We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keeping the 'Samui Dream' alive.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Lamai Bay View Resort
Ranked #17 of 45 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is the perfect chill-out location. A secluded natural setting with tropical gardens and a small private beach of white powdery sand. Smooth granite boulders and palm trees provided a film-set backdrop for our holiday photos.
We soon fell under the spell of this place and had to drag ourselves away to go sight-seeing.
The attentive owners and staff work so well together that they seem like one big family. Even the pet parrot likes to join in, riding around on someone's shoulder.
We stayed in a medium priced bungalow with A/C, fridge, tea/coffee and free use of a safe. We liked the rustic style with a 'thatch' roof, wooden balcony and of course, a sea view. We called it Robinson Crusoe with air-conditioning!
The restaurant serves excellent Thai food with generous portions and agreeable prices - definitively recommended.
There are no late-night revelers here because the bar closes around ten. If you're looking for action, the bustling center of Lamai is 2-3km away.
A 24 hour supermarket is less than 10 minutes walk away.
Why do we give it 5 stars? Well, nowhere is perfect but we have never had a more relaxed or carefree holiday than this.
Idyllic setting - efficient and friendly staff - great food.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hesitant_lemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (175)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

60 - 66 of 175 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Lamai Bay View Resort, but we are a very resilient traveling family. We stayed for seven days and the price was very reasonable, but we had a couple of issues. The first being that we lost hot water for two days. Now you would think that it would't be that important to have hot water on Ko Samui, but when you have had a day at the beach or an oil massage it is nice to have that warm water. Also, our bungalow was very difficult to lock. Not that it matters, we never had an issue. Some people are more sensitive than us. We just wanted a place with a beach and nice atmosphere. Lamai Bay View definitely has that type of tropical atmosphere. Also, another plus is that for our family we were far enough away from the party atmosphere. Breakfast was good in the morning and the service was great.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Rusty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 days from Boxing Day 2012.The resort is In between Lamai and Chewang so the best of both worlds! and being out of the resorts it is lovely and quiet. We booked a small fan hut which was very small but was worth the bijou room for the beautiful views at sunset. The staff are friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is basic but very nice. The beach is private and quite with a few sunbeds and the tide is shallow so you can paddle out for quite a way. The massage girls are really nice the hut is on the beach great for massage after sunbathing. We had no nasty free pets only the mosquitos at 5-7 pm which you get every where in Thailand. Overall I would recommend and we will return on our next adventure in Thailand.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank louandstevethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My family and I arrived at the lovely resort and were received with fresh welcome drinks. Beautiful place, the staff were very friendly and helpful. My kids were very happy to swim in the swimming pool with the great view. We loved to eat tasty Thai food in the restaurant resort. I wish to return next year with my family again.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Note44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel just takes up the good spot with their terrible rooms and service! They've got rats in their rooms!!! So you can't sleep as they are scratching between the walls all night! The staff is terribly unhelpful! And are adding minibar drinks that you've never taken to your bill. You can have hot shower for only 5 minutes and toilet and sink were always blocked. Breakfast has poorest choice and the worst food I've ever had! Check out is at 11 but they are practically throwing you out of the hotel without notice before 10. We saw our bags coming downstairs while using wifi in the lobby and we weren't even ready for check out. Hated every minute spent there! Better stay somewhere else or you'll regret it!

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Oleksand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2012

While visiting Lamai we enjoyed dining a number of times at Lamai Bay View Resort. The food was exceptionally good, authentic Thai and if you would like to tone down the spices simply say My Ped ( little less spice) and I can assure you the red and green curries will be to your palate. The staff are friendly and on the ball. Exceptional cooking at a very reasonable price. We were staying next door at Renaissance but were happy to use their laundry service which was prompt, inexpensive and of a high standard. Their rest room was exceptionally clean. Recommend highly

Sheree & Paul Australia

Room Tip: If I were thirty years younger I would have no hesitation in staying here, cute bungalows, a spectac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Villamallorca2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2012

Lamai Bay view resort is really a place to discover: a very nice view which you would expect only from luxury resorts. Each small house disposes of an authenical arranged room with safe, TV & refrigerator and internet connection, with very spaceful terrace. Badroom are basic, nice and tidy. Each small house has roofs are covered in their own typical way contributing again to the autencity. With motorcycle, or if you like to walk a little you can reach next city with a lot of restaurants, bars, ...but you can as well choose to stay at the resort and enjoy very good food enjoying a superber view. Try out the restaurant. Concerning breakfast: every morning you can choose what you would like to eat, from scrabbled eggs to banana in warm coconut milk delicious. If you a rent a motorcycle, rent a helm even if not obliged! But is a recommended safety precaution.
The location is ideally for those that want to enjoy to rest in nice area, with access to private beach as well for those that want to make some excursions.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank C D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
723 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
781 reviews
1.5 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
446 reviews
0.7 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
319 reviews
9.6 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Bay View Resort

Address: 1/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £22 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamai Bay View Resort is a 3 star family hotel consisting of 26 bungalows, a restaurant and a swimming pool in a tropical garden slopping down to the beach. Each bungalow has a large balcony with stunning views of Lamai Bay and the surrounding mountains. Lamai Bay View Resort has it's own private beach with fine white sand. The hotel is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng towns in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lamai Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Bay View Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Bay View Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing