We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Came 3 days to scuba stayed 18”
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Came 3 days to scuba stayed 18”
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Best stay for
Money Steve and family looked after me had to move a few times due to being fully booked my fault as only
Initially booked 3 days all rooms met all my expectations felt at home quite at night but close enough main attractions which suited me best breakfast out side uk have booked to stay again in jan next year paul c

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Get A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 October 2013

I thought I was going to get a 2 star resort however when I turned up at Chaulty Towers, it was much better than I had expected. The owner Steven, showed us around as soon as we arrived and gave us the best locations of where to dine and go out during the day and in the evenings. The room was pleasant, very big, clean and right outside the swimming pool and the jacuzzi. The breakfasts were great, Steven knows how to make a good English Breakfast with a good cuppa tea!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Hily K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Breda, The Netherlands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We just came back from our stay in Thailand and decided to stay longer in koh Samui after arriving at Chaulty towers. Steve is an amazing host and he made us feel very welcome! He immediately offered to show us arround Lamai and gave us a lot of helpfull tips. We stayed in one of the rooms near the swimming pool. The room was great! It was very spacious, with a hot water shower, a good bed, airconditioning and a nice fridge. We felt very much at home. Because the hotel is a little walk from Lamai (about 10 minutes), the surrounding is pretty quiet so we got a good night sleep! We rented a motorbike through Steve (which we highly recommend!). For a fair price Steve also brought us to the airport. We loved our stay at Chaulty en if we come back to koh Samui, we'll definitly stay at Chaulty again!

Room Tip: we also stayed in the room upstairs for one night (because of a misunderstanding) but we liked the r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank AgnesNick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 4 October 2013

A nice chap called Steve runs the place, it's lovely, nice little pool, very private, fantastic rooms. Steve will bend over backwards for you, he'll drive you into town, show you around, introduce you to people. Great guy, and he speaks fluent Thai. I love the honour system he uses for the bar too, you write down what you've taken and pay for it at the end, and of course no one would betray that kind of trust when it is offered to you. And the coconuts are free! The only down side is the location isn't brilliant but it's definitely not terrible. Decent rates, recommend it.

Room Tip: Ground for rooms by the pool are good but they all have a little seating area outside and loungers...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zarbar90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

Stayed at Chaulty Towers for 3 nights as a part of our month trip travelling around Thailand. Decided to stay after reading all the great reviews and they didn't let us down.

On arrival Steve (owner) upgraded us to the apartment for no extra cost! The apartment was great and was so homely. The bed was the comfiest we have stayed in while being in Thailand, the apartment room had air con and a fan! Also was equipped with a kitchen and a great balcony. The room was cleaned daily and to a high standard.

Steve made us feel very welcome and the first day Steve drove us around giving us a tour of the main area of Lamai where the shops and beach is, Steve recommended places to eat and what bars to go to. Steve took us to the beach everyday free of charge and also took us to silver beach which is lovely. We was also given lifts to the centre at night as well.

English breakfast was great! One day we asked Steve for a sausage sandwich and he went to the bakery and bought back 2 big fresh baguettes for us!

Pool was nice and also there is a hot tub which can be put on for you if you request it.

Overall would 100% recommend and stay again next time in Thailand. Stayed in much more expensive accommodation in Thailand which wasn't as good as Chaulty Towers!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Little_miss_ks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester England
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 September 2013

This was our second time at Chaulty towers, this time we were travelling with 5 friends and occupied 4 of the 6 rooms. We stayed in the apartment, and friends in the poolside rooms, which all had excellent wifi, airconditioning and a large fridge. Steve again was an excellent host, always full of information and transported us all wherever we wanted to go. There were a few attractions that we wanted to visit and Steve tailor made a package for a day out which covered it all at very competitive rates. Would definately recommend a stay at ChaultyTowers.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaroleMorganSlater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 August 2013

Stayed here for two nights. Located about 5 to 10 minute walk to Lamai beach, owner offered us to give us a ride everyday so you don't have to worry about that. We felt very welcome and when we arrived we got a short tour around Lamai and got some great tips on where should go for dinner. On of us got a strange insect bite which we showed to the owner and he offered us to ride to a clinic anytime, said he would be glad to bring us even if it was in the middle of the night. If you're still doubting whether you should stay here, please do as I'm sure you won't regret it!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SNGRS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#22 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing