We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good hotel for the price.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lamoon Lamai House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lamoon Lamai House
Ranked #16 of 42 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Vancouver BC
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Good hotel for the price.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed 4 nights over New Years in a Superior room overlooking the main road. The room was nice size and comfortable bed, good a/c, large sliding glass door that insulated the street noise quite well, nice deck with chairs. Bathroom is large with separate tub but hot water was lacking, only had one hot shower out of four but the cold was not too cold. WiFi was not very strong, location is 15 minutes walk from the center but many good restaurants around and a 7/11 next door for cold drinks, beach is fairly close. Owners are friendly. Overall a good stay.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Greg3987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    28
    9
    1
    3
See reviews for
4
29
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014 via mobile

Stayed in Bungalow , Bungalow spacious and good value . If you want luxury , probably not the place for you and WiFi was fairly poor . The couple that run the resort are great , very friendly and will do anything to help you . Would definately stay again

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank bmba1414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights in a superior room. Ac was great and there was pretty good wifi.

Great value, friendly staff, nice big and comfortable bed as well as nice new floor tiles. The shower was not separated from the toilet but the bathroom was clean.

Only problem was the noise at night coming from the bars across the road. The music was pumping well into the wee hours and it wasn't even high season yet!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LivingTheDream_KN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2013

The hotel rooms were very clean, with a flushing toilet and hot water, fan, fridge and television. The bed was comfortable. The rooms were off the main road, which made them quiet at night. The staff does their job of checking you in and out, but nothing more. Overall, it is a great place for people on a budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ksunni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 May 2013

I stayed three nights at Lamoon Lamai in a fan bungalow. Admittedly it's good value for money for travelers on a budget, but I sometimes wondered if I should have spent that bit more - hence the 'average' review, which doesn't mean bad, it just means average!

When I checked in the staff were unfriendly and made no attempt to go out of their way, hence as it's not necessary to walk through the office to and from your room I didn't see any staff for the remainder of my stay - until I checked out.

The room was very big with a very big bed but absolutely roasting hot. Of course I'd expect this in the hot season but was disappointed to find the fan mounted on the wall, which wasn't nearly as effective at keeping the room cool as a ceiling fan. I also noted an air con unit in the room but with no remote control, so they clearly stick to delivering what you pay for - i.e. fan only, which is fair enough. Unfortunately the air con unit had a bright blinking light on it that lit up the room at night!

Lamoon Lamai is in a good location, just a minute's walk from the beach through a hotel resort opposite. It's a nice beach but I recommend making the walk up the far end (turn left on the beach), it's much quieter and with nice places to eat - it feels a lot less touristy.

If this is your budget I'm sure you could do a lot worse.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank magicfish79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 January 2013

My girlfriend and I stayed here for five days over New Years and loved it. The bungalows were conveniently tucked away from the busy street but close to the beach and all the restaurants of Lamai. Our rooms were well kept everyday and the manager was very friendly and informative. Every time we needed help regarding a taxi or a local tour, he was more than helpful. During our time in Thailand, we stayed at some more upscale places. This was supposed to be our "budget" hotel we planned to stay at to save a little money. That being said, we actually enjoyed this place more than the others because we didn't feel ripped off when we left and the people were much more friendly than any of the other places. The rooms were clean, have aircon, and also a safe is provided if you are worried about your valuables. If I come back to Koh Samui, I am definitely staying here again.

Room Tip: Bungalows were nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Traveller20121981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

The owner was quite helpful to me when booking a trip to Ko Phangan and getting me to my ferry when leaving Ko Samui. Laundry at the hotel is cheaper than at other surrounding laundry places. Rooms are nicely furnished. Ended up on floor with balcony seating, top floor. The noise from nearby bars is audible at night but not overpowering. Beach is close by as well as lots of amenities, WiFi included. Would come back.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank eponymous_coward
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.7 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#43 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 213 reviews
7.5 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#48 of 187 in Bophut
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,451 reviews
0.3 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#5 of 45 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 411 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamoon Lamai House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamoon Lamai House

Property: Lamoon Lamai House
Address: 128/17-18 Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 81310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Lamoon Lamai House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Lamoon Lamai House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamoon Lamai House Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing