with stains through them. I took them back and they couldn't remove the stains and didn't even offer anything for their mistake.

These were original shirts not Thailand copies so was a costly error to me due to their incompetence.

Don't use their laundry service under any circumstance. Their are plenty of other options in the immediate area.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ozalien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2012

Stayed here for 1 night with my partner. Lovely place right in the centre of Lamai and yet so peaceful. Free parking, well-kept grounds and greenery. Restaurant food was really good, particularly the Thai dishes. Lived on Koh Phangan for 5 months now and never have I seen such a nice beach! White sand, plenty of sunbeds and the water is deep so you don't have to wade out in the shallows for 100m like most of the beaches here! No pool but the beach really makes up for that. One little thing, there were a few spider webs around the room which I would prefer to be dusted up but as we were only staying for 1 night I wasn't too bothered. Not a 4/5 star place like most of the other resorts on the island but great for those who like to keep to a budget. + they have english channels on the TVs! shame I didn't stay here during the Olympics! Great place, will definitely stay again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Londontraveller91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at the Utopia two years ago and were delighted to return last month. Still the same friendly staff, some of them even recognised us!! Excellent value for money in fact it was cheaper than two years ago and right on the beach what more could you ask for.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank marian_kuyper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2012

Has been 15 years since we last stayed at Utopia but it was time to return after a major birthday. Our bungalow, although basic was ideal for our needs right on the beach and central for Lamai's nightlife. The holiday was made all the more perfect by the friendly staff who really looked after us and made us feel most welcome.
There are 5 star resorts on Koh Samui but Utopia offers a reasonably priced alternative with an extremely relaxed friendly atmosphere. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Susan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.6 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
249 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Laguna Resort
Samui Laguna Resort
#37 of 51 in Lamai Beach
236 reviews
0.5 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#30 of 51 in Lamai Beach
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
569 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#20 of 51 in Lamai Beach
48 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Utopia Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Utopia Resort

Address: 124/105 M3, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £19 - £38 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Utopia Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Utopia Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Utopia Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing