We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“right on the beach for 350 thai baht!”
Review of New Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
New Hut Bungalows
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“right on the beach for 350 thai baht!”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

nice little a frame hut on the beach no frills accomodation with shared bathroom for 350 baht a room stayed for 1 night before moving to koh phagnan could have easily stayed longer the beach is lovely to walk along, the food at the cafe wasnt brilliant but the rooms are fab for the price.

Room Tip: get a beachfront room worth the extra 50 baht!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bexy66uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    74
    114
    47
    32
    49
See reviews for
17
119
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
surrey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 April 2013

i stayed at the huts for 6 nights ( was going to be 3 ) but i loved the fact you opened the door and walked straight in to the sea so i stayed, i had nothing stolen but then again i travel a lot and know not to travel with lots of showy expensive things, and as for the people i see on here saying that the staff were unfriendly? i think they should more look at themselves, as they are complaining about a low end budget beach stay, not a 5 star top hotel, i took the time to get to know them and found them fine ( even got to learn some more thai from the young girl at the desk).ive never traveled to a place to stay just cos of the staff???
so all in all your staying here for either the cost or the fact it is such a great placement right on the beach, so enjoy

Room Tip: the toilet/shower area is kept very clean so i not worry about booking a hut with out them
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markmc012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2013

Basically, living on the beach was a brilliant experience. We opted for a hut with no toilet/shower which wasn't an issue. The blankets provided were very heavy not ideal for sleeping in the heat. The restaurant provided good food with a good selection on the menu.
The staff were rarely smiley or approachable. Before I had even checked out they cleaned our room and helped themselves to items we had left behind by accident which we then had to ask them to retrieve, which was difficult.
Overall, if you don't mind the grumpy staff, I'd imagine you will enjoy the location of new hut.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2009queens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2013

Stayed here last October with family and friends in 3 adjacent beachfront bungalows. The location was perfect for us - far enough away from town to be peaceful but near enough to walk in in the evenings. The huts are basic, with a bed, mossie net and fan and small bathroom at the back, but for 500 TB a night are more than adequate for a good night's sleep. The restaurant and bar open early for breakfast and close at 11pm (the wifi is turned off then too), with cheap cocktails early evening. The food was pretty decent and good value and you can book various excursions from reception at reasonable prices. Great value all round.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank PalominoBrighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 154 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2013

Stayed here for a night. Really really cheap place. Basic. Shower area kept clean. Right on Lamai beach. Would probably stay here again. Couldn't fault it. The restaurant next to it is worth a look in also.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nisho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2012

My boyfriend and myself stayed here for 5 nights! When we first arrived i thought what have we done, but it truly is an amazing place to stay. The huts are so cheap and right on the beach. We found we didnt spend much time in the huts! They are very small so a good idea for just sleeping in and spending the day exploring the area.
The staff all seemed friendly, and thai green curry is amazing.
We are looking to book again for next year .

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emilyh1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Cheap Cheap Cheap. Its not bad. I took the cheapest option. Bungalow for 300 baht. for what i paid i was happy. shared bathroom. Not the cleanest. mosquito nets with huge holes. but it was raining so that wasn't a problem. food was pretty good and a lot cheaper than most other resorts. its far out of the way from anything else. which isn't necessarily a problem. It also meant that the transfers anywhere were the cheapest here. The speedboat to Koh Phangnam for full moon party was 650 from here whereas everywhere else it was up to 1000 baht.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jarid328
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.8 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
0.6 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.2 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hut Bungalows

Property: New Hut Bungalows
Address: Moo 4, Tambon Maret | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your New Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hut Bungalows Hotel Lamai Beach
New Hut Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing