We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent host and accommodation”
Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #14 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“excellent host and accommodation”
Reviewed 9 April 2014 via mobile

Lovely accommodation, nice pool, top breakfast and excellent host in Steve who gave us numerous lifts and tips to help us out. The honesty bar is a great touch and Steve's dog Rambo was lovable and friendly.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank sammatbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

This is the third place I've stayed at since visiting Thailand & because of the reviews I booked for 7 days & it didn't dissapoint. My hosts were great, thought of everything in the spacious & luxurious rooms. Nothing was too much trouble. My trips were all arranged at a day's notice st affordable prices & when I arrived Steve drove me around Lami & pointed out the best placed to go & how to find my way around Lama which was a really nice touch
The breakfast choice is good & very big & they cater for fussy veggies like me too!!
Steve also rubs you to the beach whenever you want which is also a nice added touch the rooms are cleaned every day & fresh towels provided so it really is a home away from home!!!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms are large & spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank donnajcook27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for three nights based on the great reviews we had read on tripadvisor as am so happy we did.
Steve picked us up from the airport and quickly made us feel at home. He drove us through town giving us recommendations of where to go and what to eat, etc. It was so nice to have a locals perspective on the town.
Although Steve offered to drive us into town we chose to walk every day and night as it was very manageable and safe.
Although we didn't see Steve too much as we chose to walk on our own he still managed to deliver that personal experience.
Highly recommend staying here!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Breeuwskis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Stayed at chaulty towers for ten days, and really didn't want to leave, Steve and his beautiful wife really have got it right here...breakfasts are the best in samui,trust me,the jumbo breakfast really is what it says..!.rooms are stunning, and the swimming pool is literally outside your door, with a convenient help yourself bar next to it ! Sublime ! Steve also loves to take you out and show you the nightlife,which is a must, as he seems to know everyone ! Lovely place, will be returning next year !.....Dave lock

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank loadsawonga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Daegu, South Korea
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014 via mobile

My husband and I and our 8 month old stayed here for 12 days in January. We loved it! Steve was very helpful and provided rides into town whenever he could. Thw walk into town or the TESCO is only about 5-10 minutes. Our room was spacious and cleaned everyday. The breakfasts were amazing, the fresh bread was so delicious that we actually bought an extra loaf to snack on in our room. Steve's wife was a real sweetheart. After she finished cooking our breakfast, she would take our baby for us and play with her until we were finished eating. The pool was clean and warm and right outside our room. We would stay here again and highly reccommend it to others.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank avidreader01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abbotsford, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2014

Having a host who is familiar with the country, (and we speak some Lao so can be understood) makes a lot of difference. Steve is helpful and the breakfasts are wonderful. The sausages are actual sausages from Britain and the tea is from Britain as well.
That said, the rooms are clean and comfortable, and the sheets and duvet covers crisp and white. The pool is nice for a dip, there is an "honesty bar" where you can use and pay later. Steve makes trips to the town centre during the day so at times you can get a ride in or rent a scooter.
Breakfast is up on the deck where the family live, so it's cozy and friendly.
Not on the beach, but you can walk and shop your way to the beach. There is an evening market nearby where we ate for a dollar each on our last night there.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank arby1942
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Stephen makes all guests as his friends. We had a great staying hanging out with other guests as well as Stephen. Location at first place seems to be far from Lamai beach but once you experience, you will know it is okay to walk; besides Stephen sends you to where you go. You can arrange a motorbike rental from Stephen too, which is very convenient. Laundy is just opposite his house and if you rent a motorbike, you can go to a drive range, 3 min by motorbike. Clean, of course, and great wifi too. Swimming pool is not big but good to cool down. As many people mentioned, full English breakfast with thick "wheat" toast is one of the best that you can have in Chaulty Towers. Every day fresh delivered by his neighbor! Lastly, Stephen's airport pick-up and sending service is alot cheaper than taxi, if Stephen is available.

Room Tip: Family room with a double bunker is great with large balcony outside, larger than another 2nd floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunshine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 299 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#23 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#19 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 367 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing