We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for Couples and Backpackers”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel
Boston
Level 6 Contributor
227 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Great for Couples and Backpackers”
Reviewed 26 October 2011

After a long and and tedious trip from Krabi, we were relieved to be welcomed by a very kind young woman who spoke great English. We booked a 2-person dorm room for just the two of us since we knew we would want some privacy after sharing a van, bus and ferry with people for the last 8 hours.

The room was spacious! It had a seating area, LCD flat screen, plenty of shelves for our toiletries and books and most importantly, an AC that worked!

The common areas were well kept. I really liked the free internet. I never had to wait to use the computer since we woke up early in the morning and never had anyone waiting for me to get off the computer. That was definitely a great feature since I was able to upload pictures and update my blog.

The kitchen was really clean and modern. We used the fridge to store our bottle waters and beers and they were always there when we returned for the.

The breakfast was more like a snack. The usual mini muffins, croissants and thin bread. We ate a few morsels and grabbed snacks before lunch.

The showers were nicely designed with glass tiles. Soap was also provided in the stalls. The faucets were kind of annoying. They try to be green so they had motion sensors to turn on and off the water. On our floor, only one of the three faucets were working, so there were times where we had to wait to use the sink. I also had an incident when I was washing my face with face wash and couldn't get the sink to work. It is extremely sensitive.

The location of the hostel is superb! It was short walk to the restaurants and Lamai center and across the street from beach access. Every night we would walk to the food market for a cheap meal.

I would definitely recommend this hostel to couples and backpackers and single travelers.

Since we went in off season (September), there wasn't much going in terms of social gathers in the common areas to meet other travelers. People were either out and about or in their rooms.
http://www.mami-eggroll.com/2011/09/goodbye-krabi-hello-samui-day-6.html

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim-Marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

Ibed is an amazing place to stay.
Me and 3 of my friends were backpacking.
We reached lamai and searched for a place to stay. It was perfect. The price was just right. Clean rooms. Amazing kitchen. stayed for 3 days.

Perfect place for backpackers.

Room Tip: We were 4 of us and we got a 4 bed private area. amazing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 August 2011

This was my first stay in hostel ever and I was pleasantly surprised. The private rooms are very comfortable and clean and so are the common areas - bathrooms and showers. Obviously, the breakfast is nothing to write home about but given you pay $15 a night including a meal, it is an amazing value. Also, great location by Lamai Beach.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thefob1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 August 2011

We were 3 of us traveling together and we decided to stay in a hostel to save some money. This was my first time in a hostel and I had a great experience. The hostel itself is very clean and well maintained and looks like it has just been renovated. The rooms have bunk beds but each bed is super comfortable, and has a nice reading light, electrical outlet and a little rod in the end where you can hang your clothes. Each room also has a little TV with pretty good international channels. In general, the place has a very modern feel to it - almost like the "W" of the hostels world.

The hostel itself is located on Lamai beach so it's a little further away from all the touristy stuff but that's what we were looking for. You can also access Lamai beach from the hostel itself (cut right across another hotel in front of the beach).

Breakfast was included in our rate but was pretty simple. Toast, croissants, some juice and instant tea / coffee.

Room Tip: Don't get a room on the same floor as check in desk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Virag K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York, USA
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2011

For the price, this place can't be beat.

It is an excellent place - it is just like a four star hotel anywhere else in the world. The only thing I felt uncomfortable about was there was no peephole in the private room door, and there was no chain lock like there are in hotels. However, that's understandable because this place is not a hotel. It's a hostel.

You will meet interesting people there. Silent time is from 11 pm to 7 am. The communal area is open air but very clean. They have a box of tissues on one of the tables, and two washcloths. The plates, dishes and cups were very nice, not chipped or anything. The refrigerator and freezer were nice and they had a microwave, although I didn't use it. You can buy a small water for 10 baht and a large water for 15 baht and you can even buy food. They have a computer you can use (but I never used it).

We only stayed two nights because we were on a very strict schedule, but it's the nicest hostel I've ever stayed at. Usually I prefer to stay at hotels, but this hostel was amazing, so I'm glad we ended up staying there.

On the third floor is where the private rooms are. It's worth it to pay the extra money for the private room (I don't like dorm rooms)! The only thing is sometimes the toilet paper ran out because I think the other people staying there were taking it into their rooms, or maybe taking it home. The most important thing to remember if you stay here is that this place is NOT a hotel, even though it is so nice you WILL forget!!! This place is a hostel and has hostel rules. I found the staff extremely nice and helpful. I recommend tipping whoever changes the linens and blankets in your private room (obviously, if you're staying in the dorm, there's no need to tip). Just 20 baht will do. The staff do appreciate it and they're not insulted at all, as long as you do it politely.

There is so much more I could write. tl;dr, they have a falling rain shower. The water pressure isn't strong, but the bathroom (shower area) is amazing. The pictures are completely honest and do not do this place justice!!!! If you need more information or have any questions, please feel free to email me: graphit@gmail.com

tl;dr: Stay here. You will not regret it. It's just like a hotel but better (as long as you keep in mind it's a hostel, with hostel rules).

PS, I almost forgot. You are not allowed to eat food in the private rooms (and probably not in the dorm rooms either) because if you eat food in the private rooms, bugs will come. Like flying cockroaches. So please be polite and respect the hostel rules. Also, they have free breakfast. The chocolate croissants are good, I do not recommend the wheat bread, the white bread was okay but hard for me to eat. They also have regular croissants so make sure you cut it open to check which is which. I personally found the apple and orange juice too sweet. Breakfast is from 7 am to 11 am I think. Please remember to clean up after yourself (no crumbs on the table, no water rings on the tables) as it is a hostel, and not a hotel.

Room Tip: Stay in the private room, NOT the dorm room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2011

IBED is the price of an hostel with the advantage of a several stars hotel.

I stayed more than one week in Ibed. I planned to stay a few days but this hostel is so good and relaxing than leaving is difficult !

Nothing to criticize : bed are perfects, big lockers, mini tv on each bed (with earphones provided), curtains etc. They provide bed sheet, cover, towels and the breakfast is included (bread, jam, butter, tea,..). The staff is good and the wifi is working well.

On the top of that, you can use the facilities of the five star hotel on the other side of the road and swim blissfully on the sea.

Of course, a dorm (even that good) stays a dorm : sometimes you can be waked by other people coming back after parties early morning but compare to a lot of other hostel this one is really quiet (the door, the locker, are not really noisy).

The rooms are also really cheap if you prefer quietness and privacy.

It's really easy to meet other people while taking breakfast or in the common room watching TV or else.

I WARMLY recommand it, it's not even expensive because the breakfast is included so it's realllllly worth its price !

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amyonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2011

this is one stylish hostel. i'm not a backpacker, but i was traveling alone so i thought i would look into a hostel vs. a cheap hotel. i'm so glad i did. ibed's worthy of being in a decor magazine. the accommodations were clean and roomy, with personal tvs in bunk beds. and i can't get over how awesome the bathrooms were especially its shower area, very spa-like. (love the rainfall showerheads.) the staff was very nice, one of them played translator when i took the thai cooking class downstairs. and it was so easy to meet other travelers, made a friend pretty much the moment i dropped off my bags. there's no pool, but the pavilion resort across the street kindly let us use theirs (and offered towels). note: breakfast is pretty minimal with pastries but you can store food and drinks in the fridge, which is good if you're there for more than a few days.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gchoochan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
691 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
554 reviews
0.1 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 48 in Lamai Beach
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Us Hostel
Us Hostel
#15 of 222 in Bophut
38 reviews
4.0 mi away
Backpacker Social Experience
0.1 mi away
Samui Hostel
Samui Hostel
#71 of 454 in Ko Samui
97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel

Property: Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel
Address: 124/521 Moo 3 Lamai Beach, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 48 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘ibed samui’ is the most modern trendy backpacker’s hostel in town for you to explore yourself at the high end attraction point in Samui.‘ibed samui’ Where you can meet your new friend from all over the world and enjoy lively and comfortable stay in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing