We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Value for Money”
Review of Lamoon Lamai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamoon Lamai House
Ranked #14 of 41 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Excellent Value for Money”
Reviewed 27 August 2012

For the money you won't find a better place to stay, the beds are the most comfortable of all the hotels I stayed in Thailand. Even 5 star! The staff are excellent and make your stay as nice as possible. The location is perfect!! Next door is 711 and the beach a few minutes walk. We love it so much here for the money we cancelled our final weeks hotel in pattaya and returning to Lamoon Lamai.

The only thing I would say is the shower we had was not very good at all- tiny shower head that changed temperature a fair bit but we had an outside shower also just off our balcony which was fab!!! Also if you like to go to bed early then the noise of the bars may bother you as they stay open untill 3am. This wasn't a problem for us. Also they do like to swap rooms and even if you book one type of room they will say it isnt available and put you in a cheaper one. changing rooms was abit annoying

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laurenlittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    30
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
29
13
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2012

Warning: these guys are liars. We had booked the highest quality (and expensive) room category a couple of months in advance through booking.com (advertised as having sea views – we now understand that this would have been on the top floor – floor 4 from memory). When we turned up, the lady at the front counter took us to a room on the first floor (it had a balcony, but the view was rubbish and had absolutely no privacy). When we asked about the sea views advertised, she told us that they had booked out those rooms. We obviously emphasised that we had contracted for the room with sea views. This started a conversation containing several lies by her, including (i) telling us that our booking did not contain an advertisement of sea views (we had to point out where this was stated on our booking form), and (ii) telling us that we could have a room on the second top floor (saying that it was “same same” as the top floor – but this can’t be true, given that they charge a different price for the top floor as opposed to the second top floor), all the while trying to make us pay for a room on the top floor. We decided to take our deposit back and find another place to stay – we would strongly advise other potential customers to do the same. If people lie to your face, can you trust that they won’t steal something from your belongings when you aren’t in your room? We had to give this rating of 1 on TripAdvisor, but if we had the option, we would’ve given it a 0!

Room Tip: Choose the top floor if you can - with sea views. If you choose this, it doesn't guarantee you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tulleth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Catharines, Canada
Level Contributor
50 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2012

I have been to Lamai about 3 times and each time I stayed at the WMC Muay Thai gym. I can no longer train muay thai due to a serious back injury but I still wanted to come to Koh Samui again. So I decided to spoil myself and booked a room (had to pay a deposit also of 150$CAN) at Golden Sands Resort which is beachfront and supposed to be nice. Unfortunately it was terrible. I am not picky but the bed was SO OLD that there was literally no cushion left on it and it felt like wires, the next day I woke up with EXTREMELY bad back pain.
I searched around and tried out the beds of all the beachfront expensive places and they were all pretty much the same - GARBAGE.
Finally I tried out Lamoon Lamai. It has the nicest beds in all of Koh Samui and probably Thailand!!
The staff there were extremely nice and the lady felt sorry for me and gave me the room with the big bathtub at the cheaper rate so I could soak my hurt back. The rooms was spotless, modern and extremely clean. Great balcony and they clean your room very well everyday and stock it with free water.
This is by far the BEST hotel in Koh Samui!! Seriously, it was the most comfortable place I have ever stayed and I travel A LOT!!
If you are concerned about it not having a pool or being beachfront dont worry because the beach is literally a 3 min walk across the street and if you really wanna use a pool you can use the beachfront hotel pools/lounge chairs ect.. for 100baht per day which is only like 3$
The hotel is only about $30 per night so even if you used another beachfront hotels facilities, its still only gonna cost you like $33 per night and this way you get a great hotel room, WAY WAY better than all the so called expensive nice hotels on the beachfront.

Ps. To that first reviewer who complained saying the they tried to rip her off and police came. You are pathetic. This hotel wouldnt waste their time trying to scam someone for 3$!! You are just paranoid and if you are really THAT concerned about 3 bucks, then you probably shouldnt be traveling cause you obviously can't afford it!

Room Tip: Room 205 was great for me! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BuAkAW U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Hidden little gem in the heart of Lamai. Five minutes to the beach, five minutes to all the action, five minutes to Muay Thai gym - five minutes to pretty much everything. It can get a little loud at night, but the powerful AC drowns it out. They keep this Hotel very, very clean - its awesome! $1000 baht per night ($30 Canadian) is amazing! No breakfast though, but we didn't mind - we jumped on our scooter at 7:00am and found our own little spots. Staff was super nice,

I can't wait to go back,

Room Tip: You need AC - its 35 to 40 degrees everyday!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nigel_guerin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
surgeon_1983
Level Contributor
37 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

stayed for a few days before going to Phangnan to the full moon party. Nice rooms, good beds, decent price for the accompdation. Free coffee. Close to the beach. Owners were helpful, and spoke English well. Overall would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank surgeon_1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Holland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2011

We had a room in the main building, they are a bit better then the rooms in the yard. In mid season we paid 800 Bath a night for a real clean room with a perfect bed, much cheaper then hotels around. Rooms are cleaned every day, new towels every day, free coffee and tea facilities on the first floor. The Thai lady in the shop (she is not the owner) was very helpfull to answer all our questions.
Nothing to complain about, should recommend to everybody who want a good clean room in Lamai without any further fuss.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alex2293
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
133 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2011

Stayed here for a few days after searching up and down the beach for a vacant room at a reasonable price.
The hotels that dominate the beach are mostly expensive costing between 2000-3500baht. We were traveling on a budget so walked up the road that runs behind the beach hotels, where we found Lamoon Lamai.
The rooms are behind the 7-11 and are very clean and tidy, we had fresh towels, 2 bottles of water and our room made up every day. The room included TV, fridge, air-con, fan, large double bed and clean tiled bathroom with hot shower.
We paid 800baht p/n which we were pleased with. The beach is a 5 minute walk and quite nice, the sea was pretty rough when we visited.
The road that the hotel is on is lined with bars, resaurants and shops and it's a nice walk down to the night food stalls which you have to visit.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank tinbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#26 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
0.0 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#42 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#4 of 46 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 424 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamoon Lamai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamoon Lamai House

Property: Lamoon Lamai House
Address: 128/17-18 Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 81310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 41 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamoon Lamai House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Lamoon Lamai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamoon Lamai House Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing