We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't stay there! They've got rats!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Lamai Bay View Resort
Ranked #14 of 41 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Don't stay there! They've got rats!!!!”
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel just takes up the good spot with their terrible rooms and service! They've got rats in their rooms!!! So you can't sleep as they are scratching between the walls all night! The staff is terribly unhelpful! And are adding minibar drinks that you've never taken to your bill. You can have hot shower for only 5 minutes and toilet and sink were always blocked. Breakfast has poorest choice and the worst food I've ever had! Check out is at 11 but they are practically throwing you out of the hotel without notice before 10. We saw our bags coming downstairs while using wifi in the lobby and we weren't even ready for check out. Hated every minute spent there! Better stay somewhere else or you'll regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oleksand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

168 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    59
    31
    11
    16
See reviews for
20
104
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2012

While visiting Lamai we enjoyed dining a number of times at Lamai Bay View Resort. The food was exceptionally good, authentic Thai and if you would like to tone down the spices simply say My Ped ( little less spice) and I can assure you the red and green curries will be to your palate. The staff are friendly and on the ball. Exceptional cooking at a very reasonable price. We were staying next door at Renaissance but were happy to use their laundry service which was prompt, inexpensive and of a high standard. Their rest room was exceptionally clean. Recommend highly

Sheree & Paul Australia

Room Tip: If I were thirty years younger I would have no hesitation in staying here, cute bungalows, a spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Villamallorca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enghien, Belgium
1 review
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Lamai Bay view resort is really a place to discover: a very nice view which you would expect only from luxury resorts. Each small house disposes of an authenical arranged room with safe, TV & refrigerator and internet connection, with very spaceful terrace. Badroom are basic, nice and tidy. Each small house has roofs are covered in their own typical way contributing again to the autencity. With motorcycle, or if you like to walk a little you can reach next city with a lot of restaurants, bars, ...but you can as well choose to stay at the resort and enjoy very good food enjoying a superber view. Try out the restaurant. Concerning breakfast: every morning you can choose what you would like to eat, from scrabbled eggs to banana in warm coconut milk delicious. If you a rent a motorcycle, rent a helm even if not obliged! But is a recommended safety precaution.
The location is ideally for those that want to enjoy to rest in nice area, with access to private beach as well for those that want to make some excursions.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2012

I stayed here with friends in March 2012. I stayed in the superior sea view bungalow with one friend, and we had plenty of room for the two of us. The room was very clean and the staff left beautiful touches everyday when they cleaned, like flower petals and towel animals. My friend stayed in the sea view bungalow and his was much smaller, with a smaller bathroom and asian style shower (open shower). He was pleased with his room as he was staying there alone, but I would recommend upgrading to the superior as the price difference is small compared to the difference in comfort between the two rooms.

The food and drinks at the restaurant were fantastic! The staff really make you feel at home and are very helpful with recommendations of things to do in the area and will set up tours for you as well. The location is great, about a 10 minute cab ride to Chaweng (much more touristy, bustling town with active nightlife), or a 10 minute walk into Lamai Beach proper (which also offers plenty of restaurants, bars, massage places, and shopping).

I would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: -opt for the superior sea view room -there is no spa at the hotel, but there is a one-of-a-kind spa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blinnenkohl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2012

I stayed here for 3 nights in Feb12 and had the smallest cheapest bungalow. The view was impressive, the room was small and the shower was in with the toilet ( Which could be a challenge if you are a big person, it was satisfactory for what I required) it has it's own private beach with a hammock and you can get a massage there. I would return, but I would pay more and get one of the larger Bures. You can also hire scooters here at a slightly higher price than down the road, but very convenient.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jackster17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2012

Me & my husband visited this hotel on May. The staffs are very kind and helpfull, we had booked seaview standart A/C room, the room was good but our wiew was half blocked by another room's roof, we asked them to change our room with another room which have full sea view than they change & upgrade our room with superior room:) We dont pay any charge for our new room. The staffs give inportance their customers. The sea is not too deep on front of the hotel, if you should walk about 10/15 min, we can reach deeper beach on lamai. The hotel is very comfortable, the foods are very delicious. If you like nature & silence, you will never regret coming here

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nhnkml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
Reviewed 17 February 2012

our son booked our holiday, what a great choice, perfect view, clean rooms, excellent staff, always smiling - cheerful and helpful.
the restaurant has the best food, from breakfast to dinner, have tried other places and keep coming back here, and staying here for our food, 14 glorious days, want to buy bungalo and move to Lamai Bay.
cheers to the staff and thankyou Frank, marilena, Midge

Room Tip: southy side with a view best
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marilena v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
768 reviews
1.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
314 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 41 in Lamai Beach
275 reviews
1.0 mi away
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
Sand Sea Resort & Spa
#29 of 50 in Lamai Beach
173 reviews
2.6 mi away
Rocky's Boutique Resort
Rocky's Boutique Resort
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
2,021 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Bay View Resort

Property: Lamai Bay View Resort
Address: 1/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamai Bay View Resort is a 3 star family hotel consisting of 26 bungalows, a restaurant and a swimming pool in a tropical garden slopping down to the beach. Each bungalow has a large balcony with stunning views of Lamai Bay and the surrounding mountains. Lamai Bay View Resort has it's own private beach with fine white sand. The hotel is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng towns in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamai Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Bay View Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Bay View Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing