We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only ate there but good food”
Review of New Hut Bungalows

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
New Hut Bungalows
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

As said i didn't sleep there as i like my comfort....but i want there 3 times to eat and it was very good. Prices between 80 and 120 baths. Restaurant is comfortable in front of the beach with some music.
Unfortunately the staff doesn't speak good English but it seems common in Thailand. ..
However I'd like to draw your attention about the fact that the huts are build just behind a kind of stagnant water which didn't seem very hygienic to me....

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
2  Thank Angelique L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (345)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 345 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Ordered pad Thai it had nothing about nuts on the menu.I'm allergic by the way so it's serious. It came with nuts so I politely asked for a new one they all came over screaming infront of a full restaurant saying my pad Thai is best! Evil woman!!!

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Globetrotter_nadsul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Arrived at New Hut without a booking and got the cheapest room (fan + shared bathroom) for 300 baht. Very basic and decided I should treat myself and get air con + own bathroom for 500 baht a night. Good value considering the quality of the room - good air con, clean bathroom, strong shower and double bed. Also you get your own deck and chairs. Can pay a bit more for one right on the beach, mine was about three rows back.

The bungalows are near the shops, right on the water and the restaurant is pretty good. Average price wise. Wifi only in the restaurant and is mostly good - it did stop working a few times though.

I would give this place higher if it weren't for a rude staff member, perhaps the owner, shouting at customers and her own staff members. Really ruined the nice restaurant atmosphere and happened more than once on my three night stay!

You can book tours and ferries through their receptionist. I booked a 550 baht ferry to Koh Tao through their booking service. All good. Can also book 800 baht ferry with a faster boat.

A nice place to stay - just hope the owner / whoever it was shouting all the time is having a good day when you are there!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
3  Thank Shannon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Pros:
- short walk from shops
- on the beach
- beachfront restaurant
- air conditioned bungalows
- cheap laundry place on main road nearby

Cons:
- bungalows very small, not much room for backpacks
- beach in front has a lot of coral, not ideal for swimming although great for snorkelling

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Trixie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It was PHENOMENAL! We were on the boat towards Koh Samui with no idea where we are going to stay! Some fine woman came over and showed us New Hut Bungalow! she slipped a cheeky nip and of course we went weak at the knees (Deal). We then arrived in a free taxi to the bungalows and to our surprise it was fantastic, my mate and I chose the big pink bungalow for incredible laughs and some memorable photos to show mum, We looked like the big panzies on the beach (but we're not, i have a girlfirend) We met a little dog to which we named shmoogie, he really took a shine to us and vice versa. Wifi wasn't great but who needs internet when you're having so much fun!

Great stay

Peace out! :-)

Room Tip: Get the Pink Mother fudger
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OllieM94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

June 2010- Me and my boyfriend had travelled from Bangkok and were screwed over a couple of times on our way to the islands and were starting to lose faith a little until the owner of the huts (sorry can't remember her name) thankfully introduced herself to us on a bus before we got on the ferry to koh samui. She told us not to be tricked into paying for a ticket for transport before we get to the island as there are plenty of taxis to be had (unfortunately we had already been stung with this scam before meeting her) she told us to trust her and come stay at her huts where we would be right on the beach, with the cleanest facilities to hand. I am thrilled to say she was right! We stayed in the basic triangular huts and ended up extending our stay for an extra week or so and got a good deal. You have a mattress and mosquito net which was enough when the communal showers, toilets and sinks are just outside your door. Always pristine, even in the day with people on the beach. Food was good at the restaurant and we enjoyed the fresh coconut drinks. You're a short walk from other restaurants and bars along the beach and the little market. We had a great Thai massage just outside the huts right on the beach and it was amazing. We enjoyed sitting on the front of our hut playing cards and supping a cold beer, all in all a backpackers dream.

Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank TravellingTootsies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2014

The huts are basic but beautiful. They are clean and comfortable and you can open your front door onto the beach and an ocean view. It feels like authentic beach living with the rows of multicolored beach huts. The alfresco communal bathroom was immaculately clean and well laid out. The restaurant/ bar fits with colourful the theme and serve perfectly good beach side grub. If you are looking for somewhere a bit more remote and lad back than Chaweng then this is it.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank M1ntyR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
457 reviews
0.5 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
753 reviews
9.2 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#14 of 30 in Mae Nam
484 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
585 reviews
0.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
470 reviews
4.3 mi away
Centara Villas Samui
Centara Villas Samui
#10 of 62 in Maret
1,687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to New Hut Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about New Hut Bungalows

Address: Moo 4, Tambon Maret | Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £8 - £9 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your New Hut Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
New Hut Bungalows Hotel Lamai Beach
New Hut Bungalows Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing