We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great atmosphere, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Grand Thai House Resort
Reviewed 21 August 2012

my partner and i booked this place after reading several reviews. We knew we wanted lamai beach to escape the crowds of other nearby towns but did not expect to love our stay this much. the accommodation is great. clean, tidy and a good size room. the bathroom floods a bit when you shower which is a minor flaw. our balcony over looks the pool which is fantastic and kid friendly too. the breakfast could be improved but again only a minor issue. the one thing i was dissapointed in was there was no bar. you can take beer from the mini bar in your room (40 -60 baht) though or there is a 7/11 only a 2min walk away which is where we get our beers from. despite being on the main drag there ia minimal noise and you are surrounded by great shops and restaurants. you are only a 2Min walk to the beach too. we liked it so much here we extended our stay by 3 nights....

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lauren h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

44 - 50 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 14 August 2012

I stayed here for the second time recently for 6 nights (last stayed 2009) and was not disappointed. The room was a good size, huge bathroom (with big bath), free water daily, comfortable beds, room cleaned daily.

Nice outlook onto the pool and well kept garden, small verandah with chairs. The staff were friendly and helpful. Pool very clean and relaxing, plenty of pool chairs. There was a small buffet provided each morning and eggs were cooked to order. The massage was heaven!

The beach is only a 2 minute walk down the track so very handy and the hotel is very convenient to the local shops and food market. So this hotel doesn't provide tea and coffee facilities but I couldn't complain about anything really. It was quiet at night, well enough away from the noisy bars, the only noise really was fireworks occasionally going off but it wasn't an issue.

I would definitely return a third time.

Room Tip: I would recommend the ground floor rooms as you can walk directly out to the pool and garden area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank familyminato
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights in April 2012. The rooms were pretty standard, however the shower and bathroom taps barely worked, there was also no hot water, and the bath drain was blocked. Our bedsheets were not clean, and when I told the manager she refused to believe me. Air con worked but was extremely weak.

Having travelled Thailand many times, most of the above didnt really worry me. My main issue with the hotel was the extremely rude and unwelcoming staff. In particular the senior manager (or possibly owner). She is obviously tired of all the tourists on Samui, and lets you know it. The land of smiles wasnt named after her.

I have previously travelled to Lamai roughly 10 times, staying at Golden Sands, Weekender, Marina bunglows and buddy's.

I recommend Marina bungalows, which has almost identical rooms, is beachfront and has friendly staff (although it doesnt have a pool). It is also far cheaper at around 1000 bht.

For a more upmarket experience, stay at Buddy's. It is basically the same price but you cannot compare the two hotels. Buddy's is in a different category with far superior rooms and breakfast, as well as friendly and professional staff.

I can only assume that the good reviews this hotel has is only because the reviewers dont know how much better some of the other hotels are.

Room Tip: Go to Buddy's or Marina Bungalows instead!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatingAdventures88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

We have justcome back from this hotel there was a part of 7 adults - the hotel is lovely and in a great location would recommend to anyone. The staff are very friendly and the pool is lovely and clean like the rest of the hotel.

Room Tip: All rooms have a pool view - some rooms have a bath and shower but all very nice. Would definately s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BevHall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2011

I like this hotel a lot. It doesn't try to be something it isn't. It just gets on with being a decent hotel offering great value.

The rooms are large, clean with excellent air conditioning. All of them have a balcony overlooking the pool. They all have a fridge which is well stocked and the bathrooms are more than adequate. The rooms are cleaned daily and the whole hotel is spotless.

It is fairly small, with probably no more than 30 rooms which makes it a very peaceful place - especially when you consider it's location so close to the main shopping street.

It has a decent pool which gets the sun most of the day and comfortable sun loungers with parasols to keep you shaded from the sun if needed. The staff are always on hand to bring you drinks or food to your place by the pool.

50m down the road from the hotel is Lamai Beach - a long stretch of sand that goes around the bay for probably 2 miles or more. The water is generally calm and the bars and retaurants on the beach are very good.

The hotel staff don't fuss over you, but are friendly and quite efficient - just right in my opinion.

Breakfast is included in the price and is adequate. There is a choice available but not a big choice and once you have been served, there is no option for extras (apart from drinks).

I have been here twice now and will certainly return.

Room Tip: Only a personal preference but the ones on the first floor have a bit more air i find.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jerh48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Great location, 5 minutes walk from Lamai centre and 2 minutes walk to the beach makes the Grand Thai very attractive.
The best feature without doubt the large pool, a pool which was always clean and well maintained. The room, garden view, though basic without hair drier and drinking facilities, and with limited clothes storage, was cleaned regularly and without fuss. Ample supplies of daily drinking water were provided. Breakfast was fine though we didn't like fruit, toast and eggs etc being served to the table almost together. Room service was available on request from their restaurant on the opposite side of the road.
The staff were all very helpful, attentive and friendly, at times you could be excused in thinking the Grand Thai was entirely staffed by family members.
Good value for money, not the cheapist. Would happily revisit and probably will.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MansfieldTopcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2010

Very bad hotel
The bedroom with nothing inside, no free water, nothing to make a tea or a coffee, the curtain are white and with the sun is very bad, hot in the bedroom and staff very good but not profesional. We go in Samui since 10 years and we know the hotels in Lamai, The hotel where I never returned and the price very expensive for Lamai

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank corinne_prevost
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
0.5 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#18 of 51 in Lamai Beach
315 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Inn 99
Lamai Inn 99
#35 of 63 in Maret
274 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
#28 of 51 in Lamai Beach
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Thai House Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Thai House Resort

Address: 135 Moo 3 | Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £19 - £55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Thai House Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Grand Thai House Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Thai House Hotel Lamai Beach
Grand Thai House Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing