We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pretty cool, somewhat private” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“pretty cool, somewhat private”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a couple, we just needed a night somewhere, now im not a fan of backpackers unless i have my own room but we stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was fine. Of course there was some noise but thats normal in most backpackers. What i liked was the little pods you sleep in cause it provided enough privacy. The place was clean, funky and its in a great location, gym just down the road. I'd stay therea gain.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lalacou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

The rooms are very noisy. Every time other room open or close the door, it sounds you slap the door heavily. You can definitely have no rest and no deep sleep at night. Horrible experience! And the service is not good. The hostle won't change you towel unless 3 days past even you ask for the change. The price is much higher than the service and the rooms deserves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hou b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Ibed has managed to create essentially little cabins. You have a curtain for your bed, a tv, a huge locker, light and two electric sockets. I went in rainy season so it was very quiet but this was perfect as I needed a few days to rest and recover. Hot powerful showers and nice bathrooms. If you want the benefits of a private room but in a social and cheap place, ibed is great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleI21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2012

Very clean and modern with lovely helpful staff, the rooms are air conditioned (though the common areas are only fan-cooled), the beds are nice and large with lockers, curtain and bed light. Showers are spacious, though sinks are designed to look good but not much thought into brushing teeth/washing face etc! Full kitchen for DIY cooking, included breakfast ( it was pretty average, no cereal and couldn't stomach toast in the heat). Good location on the main strip and just near Lamai beach. Definitely recommended for a comfortable stay without the price of a 'real' hotel!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Clem T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2012

This hostel is amazing. I've stayed in 20+ hostels over the years, and nothing compares to this. Super beautiful. It's owned by a luxury resort across the street, which means that there are benefits for gests at ibed. The twin rooms have good sheets, matresses, and there is great space for storing your luggage, so it is not in the way of the desk, chairs, and TV. The AC in each room is individually controlled, so, you can make it super cold if you want. The breakfast is the worst part of the hostel, a few pieces of bread, tea, and toast. I would recommend this place without a doubt.

Just walk through the resort to get to the beach.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jacobfyda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2012

Less than a 2 minute walk to Lamai Beach, iBed is very clean, though a little bit pricey by normal hostel standards. Lamai is much quieter than the more popular Chawdeng Beach. I stayed here during low season - one night I'm pretty sure I was the only one staying at the hostel.

If you want to head over to Chawdeng to check out the shops/restaurants/beach, you can catch a songthaew there from right outside the hotel for pretty cheap. You can also catch one back from Chaweng once your there.

Check out the night markets a couple of hundred metres away from the hostel on Sundays (if i remember correctly). Awesome street food.

Room Tip: Downstairs rooms tend to be a bit noisier
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank audzie00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012

Located right near Lamai Beach, the I-Bed is a clean and modern backpackers. I really enjoyed my stay here. The rooms were clean, the beds were comfortable and even the communal bathroom and showers were decent. They even gave us a free upgrade! The only downside is that it is a bit noisy. You can hear the comings and goings of other guests all night!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Olivia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.6 mi away
2W Beach Hostel
2W Beach Hostel
#10 of 213 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
#10 of 80 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hello Backpacker Samui Hostel
0.1 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Hostel
Samui Hostel
#82 of 425 in Ko Samui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel

Property: Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel
Address: 124/521 Moo 3 Lamai Beach, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘ibed samui’ is the most modern trendy backpacker’s hostel in town for you to explore yourself at the high end attraction point in Samui.‘ibed samui’ Where you can meet your new friend from all over the world and enjoy lively and comfortable stay in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing