We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic views!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lamai Bay View Resort
Ranked #16 of 40 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
382 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Fantastic views!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

This hotel is a ten minutes taxi ride from central lamai which is nice but not ideal for those wishing to head there daily. However it is an ideal place to see he bay on nye as i did with all the fireworks. THe staff are incredibly friendly and really good to help. The view are amazing though people wiht walking difficulties may struggle and the rooms are rather small, i could not have stayed more than three days in such a room. THe private beach with massage parlour nad hamocks is really nice though.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faceyreviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

167 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    50
    59
    31
    11
    16
See reviews for
19
104
8
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bruges, Belgium
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013 via mobile

Getting to Lamai when arriving at Samui ferry port will cost you 5-700 bath by taxi, no way arround it. On mainland Thailand this would be a lot less.

Making reservations was a problematic experience. After calling 3 times and emailing I got a resonse we had a room. When we arrived there was no trace of a reservation... The english of the staff is rather limited for a hotel catering tourists...

We paid 72 euros per night for a 3 bed-room incl breakfast, room with no view of the bay. Which is high for this type of accomodation. When paying with credit card they charge you 3%, after many years of travelling this is a first. They seem to forget that accepting Visa or Mastercard as a payment method you also accept ghe charges. Card users also pay fees on transactions .After staying 5 nights they cant be bothered to offer you a drive you to the ferry port, you have to pay 600 bhat to the hotel driver who drives the hotel car at public taxi rates... When checking in you have to leave a deposit of 500 bhat for the key ( also a first ). It's these little things that turn me off and make me feel like a cash cow. Its a feeling that persists throughout the island, except when renting a scooter off which there is a glut apparently (150 bhat for 24 hours)

Bungalow style hotel with a view over the bay of Lamai. The bungalows are on the small side. Just enough space for the bed really.

All the bungalows have a terras and large shower. Most have sea view.

Aircon is rather old and noisy, rooms have a fan and you can open all windows they have mosquito gauze . To the south there is a beach bar / disco so if the wind comes from there ( usually does ) you can enjoy the, erm, free music, some days til late at night.

There is a small pool with about 7 chairs / transats. You can't really swim but its enough to cool off.

There is wifi but no or weak signal in the bungalow we stayed at.

Rooms are cleaned daily and are tidy.

They have a small nice beach with sand and rocks. To swim you walk about 700 m through a tidal zone filled with rocks and coral litter (tricky and not for small children), untill you reach a barrier of mostly dead coral. Then the water becomes deep enough to swim. This counts for most of Koh Samui. There are beaches but these are lined with hotels and resorts and are bizy.

Restaurant is pricey and usually empty or allmost ( except when it rains).

Breakfast is standard fare for Thailand , ie :
Square plastic bag bread, soft mini croissants, cereal, yoghurt, eggs, and some fruit. Coffee is instant coffee.

In peak season I can see this place getting too crowded.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Betabloke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, England
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 February 2013

This is the perfect chill-out location. A secluded natural setting with tropical gardens and a small private beach of white powdery sand. Smooth granite boulders and palm trees provided a film-set backdrop for our holiday photos.
We soon fell under the spell of this place and had to drag ourselves away to go sight-seeing.
The attentive owners and staff work so well together that they seem like one big family. Even the pet parrot likes to join in, riding around on someone's shoulder.
We stayed in a medium priced bungalow with A/C, fridge, tea/coffee and free use of a safe. We liked the rustic style with a 'thatch' roof, wooden balcony and of course, a sea view. We called it Robinson Crusoe with air-conditioning!
The restaurant serves excellent Thai food with generous portions and agreeable prices - definitively recommended.
There are no late-night revelers here because the bar closes around ten. If you're looking for action, the bustling center of Lamai is 2-3km away.
A 24 hour supermarket is less than 10 minutes walk away.
Why do we give it 5 stars? Well, nowhere is perfect but we have never had a more relaxed or carefree holiday than this.
Idyllic setting - efficient and friendly staff - great food.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hesitant_lemming
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakhurst, California
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Lamai Bay View Resort, but we are a very resilient traveling family. We stayed for seven days and the price was very reasonable, but we had a couple of issues. The first being that we lost hot water for two days. Now you would think that it would't be that important to have hot water on Ko Samui, but when you have had a day at the beach or an oil massage it is nice to have that warm water. Also, our bungalow was very difficult to lock. Not that it matters, we never had an issue. Some people are more sensitive than us. We just wanted a place with a beach and nice atmosphere. Lamai Bay View definitely has that type of tropical atmosphere. Also, another plus is that for our family we were far enough away from the party atmosphere. Breakfast was good in the morning and the service was great.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rusty O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We stayed at the resort for 5 days from Boxing Day 2012.The resort is In between Lamai and Chewang so the best of both worlds! and being out of the resorts it is lovely and quiet. We booked a small fan hut which was very small but was worth the bijou room for the beautiful views at sunset. The staff are friendly and helpfull. Breakfast is basic but very nice. The beach is private and quite with a few sunbeds and the tide is shallow so you can paddle out for quite a way. The massage girls are really nice the hut is on the beach great for massage after sunbathing. We had no nasty free pets only the mosquitos at 5-7 pm which you get every where in Thailand. Overall I would recommend and we will return on our next adventure in Thailand.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank louandstevethomas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 12 October 2012

My family and I arrived at the lovely resort and were received with fresh welcome drinks. Beautiful place, the staff were very friendly and helpful. My kids were very happy to swim in the swimming pool with the great view. We loved to eat tasty Thai food in the restaurant resort. I wish to return next year with my family again.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Note44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2012

The hotel just takes up the good spot with their terrible rooms and service! They've got rats in their rooms!!! So you can't sleep as they are scratching between the walls all night! The staff is terribly unhelpful! And are adding minibar drinks that you've never taken to your bill. You can have hot shower for only 5 minutes and toilet and sink were always blocked. Breakfast has poorest choice and the worst food I've ever had! Check out is at 11 but they are practically throwing you out of the hotel without notice before 10. We saw our bags coming downstairs while using wifi in the lobby and we weren't even ready for check out. Hated every minute spent there! Better stay somewhere else or you'll regret it!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Oleksand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Lamai Beach hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
1.8 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
751 reviews
0.6 mi away
MANATHAI Koh Samui
MANATHAI Koh Samui
#11 of 50 in Lamai Beach
376 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
674 reviews
0.4 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,370 reviews
1.6 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamai Bay View Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamai Bay View Resort

Property: Lamai Bay View Resort
Address: 1/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 40 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamai Bay View Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lamai Bay View Resort is a 3 star family hotel consisting of 26 bungalows, a restaurant and a swimming pool in a tropical garden slopping down to the beach. Each bungalow has a large balcony with stunning views of Lamai Bay and the surrounding mountains. Lamai Bay View Resort has it's own private beach with fine white sand. The hotel is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng towns in a quiet area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamai Bay View Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamai Bay View Hotel Lamai Beach
Lamai Bay View Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing