We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“i-Bed is the way to go in Lamai Beach on Koh Samui” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
88 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“i-Bed is the way to go in Lamai Beach on Koh Samui”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

i-Bed delivered exactly what the website offered. Loved the curtained beds, lockers and TVs. Right across the street from the beach. The owners also run the beach resort that you have to walk through to get to the beach. I met awesome people here. So, I was really lucky. The staff is great and genuinely friendly. I think it's worth a few extra bucks. Only area of improvement - get real mattresses!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dluxe_bebe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    22
    6
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
Families
0
6
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, D.C.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2013

This was the best hostel I've ever been in! Clean, friendly staff, friendly guests, safe for your gear! Very comfortable bed. Large lockers, nice showers with hot water. Just a short walk from the beach!

Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Christopher R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

Immaculately clean hostel. Bit pricier than other hostels but worth the price in my opinion. Lamai Beach is a beautiful location. I preffered this to the busier Chewang Beach. Beach is easily accessible as well as many great restaurants. If you go out of the hotel and turn right, the first restaurant on your left is amazing and the staff incredible. The only thing I didn't love about this hostel was the toilets being so far away from our room. Made it hard to lug toiletries back and forth etc. We had a private room for 2. Was bunk beds. Blankets were towels which seemed weird at first but got used to them fairly quickly. The doors closing as guests come and go during the night was a little annoying as other reviewers have mentioned but I didn't find it too bad.

Room Tip: Private room was good. Maybe a room closer to the bathrooms so it's not so far the travel when g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rikki-Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013 via mobile

This is a tough review because there were good and bad things.

Positives: friendly and accomodating staff, very nice design - looked like a boutique resort (especially from the outside). Like any hostel, it was a good place to meet people. Location wise, preset decent. They are located on the beginning of lamai strip. But it's super easy to walk the whole strip and easy to get to the beach.

Negatives: I stayed on the top floor an it was incredibly loud. Not by people partying but the doors. They slammed incredibly hard against the frame which kept me awake. Also, either it was the doors or walls, but one of the two were paper thin. You could hear everything from the outside, peow talking, walking and even the showers going.

If it were not for the noise from the design of the top floor, I would have easily given this place a 4 or 5. My recommendation is to ask for a room on the bottom floor. The people I met who stayed on the bottom floor could not hear anything.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AdamCoffeeKicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Lanta, Thailand
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013 via mobile

We travelled as a couple, we just needed a night somewhere, now im not a fan of backpackers unless i have my own room but we stayed in a 6 bed dorm and it was fine. Of course there was some noise but thats normal in most backpackers. What i liked was the little pods you sleep in cause it provided enough privacy. The place was clean, funky and its in a great location, gym just down the road. I'd stay therea gain.

Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Lalacou T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guangzhou, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2013

The rooms are very noisy. Every time other room open or close the door, it sounds you slap the door heavily. You can definitely have no rest and no deep sleep at night. Horrible experience! And the service is not good. The hostle won't change you towel unless 3 days past even you ask for the change. The price is much higher than the service and the rooms deserves.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hou b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2012 via mobile

Ibed has managed to create essentially little cabins. You have a curtain for your bed, a tv, a huge locker, light and two electric sockets. I went in rainy season so it was very quiet but this was perfect as I needed a few days to rest and recover. Hot powerful showers and nice bathrooms. If you want the benefits of a private room but in a social and cheap place, ibed is great!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NicoleI21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.4 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
6.6 mi away
2W Beach Hostel
2W Beach Hostel
#10 of 213 in Bophut
4.5 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
3.4 mi away
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
Ananas Hostel Koh Samui
#10 of 80 in Maret
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hello Backpacker Samui Hostel
0.1 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
0.1 mi away
Samui Hostel
Samui Hostel
#82 of 425 in Ko Samui
3.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel

Property: Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel
Address: 124/521 Moo 3 Lamai Beach, Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
‘ibed samui’ is the most modern trendy backpacker’s hostel in town for you to explore yourself at the high end attraction point in Samui.‘ibed samui’ Where you can meet your new friend from all over the world and enjoy lively and comfortable stay in style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibed Chic & Stylish Backpacker Hostel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing