We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place run by a lovely family”
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Great place run by a lovely family”
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A nice chap called Steve runs the place, it's lovely, nice little pool, very private, fantastic rooms. Steve will bend over backwards for you, he'll drive you into town, show you around, introduce you to people. Great guy, and he speaks fluent Thai. I love the honour system he uses for the bar too, you write down what you've taken and pay for it at the end, and of course no one would betray that kind of trust when it is offered to you. And the coconuts are free! The only down side is the location isn't brilliant but it's definitely not terrible. Decent rates, recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground for rooms by the pool are good but they all have a little seating area outside and loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarbar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at Chaulty Towers for 3 nights as a part of our month trip travelling around Thailand. Decided to stay after reading all the great reviews and they didn't let us down.

On arrival Steve (owner) upgraded us to the apartment for no extra cost! The apartment was great and was so homely. The bed was the comfiest we have stayed in while being in Thailand, the apartment room had air con and a fan! Also was equipped with a kitchen and a great balcony. The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard.

Steve made us feel very welcome and the first day Steve drove us around giving us a tour of the main area of Lamai where the shops and beach is, Steve recommended places to eat and what bars to go to. Steve took us to the beach everyday free of charge and also took us to silver beach which is lovely. We was also given lifts to the centre at night as well.

English breakfast was great! One day we asked Steve for a sausage sandwich and he went to the bakery and bought back 2 big fresh baguettes for us!

Pool was nice and also there is a hot tub which can be put on for you if you request it.

Overall would 100% recommend and stay again next time in Thailand. Stayed in much more expensive accommodation in Thailand which wasn't as good as Chaulty Towers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_miss_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our second time at Chaulty towers, this time we were travelling with 5 friends and occupied 4 of the 6 rooms. We stayed in the apartment, and friends in the poolside rooms, which all had excellent wifi, airconditioning and a large fridge. Steve again was an excellent host, always full of information and transported us all wherever we wanted to go. There were a few attractions that we wanted to visit and Steve tailor made a package for a day out which covered it all at very competitive rates. Would definately recommend a stay at ChaultyTowers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleMorganSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Located about 5 to 10 minute walk to Lamai beach, owner offered us to give us a ride everyday so you don't have to worry about that. We felt very welcome and when we arrived we got a short tour around Lamai and got some great tips on where should go for dinner. On of us got a strange insect bite which we showed to the owner and he offered us to ride to a clinic anytime, said he would be glad to bring us even if it was in the middle of the night. If you're still doubting whether you should stay here, please do as I'm sure you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNGRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

This place one of the best values I have encountered in all my travels. Rooms are cozy and spotless with cold A/C and hot shower. The owner Steve is a really cool guy and will treat you right and definitely steer you in the right direction what ever your needs may be. The property is also within walking distance of the beach and some cheap, super tasty eats ($1.50 pad thai anyone?).

Staying here was the highlight of my whole trip to Thailand. Samui is just gorgeous and Chaulty Towers is only about a 5 minute scooter ride from one of the prettiest beaches on the island: Silver beach. Do yourself a favor and go to Samui, then do yourself a bigger favor and stay at Chaulty...you won't regret it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbmohr75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eindhoven, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2013

We booked the Deluxe room in Chaulty Towers for four days. Our plan was to go to koh phangan afterwards but we decided to stay 6 more nights because Chaulty Towers was so lovely. Here are a few pointers:
- the rooms are super clean and are styled to make you feel like home. We have been in many other guesthouses during our stay in thailand but this room is far more cozy and nice compared to the other ones.
- the guesthouse is a 10-15 minute walk from the beach or a 2 min scooter drive. The walk is nice and you pass a bakery and other shops to have lunch or whatever.
- Steve (the owner) will offer you to drive you in to town or to the beach free of charge (which is super nice!). Airport pickup is 500 bath (this is more than reasonable, taxi's will probably ask more).
- super clean pool to chill in is in the patio of the guesthouse.

All in all we had a super stay, thanks Chaulty Towers!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Capetownuniversity2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2013 via mobile

This guesthouse is a 6 bedroom nook that surrounds a beautiful pool. If youre looking for a 5 star hotel, do not book here. I'f you're looking for a best value, clean and comfortable hotel, hot showers, 10 minute walk to the beach (I deem this necessary exercise for a beach vacation,) pool at hotel, quiet, then this is it. Steve, the owner, is a jolly expat who picked us up at the airport (he was early even when our flight came in half hour ahead of schedule). He drove us 30 mins to lamai and gave us a tour of downtown lamai with many nighttime and dinner recommendations. The same night he took us to a muy Thai boxing match in the middle of the scantily clad girlie bars- what a sight to see! Great experience. Steve was available our entire trip for advice and all of his recommendations were on the spot. The room was cleaned daily. Just be advised that the walk to the house gets dark at night- unlike other reviews we saw no dogs on the walk back,. Also the location is fantastic- 1 minute walk to a muy Thai gym and 2 minute walk to a market, 7-11, and massages. Highly recommended for a budget hotel with a great host!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackattac11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 627 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing