We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If Carlsberg did Guest Houses......”
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #15 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Muscat, Oman
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“If Carlsberg did Guest Houses......”
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were met by Steve at the airport who quickly gave us a breakdown of key attractions and events happening on the Island. What you see is what you get with Steve, now known to us as "The Ledge".

Never have we been made to feel more welcome during our stay at Chaulty Towers from beginning to end. The Ledge invited us to watch his latest attempt for global musical dominance at the Billabong bar in a small fishing village 45 minutes away. It was a great night, made more interesting by the fact his partner in crime that night is a far better musican and the first chinks of The Ledges armor may well of been appearing. We finished in the early hours the following day following drinks in a few of the many watering holes in Lamai.

We found The Ledge's knowledge of Koh Samui's attractions and best spots to visit invaluable as we were only staying for 6 nights. Boat trips to Mu Ko Ang Thong National Park, The Waterfalls, Elephant Rides, "C" & "P" rock (The Ledge can explain...) social gatherings and birthday party's were either all arranged or invites extended to guests (a nice touch). Unusual breakfast requests were also met with military precision and accuracy.

If we decided to go elsewhere, we were always offered lifts there and back. This was no more appropriate and welcome than that of our trip to the reggae Rock Bar. An awesome setting and evening endured, which quickly revealed The Ledge has no chinks in his armor.

We were sad to leave, but will be oh so happy to return with a bigger brood and gang next year.

Steve - you are "The Ledge"

Thanks for a great holiday!!

Stuart & Jaime
xxx

Room Tip: Check availability & book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank dxb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
122
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Had the best week at Chaulty Towers! The rooms are massive and very clean, all rooms are pool side and are extremely comfortable. The owner Steve is a legend! He picked us up from the airport and had the best bangers and mash ready for us as soon as we got there. He gave us a free guided tour of the town and entertainment straight after dinner. Only booked 2 nights but ended up staying the whole 2 weeks of our holiday! Steve took us to the driving range, the free Thai boxing and an amazing day out to the waterfalls. Never had such good service for such a low price before! The vibe of the place is so relaxing and welcoming. Best part is that it's only a 10 min walk to town/beach so it is quiet if you want to chill out but near the strip if you want to party (Steve is the best party tour guide).

Thanks Steve, will see you again next year for sure mate!

Tom

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Turbo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We showed up at the airport, a day and a half late, and tired of trying to find the right island, and steve was waiting at the airport for us. He took us home and showed us our guesthouse. Steve is an AMAZING host. W had thebest time going with him to the boxing matches, seeing him play music at a close resort, and going to bars for pool and drinks. Steve organized any excursion we wanted to do, as well as organizing our lift out of lamai beach. He is the perfect person to stay with if it is your first time in Thailand, i couldnt reccomend a better host.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristy_033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I'm a Canadian traveling alone in Thailand and thank god I stumbled upon chayote towers and Steve! The rooms are huge and awesome, it's walking distance to the beach and close to shops etc.

That being said now onto the good stuff. Steve plays in a band (or at least tries to...) and it's a must see! He's got the best information on restaurants bars and all the fun the island has up for grabs.. By far the nicest/ best value in koh samui. So the only question is, why r you still reading this and not trying to book there? If anyone has pictures of our times together please post them. Oh and great vegetables at rock bar..

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buddyspied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drogheda, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Myself and my Fiancee arrived in Samui in Jan 2011. We stayed in a few hotels before arriving at Chaulty. As soon as we arrived here we knew we had found our home away from home. We had planned on staying for a week or so, but ended up staying for 2 months.

Steve is just the best host I've met. Always available, charming, great advice on sites to see, where to eat and things to do. He arranged a motorbike for us just after we arrived and took us on some fantastic excursions....and for nights out in Samui Steve would never lead you astray....well, he would if you asked him to. :)

The location is perfect. Close to the beach, with everything in walking distance.

The facilities were great. Large room with sofa and TV/DVD for nights in. A pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. A bar and pool table a few steps from our room...great for nights relaxing and taking it easy.

I had been traveling for over a year when we arrived here and I found Chaulty Towers the hardest place of all to leave. We were due back in Ireland so we had to, otherwise we would still be there!

I have already recommended this to my friends who are going to Thailand and I would for anyone.

I would say if your staying in Koh Samui, stay here!

Room Tip: Book as much in advance as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank freedomthirtyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 March 2011

Stayed there for 4 nights room was great, comfy bed great place to relax close to shops and the staff were really heapful and friendly would stay there again next time im in lamai

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bender85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wsm
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2011

My wife and I stayed for 10 nights in Feb 2011. The superb service we received from Steve, Ore and Family started when we made our booking via e-mail back in July 2010. Our Son who had visited Koh Samui twice before, decided to get married on the island just a couple of miles along the beach. Steve knew the venue well because he often played his guitar there at functions. So by the time he met us at the beautiful Koh Samui airport, we already felt we had known him for years! 40 minutes or so later we were greeted by the Chaulty Towers gate guardians (Steve's dogs, Sam and Rambo).
Our room had everything you could possibly want and if you did want something, Steve would get it. Stepping out through your sliding patio doors onto your sunbed and then another couple of paces into the swimming pool.
Once settled in, Steve then took us to the Lamai village to point out where everything was. The "strip" or main street is no more than a mile long and runs parallel to the beach, about 200 yards away with access points between the beach side hotels all the way along. Everything you could wish to do happens along here, from eating, drinking; Ladyboy shows, Muay Thai boxing, massage parlours and shopping. Haggling is expected and great fun with the locals who are very friendly and courteous. If you like fresh caught seafood, (lobster, tiger prawns, red snapper etc.) then you are in for a treat at ridiculously low prices. Pick you own and 15 minutes later a sumptuous meal is put before you. There is Western food as well of course and vegetarian choices also, so food for everyone.
You can stay out as long as you like and when you get back, Steve's 24 hour honesty bar service is there at the end of the pool. (Gives a new meaning to "one for the road")! The longer we stayed, the more we used the bar as we made new friends with other guests staying there. Breakfast was anytime you wanted before lunchtime and whatever you wanted as long as Steve could buy it fresh an hour before you ate it!
There are so many activities and events to consider all over the island and all the information is to hand in the room. Once again, Steve's connections around the island and his understanding of the Thai language meant one quick phone call and our booking was made.
Chaulty Towers is a 10-15 minute slightly downhill walk to the beach and shops and if you don't like walking, Steve has mopeds you can hire. This is the main form of transportation around Lamai and rules and regulations for riding one are very user friendly!
There is a laundry just across the street and a big pile of washing can be done for 100 Baht. Put it in early and you can sometimes get it back the same evening; if not then the following morning.
For our final night we asked Steve if he could provide food for a B-B-Q. Once again he came up trumps and a great last evening was had by all present including letting Steve win our mini pool tournament. Well, he was on home ground after all!
If you want a totally relaxing holiday without the formalities of the larger beach-side hotels, then Chaulty Towers is the place to go for personal service at a great price. Thank you Steve and Ore for a superb holiday venue.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank desford1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
313 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
299 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#20 of 50 in Lamai Beach
129 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
553 reviews
8.7 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
429 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing