We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hangover 2 could happen here - but in a good way!”
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #19 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 July 2011

We chose this property based on other reviews and proximity to Jun Muay Thai training which is just down the road. Steve was amazingly hospitable and accommodating, having a high trust approach with his guests e.g. simply write in the book if you help yourself to anything from the bar. The room was spacious and had everything you need for a relaxed long stay. If you wanted to save your feet he would give you a lift into town. Steve also had a wealth of knowledge of local entertainment haunts (see heading) and we are thinking this could be a great spot for a boys trip back!

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stressbunny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (251)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

173 - 179 of 251 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2011

My self and my partner found this hotel on trip advisor and booked it straight away ,we stayed from 28th may -12 june 2011. well what can we say.....!! The service was well above what was expected. "the best holiday ever..!!'.

As has been said already Steve "the ledge" is fantastic and a great host, nothing is to much trouble and "the ledge" goes the extra mile to make sure your holiday is memorable.
We can safley say that our holiday would'nt have been the same without "the ledge", he took us on trips such as , elephant treking, paradise park, waterfalls, arranged scooter hire and booked days out for us. We were made to feel part of his family and on one trip he brought his lovely wife a beautiful daughter."The ledge' joined us on many memorable nights out for which we will never forget, one in particular involves "the reggae bar" , ask "the ledge" for details...
"The ledge" knowledge of koh samui is great and being able to speak thai is a huge bonus .. Anyone traveling to this lovely island should stay at chaulty towers because in our opinion you wont find anywhwere better that offers this level of great service.

Steve "the ledge" ... We say thank you and we will miss you . We plan to comeback soon.

Brian & Tracey...xxxx

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank kwackboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

We were met by Steve at the airport who quickly gave us a breakdown of key attractions and events happening on the Island. What you see is what you get with Steve, now known to us as "The Ledge".

Never have we been made to feel more welcome during our stay at Chaulty Towers from beginning to end. The Ledge invited us to watch his latest attempt for global musical dominance at the Billabong bar in a small fishing village 45 minutes away. It was a great night, made more interesting by the fact his partner in crime that night is a far better musican and the first chinks of The Ledges armor may well of been appearing. We finished in the early hours the following day following drinks in a few of the many watering holes in Lamai.

We found The Ledge's knowledge of Koh Samui's attractions and best spots to visit invaluable as we were only staying for 6 nights. Boat trips to Mu Ko Ang Thong National Park, The Waterfalls, Elephant Rides, "C" & "P" rock (The Ledge can explain...) social gatherings and birthday party's were either all arranged or invites extended to guests (a nice touch). Unusual breakfast requests were also met with military precision and accuracy.

If we decided to go elsewhere, we were always offered lifts there and back. This was no more appropriate and welcome than that of our trip to the reggae Rock Bar. An awesome setting and evening endured, which quickly revealed The Ledge has no chinks in his armor.

We were sad to leave, but will be oh so happy to return with a bigger brood and gang next year.

Steve - you are "The Ledge"

Thanks for a great holiday!!

Stuart & Jaime
xxx

Room Tip: Check availability & book well in advance
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank dxb s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2011

Had the best week at Chaulty Towers! The rooms are massive and very clean, all rooms are pool side and are extremely comfortable. The owner Steve is a legend! He picked us up from the airport and had the best bangers and mash ready for us as soon as we got there. He gave us a free guided tour of the town and entertainment straight after dinner. Only booked 2 nights but ended up staying the whole 2 weeks of our holiday! Steve took us to the driving range, the free Thai boxing and an amazing day out to the waterfalls. Never had such good service for such a low price before! The vibe of the place is so relaxing and welcoming. Best part is that it's only a 10 min walk to town/beach so it is quiet if you want to chill out but near the strip if you want to party (Steve is the best party tour guide).

Thanks Steve, will see you again next year for sure mate!

Tom

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Turbo8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2011

We showed up at the airport, a day and a half late, and tired of trying to find the right island, and steve was waiting at the airport for us. He took us home and showed us our guesthouse. Steve is an AMAZING host. W had thebest time going with him to the boxing matches, seeing him play music at a close resort, and going to bars for pool and drinks. Steve organized any excursion we wanted to do, as well as organizing our lift out of lamai beach. He is the perfect person to stay with if it is your first time in Thailand, i couldnt reccomend a better host.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kristy_033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2011

I'm a Canadian traveling alone in Thailand and thank god I stumbled upon chayote towers and Steve! The rooms are huge and awesome, it's walking distance to the beach and close to shops etc.

That being said now onto the good stuff. Steve plays in a band (or at least tries to...) and it's a must see! He's got the best information on restaurants bars and all the fun the island has up for grabs.. By far the nicest/ best value in koh samui. So the only question is, why r you still reading this and not trying to book there? If anyone has pictures of our times together please post them. Oh and great vegetables at rock bar..

  • Stayed: May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Buddyspied
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2011

Myself and my Fiancee arrived in Samui in Jan 2011. We stayed in a few hotels before arriving at Chaulty. As soon as we arrived here we knew we had found our home away from home. We had planned on staying for a week or so, but ended up staying for 2 months.

Steve is just the best host I've met. Always available, charming, great advice on sites to see, where to eat and things to do. He arranged a motorbike for us just after we arrived and took us on some fantastic excursions....and for nights out in Samui Steve would never lead you astray....well, he would if you asked him to. :)

The location is perfect. Close to the beach, with everything in walking distance.

The facilities were great. Large room with sofa and TV/DVD for nights in. A pool which we had to ourselves most of the time. A bar and pool table a few steps from our room...great for nights relaxing and taking it easy.

I had been traveling for over a year when we arrived here and I found Chaulty Towers the hardest place of all to leave. We were due back in Ireland so we had to, otherwise we would still be there!

I have already recommended this to my friends who are going to Thailand and I would for anyone.

I would say if your staying in Koh Samui, stay here!

Room Tip: Book as much in advance as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank freedomthirtyfive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.9 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
457 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
325 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
331 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#16 of 51 in Lamai Beach
61 reviews
1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
585 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £16 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing