We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Chaulty Towers

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chaulty Towers
Ranked #13 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dorset
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 October 2010

Starting from the top i booked this accomodation from reviews off here from trip advisor, booked flights seperately and away we went not sure what to expect, but have been to Phuket so had some inclination that things might be similar.
Good flight using EVA and sweet transfer to Koh Samui via Bangkok Airways. Yes on arrival tired but was greeted in person by Steve and his wife Ore.
Obviously tired didnt really want to do much because of late evening so bed to start fresh the next day.
Steve's property is on the outskirts of the town of Lamai, very easy walk in and as far as we were corncened very safe. It is a lovely small dwelling with a lovely pool to dip in when you want a quick dip.
Steve greeted us warmly in the morning and after taking our request for breakie went and purchased very fresh produce for which he did every day and changed it when ever we wished. Service was great, very friendly and gave us a wealth of information.
Steve gave us lifts everywhere when he was free nothing was too much trouble and yes he is a fun guy with good humour. His lovely wife Ore speaks some English and always greets you with a lovely smile and her sister cleans the rooms to a high standard.
We enjoyed their company so on our last but one night treated them to a meal as they made our holiday very very special!
Steve plays guitar and sings and is pretty good, plays twice a week in two venues and we attended most of his gigs as we like the style of music he plays from Dire Straits, Clapton even through to Elvis. If he has room he will take you along and if he is playing with Chris its a must!
Lamai is lovely, nice beach the end where Steve is and nice and quiet with a good beach restaraunt called the Zenith. 10 min walk tops with brousing to do on the way with no hills as such for you non walkers!
Tesco Lotus is about a 8 min walk and oh my god what a fab clean supermarket. After doing a little shopping / browsing we had lunch there in a big food hall which was expensive at about £1.20 a big wow and fab!
Eating in Lamai is good however the street stalls knock out great local food at silly cheap prices.
A must visit to the Shamrock (Irish bar) who have live music from 10pm every night and we loved the band Ovada who are very entertaining. Say hello to Noel and Danny who will make you very welcome with their great staff. In Lamai go see the lady boy show very funny indeed and the Thai boxing was great Saturday night in the centre, both free events.
Back to Steve and Chaulty Towers. My partner suffers from a bad back and initailly found the bed hard (it wasnt) however he looked after us and laid on some extra bedding!!!!!
She soon found it was fine and as beds go very comfortable and plenty of room. Steve can guide you with some good sights to see and can organise transport delivered to the premises if needed which is cheap and saves you going through passport details.
Steve speaks fluent Thai and is simply a great host and now a good friend as we will be returning at some stage for sure! There is lots to do on Koh Samui and we need to see the rest as the island its simply lovely, in my opinion ahead of Phuket by miles. It is exotic, quite, lively and what scenery especially when you get into the hills.

If you failed to enjoy a stay with Steve we would be surprised as he is a gem for help and fun.

Big thank you Karen & John xx
ps life mega hectic since we have been back and hating it!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaronGB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    193
    34
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
120
36
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2010

Lovely spacious rooms, clean with air conditioning and music/TV. Excellent breakfast of our choice, fresh every day. Steve was available to take us wherever and whenever we wanted including the beach daily. He took us to many attractions (good knowlege of places to go and where to eat etc.) Brilliant holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suzannemorrison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 September 2010

Don´t be fooled by the cheap room price! This is a great place with top-class service from the owner Stewe and his wife O. We stayed 3 months, and during the entire stay we where very satisfied. Chaulty towers is a nice small hotel, and we all very quick felt as a part of the family. The location is good - close to town and night-life, but far enough away from the noise :-) Stewe will allways try to make you feel comfortable, and his BBQ´s is famous among all the returning customers. I would recommend this hotel 100% afther I have been travelling in Thailand for over 15 years.

Michael

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael_Global
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

First time in Koh Samui and at chaulty towers and would definitely recommend both to anybody.
Steve and his wife made us feel very welcome right from day one,and Steve always gave us a lift into town if needed ,nothing was too much trouble .Steve also took us on trips around the island,and to other places that we would not have seen without his knowledge.
The breakfast`s are very tasty, and set us up for the day ahead.The location of chaulty towers is just outside of main street ,so ideal for me to go bird watching in the early morning.The rooms were very clean and had air conditioning which kept us cool when it was so hot and humid outside.
It was also so nice after a long day out to jump into a refreshing pool .
Can`t wait to return ,had a wonderful holiday.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pompey40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolding
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

I visited Thailand and especially Koh Samui many times during the last years. I would definitely recommend this accommodation - it is simply excellent. If you are looking for a quiet and comfortable hotel, with frindly management this is the place. The location is perfect, not to far from towncenter and nightlife if you into that, but still quiet in the night. I stayed for nearly 3 month and must say this was my best stay ever. Thanks to Stewe and his wife for a pleasent stay. I will return :-)

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank OLE_P_DK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tasmania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2010

I was travelling with my daughter and her partner. My daughter was quite happy with her room but I was not at all happy with mine - it was situated under a stairway - the bed was clean but the ensuite was filthy. The plug in the basin was unable to be removed from the plughole - the shower recess was mouldy and the toilet bowl had obviously not been cleaned for ages. We had booked 3 nights but only stayed one.

  • Stayed August 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jetsetter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2010

Spacious, clean well-furnished rooms set around a small clean swimming pool. The owner Steve and his wife were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. The breakfasts were the best we had in Thailand. Steve went out of his way to give us lifts into town (about 15 mins walk) whenever he was available. He is very knowledgeable about entertainment venues in the area, spoke Thai and made our stay very relaxing and enjoyable. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colin20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 280 reviews
1.6 mi away
Jungle Club
Jungle Club
#24 of 104 in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Bonny Hotel
Bonny Hotel
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 127 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 519 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chaulty Towers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaulty Towers

Property: Chaulty Towers
Address: 149 / 31 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#10 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Chaulty Towers 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small villa style hotel, husband (UK) and wife (Thai) owned and managed. Visitors arrive as guests and leave as friends and often return several times every year. Don't be fooled by our low price, our rooms are of a higher standard than some much more expensive hotels and resorts. Enjoy a cold beer at the pools edge, we also have BBQs every week. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chaulty Towers reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaulty Towers Hotel Lamai Beach
Chaulty Towers Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing