We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lava Lounge

Lava Lounge
Ranked #2 of 4 Nightlife in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
UK
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

I like the Lava Lounge. The owner Frank and his family are really nice. The place is a great retreat away from the "Welcome you handsome man" screams from the other girly bars in the area. You can just chill out, enjoy a good cocktail (great value btw), natter to the bar staff (and Frank), and the music has a cool vibe.

If you are in Lamai, drop in a few times and visit this place, as we found it was a great discovery.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank world_traveller18333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    6
    0
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Lava Lounge - Lamai Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

A very nice place that I always visit when in Lamai....its not a pick up place but definitely some where you can relax and also meet like minded individuals.....bar staff are super friendly and can knock together excellent cocktails which for me its go to be the Mohito...!!.....the proprietors Frank & Ice will chat pretty much all night and and make everybody very welcome......as for the tunes they can vary considerably but Frank is open to suggestions......!!!, most definitely I will return hopefully early 2014 ....looking forward to it ........Cheers Frank & Ice

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank mickthefixer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fagersta, Sweden
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Where everybody knows your name”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

I ve been coming to Lamai for many years and the place has changed dramatically over this time.There are now more families and couples visiting the small village resulting in more restaurants and family orientated businesses.

One thing that hasn't changed ,thankfully, is The Lava Lounge,a very laid back bar just off the main drag.I ve been coming here for years and love the atmosphere and warm welcome I receive every time.Frank and Ice are fantastic hosts,chatting with everyone in the bar.The staff are ultra friendly and experts in making the Lava drink specials which are something to behold.They have a happy hour every night ,a great time to sample their Long Island Iced Teas.Amazing.

Don t miss out on the opportunity to visit The Lava Lounge on your visit to Lamai.You won t regret it.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Richardniall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ko Samui, Surat Thani, Thailand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“The place to be in Kho Samui!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

As a long term resident in Kho Samui, I have seen most of the bars and hang-out places here and especially in Lamai. Lava Lounge is a treasure amongst those many bars available here. It's completely chilled out, there's great and friendly staff and it's one of the view places where they actually play great music.
Anyone who wants to escape the usual, boring bars with silly pop music and way too much hecticness will love this place. It's the right choice for those, who want to get the real "Island Feeling".
Altogether: Great and stylish place, super pleasant and chilled out atmosphere, very friendly staff and the best "White Russian" I have ever tasted on the beautiful island, Kho Samui.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sebastian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2013

Just got back from Koh Samui with my husband, we had two wonderful visits to the Lava Lounge. Its a really nice bar and the staff are great. If I ever go back to Koh Samui I weill be paying the Lava Lounge another visit.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lava Lounge also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
Lamai Beach, Maret
 
Lamai Beach, Maret
Ko Samui, Surat Thani Province
 

Been to Lava Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing