We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“we got more than expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Ranked #23 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Nice, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“we got more than expected”
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We got a room with a seaview huge bed. Overall it is very clean and rooms are nice. Right on the beach ( too much actually environmentally speaking it's a shame ). The staff were very nice they speak english and were always smiling at us ( even if we are not good tippers : )

the laundry just opposite is very cheap so don't bother with the expensive hotel laundry service.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ckramerrr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
First of all I would like to thank you for spending your valuable time reviewing our beach resort on Tripadvisor. It's been a pleasure to learn that our goal of making every guest check in at Fenix Beach Resort Samui happy and have the best holiday on Lamai Beach, Koh Samui. We promise to keep our resort and service at high standard and even higher. We hope in the future, we'll have a chance to welcome you again. All the best for your 2014.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    109
    147
    48
    29
    10
See reviews for
62
182
15
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Winfield, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This hotel is not as it seems. These people brought it from the Mercure chain and using their previous standard to get their so-called rating, which is the Trip Advisor only! They do not have a genuine 4 Star rating, but charge 4 Star prices. The hotel is dirty and falling into pieces. The toilet seats are dirty, discoloured and broken. The food is old and fly infested. The pool is dirty and covered with broken tile pieces. The beach is dirty and next to the hotel the sewage line goes right into the ocean. People swimming will be exposed to filth and bacteria from the sewage! This hotel is directly located on a main road and the noise will keep you awake all night! The staff is lazy and when there is a emergency and you need new bedding in the night, don't worry, you will NOT get it and need to sleep on the hard bed without linen and bedding as it happened to us! Excuse no 24 hour maid service! This hotel is in fact only a 2.5 Star hotel. Oh, and to top it all off, the pleasure of seeing dead rat bodies on the steps is common!

Room Tip: Get to other hotels and call them directly before you book and asked them who gave them the rating a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 January 2014
Thank you for review our hotel through tripadvisor. I'm sorry to hear that you did not have a good experience at our resort. But please be informed that the sewage pipe line is not belong to the hotel, we do have full waste water treatment at our property. We have never drain anything into the sea. In opposite we'll do anything to keep the water and beach clean, it's better for our long term business. Our Fitness Attendant and Gardener do make sure that our beachfront are cleaned every morning, they do it non stop. We do aware of our swimming pool condition. Last year we have replace the spike boundary with new material. The business is also need to be running, so we have limited time in maintenance, the season didn't allow us to completed the whole job in one time. Next project is to replace the tile in the swimming pool. However before the next project start, our engineer is fixing it by installing tile under the water. Our resort didn't have housekeeping service after 11pm. The night manager is not allow to access to the linen room. When you called for linen changing at 3am, he can't get anybody to do it for you. But we are now making sure that the night manager is able to access to the linen room after 11pm. The food serving at breakfast are fresh cooking every morning and keep refilling until 10.30am. For the cleanliness, i'm sure that our cleaner who's working from 6am - 11pm did make sure that the area under her responsibility are tidy and clean. Anyway me and my team do apologize that we cannot make you satisfy during your stay. We will try harder to bring out resort to a higher standard.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Overall experience was amazing, check in was quick and the reception allowed us to view a couple of rooms before deciding which room. We came in late around 8pm and the receptionist recommend a restaurant just 20m next door, a great thai seafood restaurant with a good view, good food with reasonable price. We had great dinner. Our room was lovely, with huge window and private balcony overlooking the pool and ocean. The bed is comfortable with a lot of power plugs available everywhere. tips. you need a car or motorbike to get around and try the lamai view point around 600m from the hotel, quite a bit of a hike, but the view is breathtaking.

Room Tip: you need a car or motorbike to get around and try the lamai view point around 600m from the hotel, q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Agung S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Dear Agung, thank you for your valuable time reviewing our beach resort through tripadvisor. It's has been a pleasure to know that you were enjoying your stay at Fenix Beach Resort Samui. We promise to keep our standard high. Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2013

A great value for money resort with great service.
Had to reschedule my trip due to an untimely injury. Emailed the resort's main email and the GM replied. Managed to book the ground floor villa since I can't climb stairs properly.

Location: A 20 mins drive to busy Chaweng, 30 mins from airport. Quiet and peaceful. Rent a car and you can get around easily. Its Samui, you find food and convenience store at every corner. Its Thailand, so any food won't go wrong.

Room: Stayed 5 nights at Villa 1. Beach Front. spacious with a Jacuzzi. Clean. Limited cable channels though.

Breakfast: Decent spread. Excellent Service

Lamai: The Sunday walking street is a great place to eat-walk or walk-eating. Shopping is optional.

Room Tip: Villa 1 is closest to the beach, you wake up to the sounds of waves every day...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ericTAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear Eric, thank you for your valuable time spending on reviewing our beach resort through tripadvisor. It's a pleasure to know that you were having a wonderful time at Fenix Beach Resort Samui and impress with our service. I hope you leg get well now. Looking forward to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013 via mobile

I would highly advise this hotel to everyone who likes a nice comfort stay! Modern rooms, clean, nice swimming pool and pleasant staff. My best hotel in Thailand untill now.

They have a good restaurant wich is open till 23:00. They have a wide choice during breakfast and somebody who is baking eggs on request.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeffrey C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Jeffrey, thank you for reviewing our beach resort through tripadvisor. It's has been a pleasure for me and my team to know that you were enjoying your stay at Fenix Beach Resort Samui. We promise to keep good standard or even driving to higher standard to make sure that our guests will receive the most comfortable and best service here during their stay. Looking forward to welcome you again in the nearly future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Had a great time. The rooms are well lit, large, comfy and clean. The hotel is right on the beach and the view is amazing. The balcony overlooks the pool and the beach ... all blue!! We had a great time sitting by the beach in the evening. The staff was very friendly, warm and welcoming. The hotel provides also provides rides to the town (for free). A must visit :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pujad84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 10 November 2013
Thank you for your review through tripadvisor, It's a pleasure to know that you were having a wonderful time at our lovely beach resort. A million dollars view is what you can find here from our Superior Sea View. Looking forward to welcome you again on your next visit to Koh Samui.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turku, Western Finland, Finland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at this resort for 10 nights and were thoroughly impressed with everything. The customer service was the best we've ever had. All the staff were friendly, welcoming and very helpful. 
Our room was just perfect. It was clean, spacious and had a huge and comfy bed. 
The location is good, it's a bit ”far” from everything but they have a complimentary bus which takes you into Lamai town. We used it almost every day. The food in the restaurant was delicious and reasonable priced. We would also like to point out the happy hours – buy 1 drink and get 1 for free. The beach is not the best for swimming but they have a nice and huge swimming pool just next to the ocean! We would highly recommend this resort and we'll definitely come back some day! Thank you for everything!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tytti V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GM-Fenixresortsamui, General Manager at Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort, responded to this review, 30 October 2013
Thank you for reviewing our lovely beach resort through tripadvisor. It's been a pleasure to know that you were having a wonderful time at our resort satisfied with our product and service. Looking forward to welcome you again in a nearly future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
1.9 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
371 reviews
0.9 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
535 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
1.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
664 reviews
1.0 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort

Property: Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort
Address: 26/1-3 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand (Formerly Fenix Beach Resort Samui)
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
As you set your internal compass resolutely to the south of the island, you will find Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort (former Fenix Beach Resort Samui), an exclusive retreat set on a privileged location on the beachfront of Lamai with a panoramic and breathtaking view of the Gulf of Thailand. It is an Eden where the air is fresh and crisp and the landscape overflowing with well manicured tropical gardens. This is a private beach resort that is not only enchanting but also breathtakingly beautiful. Blending seamlessly with nature's beauty, green is the dominant color of the landscape coupled with the simplicity of contemporary convenience. Personal with an extra dose of privacy, the rooms and villas exude warm natural hues while the variety of services and facilities will complete a fun-filled stay. Facilities include a generous swimming pool set against the backdrop of the turquoise seas, a restaurant and beach bar, an outdoor Thai massage sala, a meeting room, an indoor fitness room and complimentary shuttle trips to the centre of Lamai. A mixture of unique cultural experiences, undreamed visual images and exotic tropical recreation will all combine to form lasting vivid memories of a perfect vacation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotel.de, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Fenix Hotel Koh Samui
Mercure Koh Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing