We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cannot understand all the excellent reviews”
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #16 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Torrox, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Cannot understand all the excellent reviews”
Reviewed 3 March 2013

Where to start? We booked this as part of a 4 week trip to Phuket and Koh Samui purely because of the excellent reviews this has. We stayed for 4 nights in February. Our overall accommodation in Thailand consisted of a mixture of budget and luxury. The price we paid for this was on a par with one in Patong and one in Phuket Town, both of which we have given excellent reviews, so price is not the issue. I e mailed Steve to see if he could provide the airport transfer and he said he would. After waiting for an hour at the airport I found his telephone number and rang him to be told that his wife had gone away and he was busy so could not pick us up. He did, however, give us a free transfer to our next hotel on the island so that was good of him. We had a deluxe room but quite frankly it was not what I would call deluxe. Yes, it was bigger than the other rooms but quite dirty i.e. the shower curtain was filthy, the curtains did not meet in the middle and were hanging down off the rail. In addition the owner's 2 dogs were free to wander in and lay down whenever our door was open. This in itself was not a problem as we have a dog ourselves but the dogs in question had a considerable amount of tics and fleas which you could see quite clearly. Also, one of the dogs took to sitting in the swimming pool when it was hot. I can say that Steve was very accommodating in offering lifts to the town and the beach but if your prefer a hotel with a little anonymity this would not be for you. If you want somewhere cheap then it is good value for money.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank GailandDunc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    198
    34
    8
    3
    2
See reviews for
18
122
38
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Aldershot
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2013

We stayed here for 7 nights in Feb 2012 and had a very relaxing stay. The deluxe room that we had was excellent. Whenever we wanted a lift into town Steve obliged. Although the hotel is a 10 minute walk to start of town we found it to be very safe.The road is lit but it is worth taking the torch in your room so the motorisits can see you. A previous review mentioned the dogs up this road and yes there are a few but they are not a problem even at one o'clock in the morning they just bark at you if you talk to them they soon start wagging there tails.TIP try the Massaman curry off street vendor in food market by boxing ring it is the third stall on left right oitside supermarket entrance

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shotsblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in Feb 2013. Nice quiet location and very well run. Room was excellent and the late breakfast was a good idea. Pool area was clean and well maintained. Honesty bar worked and Steve was able to arrange car / scooter hire from the hotel. 10 minutes walk to Lamai beach and all the bars and clubs. Highly recommended and will return

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Howard C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraira, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2013

We stayed five nights in Koh Samui last month en route to Australia. Steve collected us from and took us back to the island's charming airport and made clear that he would be happy to drive us into the village.
The hotel is small and fully occupied during our brief stay. There are only six units arranged around the pool and I believe all are provided with efective air conditioning, cooling fan, TV/radio, security safe, tea/coffee making facilities and en suite shower room, etc. Simple, basic but everything one needs.
Fellow guests were very cosmopolitan and I should imagine that, with a collection of kindred spirits, the hotel could get very convivial.
Hearing the stories of other accommodation near the beach, Chaulty Towers is a bargain by comparison. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: There are two more expensive units with balconies on the first floor (2nd floor if you're Americ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2flu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2013 via mobile

Me and my partner stayed here in August after reading all the 'amazing' reviews!
We emailed and arranged the airport pick up - Steve didn't appear! On phoning him, there was no apology (this happened the next day when he realised he forgot) instead just a comment to get a taxi! Needless to say I was already peed off by the time I got to the hotel.
We were put in an upgraded room purely by chance. Steve's maid had booked someone else in ours. this may sound fab but we then had to move to our original room two days in as someone else was booked in the superior suite. this just proved to be a pain in the bum - not being able to unpack and moving from room to room. I would have rather been in the more simple room from the start.
The rooms are very basic. But, heh, you get what you pay for, and for the cost - the rooms were fine. Clean bedding, air con and a tv. Don't move any furniture mind you as they don't get moved by the cleaners! we didn't pay for breakfast included but we did have it one of the days and it was brill, with PG tips and marmite.
The hotel is a good walk from the beach but not a major problem in the day, a bit more so at night time when you are walking up tracks with no lights and lots of dogs!!!
The lifts to town were offered but we never asked. We did go and watch the Thai boxing but to be honest, I found it, and the offer of going on to another bar, all a little bit sleazy. We would have preferred to go to the boxing on our own and not witness the stereotypical British behaviour of our 'guide' and the other men from the hotel around the Thai girls!!!
If I had a bit of cash I would NOT stay here again, in fact, even minus the cash I wouldn't. Spend a few extra pounds and stay at some where that your girlfriend will feel a little more comfortable staying at.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alison P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chault, Owner at Chaulty Towers, responded to this review, 4 February 2013
This review was posted word for word last year, I responded to the review 6 months ago, but you said my comment was not in your guide lines. I am now shocked to see the same review re-posted. It would appear that the client has copied and pasted there original review. and then deleted it, to enable to resumit it again now. This is not in your guide lines, but you have chosen to break your own rules. Further more I have two independant vistors staying in my hotel now who have read this review last year when they were choosing their holiday, and both of them said they are going to respond to the review, pesumably you will block their responce as well ? While I don't exspect you to do the decent thing and exspose the personal attack on me, I would appreciate its emediate removal. ( if you do print this, it would deter other people in the future breaking the trip avisor rules ). Many Thanks Steve
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alicante
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2013

A second visit says something by itself. Small hotel but with all the facilities, bar, pool table, jacuzzi and a pool in a quiet location but only ten minutes walk to the town and nightlife. Excellent clean facilities and Steve, his wife and his staff cannot do enough to help. As an addition this year Steve can now organise personalised trips for groups which we found excellent and his knowledge of the places to go and nightlife is superb.
Same as last year, highly recommended, in fact even more so!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DEVON ENGLAND
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2013 via mobile

Having stayed the previous night at weekender villa ( that rates highly on here) and looked at amity(+ville !) bungalows .I thought that the islands lower side of the under £50 search selection were all going to be terrible. That was until we struck lucky and booked Chaulty towers at the last minute. Steve is totally on top off his game. He understands that lower price does not mean lower standards . He has thought of everything . Fan, aircon and ceiling fan! Not just one all three. Beautifully well presented rooms with clean welcoming decoration and modern fresh bedding . Beds that are comfortable and showers and toilet wet rooms with a European tiled standard that 4* hotels would envy. The only thing missing is the hot tub and if you want that it's available pool side! The whole ambiance of the place is laid back and friendly . Should your trip advisor iphone map app put a star in the middle of the ocean ( like mine does) he is up the road opposite the only petrol station in lami ( pharmacy on rhs with back to petrol station) passed gym , passed muai Thai school and toward the top of road before bend . big house on right hand side. Oh 1 last thing . Moped rental 100 baht less than everyone else and better quality bikes too . Have a great stay . We did.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CLEMOZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
314 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
302 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#20 of 50 in Lamai Beach
130 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
434 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
391 reviews
0.7 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
692 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing