We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful location at affordable prices!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamai Bay View Resort
Ranked #16 of 41 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Bergen, Norway
Level Contributor
26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful location at affordable prices!”
Reviewed 9 August 2011

We stayed in the 2 bedroom family bungalow for four nights and really enjoyed our stay! The view was fantastic and we had some nice walks along the beach. The bungalow itself was a bit dated, but we knew that! Nice little massage place on the beach too! The beach itself was beautiful, but the water very shallow - we had to walk far out in order to be able to swim... This resulted in us using the pool most of the time and that was fine with us. The food in the restaurant was nice, but not great!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bergensanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    58
    30
    11
    16
See reviews for
19
102
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Roskilde, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed 8 May 2011

We were recommended to stay at this hotel by some friends, but also decided to book 5 days afterwards at the luxury hotel "The Kala" which is just around the corner. We bitterly regretted booking the Kala. We missed Lamai Bay View immediately the day we moved to the Kala. We missed the fantastic location on the rocks with a small private beach, but still at the edge of the long Lamai Beach, where the male part of us went jogging everyday. We missed our lovely bungalow just 15m from the water. We missed the friendly and smiling staff, who understood the art of being helpful and at the same time relaxed and almost family-like. We will never forget the evening when one of the waiters and the owner of the hotel did an impromptu unplugged serenade concert at the restaurant. We missed the massages we got at the small wellness hut just next to the private beach, with the cool breeze from the sea coming in through the open walls. And finally we missed the great food at the restaurant, better than what we experienced at the Kala. The rumor we heard at Lamai Bay View is that the chef was trained at one of the best restaurants on the island.

All in all, for us it seemed like Lamai Bay View had found this unique blend of beautiful location, relaxation, and friendliness. Exactly what we came looking for!

Room Tip: Front row bungalows, right side of resort
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Morten008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
Reviewed 19 March 2011

We want to thank you for the warm hospitality and charming.
The attention the little things and most importantly helped us long for every minute.
Your place is amazing, very beautiful and it seems like paradise.
Charming rooms and excellent dining.
Hope to come soon again

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank odeliabr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kruger National Park, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2011

A nice hotel, great location, but very poor value for money. We paid 1600BHT for an aircon room: the room turned out to be a little larger than the double bed - not anything like in the pictures. We had nowhere to put our bags (that little space available), the toilet doubled up as the shower, and the room was pretty much falling apart (mosquito door hanging off its hinges, holes etc.). Furthermore, the beach is so small that when the resort is half full and its a nice day, there is very little room to lie out - and even less chance of securing one of the 4 lounger chairs. The beach is more rock than sand.

On the plus side, the rooms are very clean, which is important when travelling in Thailand. The resort is situated on the headland that results in calmer waters than main lamai beach when the wind hits.

In terms of staff: quite friendly, but - as a previous reviewer pointed out - quite greedy too. They charged 100BHT and hour just to borrow a computer to check the internet, the price of a small beer is literally double you'll find elsewhere, and you'll find that most other things are pricier too. It's not great when a hotel tries to take advantage of its guests in such a way.

So, overall, a peaceful place but not nearly worth the price - you can find almost 4 star rooms elsewhere on Koh Samui for less than their room rates.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank letaba1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2011

Very expensive and our bungalow was so tiny and the bathroom was horrible!

The prices in the restaurant are impertinant! 100THB for a small singha beer!
And the breakfast:
oly toast and marmelade....we were too late (said the waiter) so there was nothing other left (at 9.00 a.m.?).
The owner was not very frienldy and very greedy!
The view at Lamai Beach was wonderful but that was the only nice I can write about this resort!

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Touristnummereins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Norton
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2010

Taking everything into consideration, this hotel is by far the nicest hotel that we have ever stayed at. Upon arrival we were greeted with the friendly smiles of Gung, and Pat - sisters who run the hotel. After a long flight, they made check-in a very straigh-forward, easy and non-time consuming process and showed us to our room.

The rooms are simple, yet tastefully decorated, with a real authentic Thai feel and came with the most breathtaking of views - absolutely stunning! As the hotel is at the North end of Lamai beach the beach that the hotel falls onto is surrounded by scattered rock formations. Consequently the beach is pretty much private - the ideal place to relax and unwind - perfect! Needless to say we spent many days on the beach, using the canoe and exploring the sea life. On the other hand, the hotel is sttill with in reach of the local amenities - we found everything really accessible.

The food at the hotel, as with most restaurants we tried, is beautiful! There is so much to chose from and definately something to suit eveybody's taste - I must recommend Laab Moo (minced pork Thai salad) - delicious!!

Overall the hotel provided us with a relaxing and thoroughly enjoyable stay and we can honestly say that in Gung and Pat we have made life-long friends - we're already making plans to go back to this very hotel to get married :-) Many thanks to you all for making our holiday so memorable. We'll look forward to seeing you again very soon!

Lotti & Adam x x

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lotti1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 September 2010

We stayed nearly a week at Lamai with a large group of friends/family. The resort is nicely located close to the beach and with a small swimming pool. The bungelows are at a good standard compared to price- and with a great view! The bathrooms a bit old- but clean and with hot water. The staff at the hotel is extremely helpful and service minded- I would give them a 5* for the service!

I would recommend you to stay at the Bayview resort if you look for an ok place 2 km from Lamai city centre (if you don't want to party 24 hours a day - you don't want to stay in the city centre). The resort offers really excellent value for money!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelSuvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#10 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
5.0 of 5 bubbles 282 reviews
0.1 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 41 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Bay View Resort

Property: Lamai Bay View Resort
Address: 1/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamai Bay View Resort is a 3 star family hotel consisting of 26 bungalows, a restaurant and a swimming pool in a tropical garden slopping down to the beach. Each bungalow has a large balcony with stunning views of Lamai Bay and the surrounding mountains. Lamai Bay View Resort has it's own private beach with fine white sand. The hotel is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng towns in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamai Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Bay View Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Bay View Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing