We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Star bay Restuarant is value for money” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starbay Beach and Gardens

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Lamai Beach
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Starbay Beach and Gardens
Ranked #41 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Sawtell, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Star bay Restuarant is value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the beach republic but ate at the Starbay restaurant next door where the food was excellent, value for money with good serves and service was great. We enjoyed this restuarant so much we ate there three times in one week. Would recommend to anyone looking for good Thai food.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Rod W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    11
    13
    2
    1
    6
See reviews for
13
15
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2014

We stayed next door at the Beach Republic but we ate most of our meals here at the Starbay, the staff were very friendly and the food was quite cheap, the only disappointment was the hamburger which wasn't quite right, the rest of the food was tasty and plentiful and the views are spectacular. Worth a try.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidElaine2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
224 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 178 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

what a little gem this is amongst al of the higher priced restaurants in the area. beautiful views as right on beach, very attentive owner (and gorgeous 18 moth old) with exceptional thai food i had the sea bass fillet and my husband a hot massaman both delightful as was the service. would definitely go back there when we come back to the beach republic next time (it is right next door0

Room Tip: This review is for the restaurant only. Have not seen the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Carolineess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florence, Italy
Level Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

At our first night at Le Meridien, we attempted to eat at the lovely dinner on the pier but were turned away due to lack of reservation. So, we went right next door and decided to have dinner at Starbay on their open porch. We were greeted immediately and attended to very well. We ordered a mango slush, seafood pad thai, chinese greens in oyster sauce and a green chicken curry which the waiter recommended. Every item was plenitful and tasty.
Given the reasonable price (USD13), I would go back for sure.

Room Tip: The curry was noted as "hot" but according to my husband, it was not bad at all
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Calidiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 April 2014

We have been returning annually for several years now and love this place. We have moved around a bit in terms of accommodation but have to say that house 20 is our favourite. It is bright, spacious and clean with nice furniture and everything you need in the kitchen. The two bedrooms upstairs, one with balcony, are comfortable and well equipped with bedding and towels. The patio is lovely for relaxing in the evening. The resort is at the quiet end of Lamai beach between Beach Republic and Le Meridien. The gardens are well maintained too. Because many of the houses are lived in by their owners year round there is a real community feel to the place and, obviously, a strong sense of security. For the money you won't get better than this!

Room Tip: House 20 seems to be the nicest two bedroom on the resort. It is popular and tends to booked out qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Aberlour102014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairlight, Australia
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 January 2014 via mobile

Great atmosphere for a family run Thai restaurant. Good value and very helpful staff. We were staying next door at Beach Republic and had a lunch for the 2 of us one afternoon and were so impressed went back with the family that night. Authentic local Thai dishes so don't expect upmarket and modern.
All in all great value and good honest Thai food.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank LifesToShort-Enjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miri, Malaysia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

We had dinner 4 December and the food was excellent. We stayed at the Le Meridian next door but decided to walk down the beach one night and found the Starbay restaurant. We both had fish, prepared per our request, very fresh, generous serving size, with fresh vegetables and tasty Thai style sauce. What really impressed me was the banana pancakes. I make banana pancakes and wish I could make them crispy on the outside with banana on the inside. Well Done! ps. The food at Le Meridian is very good, but it is Good to have some competition next door!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank joelaing7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Starbay-Beach, Manager at Starbay Beach and Gardens, responded to this review, 11 February 2016
Google Translation
We would like to announce, that the management has changed in 2014.
Wir möchten bekanntgeben, dass sich das Management im Jahr 2014 geändert hat.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.0 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 728 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rose Garden Samui Bungalow
Rose Garden Samui Bungalow
#34 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.2 mi away
Poolsawat Villa
Poolsawat Villa
#9 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 36 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Manita Beach Resort
0.4 mi away
Samui Tonggad Resort
Samui Tonggad Resort
#26 of 42 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Bay View Resort
Lamai Bay View Resort
#17 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starbay Beach and Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starbay Beach and Gardens

Property: Starbay Beach and Gardens
Address: 146/14, Moo 4, Tambon Maret | Suratthani / Koh Samui / Had Lamai, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310 , Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#26 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The private Vacation Resort is about 2,5 km from the center of Lamai Beach. Starbay Beach & Gardens is a little, family oriented, paradise consisting of 21 private vacation homes, a restaurant and pool is directly on the beach. The houses are located in a tropical garden of 7000 m². All the house are owned by owners of different nationalities, which is also reflected in the style and decoration of the homes. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Starbay Beach And Gardens Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing