We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but but I wouldn't return”
Review of Amarina Residence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Amarina Residence
Ranked #8 of 45 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

My wife and I stayed for 8 days over new year. We stayed in the Amarina room. Pleasant room but a few things missing like a shower (only had a bath) and the bedside table had fallen off the wall and was left next to the bed and wasn't fixed during our stay even though I requested this to be done on day one. The staff are nice and the room was always left immaculate after cleaning. 2 minute walk from the beach and right on the high street so surrounded by plenty of shops.

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank James E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (157)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

43 - 49 of 157 reviews

Reviewed 22 November 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night.
The room was relatively clean, location is fine but we wike up so many times because of the noise out side it was terrible... We stayed on the first floor maybe the upper floors are better.

Another crazy thing: the cleaning lady woke us up at 7am since she didnt think to check first if there was someone inside!!! Very annoying and unpleasant.

Overall for a 3star hotel and for the price paid it was fine but i think there are better hotels at the same level in lamai...

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank Revitulidk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for one night in September 2013. The rooms are very clean and nice, there was no window, which did not bother us. The staff was very helpful and really nice!
We would definetly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Talvid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed three nights, couldn't find our intended hotel so walked in and got a room here... Glad we did! Beautifully clean, functional rooms. Helpful staff, very safe and secure feel to the place. Free tea and coffee a lovely bonus. Located in the midst of it all, metres from beach, no noise at night. Not very cheap, but worth the money for us as it was such a comfortable and pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheffielderpair
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Having stayed at Amarina Residence every year during the past four years I can honestly say this place is fantastic and the service and standards haven't dropped.
The rooms are always were clean, the friendly staff can't do enough for you and Tang and Amarin the owners are always extremely friendly and accommodating.

The location is awesome, situated less than 100m to the beach (down a short paved alleyway). You are close enough to all the action in Lamai town, although you do not hear the street noise or noise of late night activity.

Without a doubt we would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nomadicnevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2013

We stayed at this hotel for about 4 nights and it was nice. The room is clean and is quite modern but there is no window; only the patio doors which led out onto the corridor . The only problem with this hotel is the lack of reception staff, when we had few things to sort out there was nobody to help. It is in a good location though and would recommend for someone staying in Lamai for a few days, Chaweng is only a 20 minute bus ride which is an amazing place.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chloe976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2013

As i have stayed here before it's nice to arrive where people recognize you, everything is easier like check in and getting a motorbike. The place suits me as it's near everything i need and people i know who live there, i don't really use a pool, cleanliness, quite location and wi-fi are generally all I look out for. Usually i see Amarin & Tang the owners, but they were no where to be seen this trip but it was vacation time in Samui maybe they were away.

This stay however there was an unfortunate circumstance that the room i had booked and paid for was not available (Amarina room), so i was offered a studio balcony room for "1 night or maybe 2" by reception. The hotel stated there was a problem with the water supply and the 2 Amarina rooms could not be used (they are both on the top floor, i took his on face value as plausible). Only problem being that my friends restaurant/bar is directly across the street with a direct view to room 308 (the room i was put into 2 nights later) which had guests using it for the 2 nights i had been advised i couldn't be put there due to water problems. The difference in tariff for the rooms for the 2 nights was 600 baht for which i was offered no refund or even maybe a discount on further stays. Maintenance issues i can accept, but lies i can not. Rooms needed some work as well, one of my bedside tables had been ripped from the wall and was in the bottom of my cupboard and the bath plug just wouldn't function.

Over the past 18 months i have referred a few friends/travelers here, however due to differing issues they have had with 'misunderstandings' here have relocated themselves up to Lamai Beach Residence around the corner. Maybe when i am back in October i'll try it as well, don't want to have to 'move' as i liked this place.....

Room Tip: pay the extra for the Amarina room , 308 is the biggest and apart from being bigger the Amarina'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LevifromOz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
569 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Crystal Lamai Hotel
Crystal Lamai Hotel
#19 of 51 in Lamai Beach
49 reviews
0 mi away
Samui Beach Resort
Samui Beach Resort
#21 of 51 in Lamai Beach
453 reviews
0 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#7 of 45 in Lamai Beach
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amarina Residence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amarina Residence

Address: 131 / 10 Moo 3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £16 - £34 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Amarina Residence 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amarina Residence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amarina Residence Hotel Lamai Beach
Amarina Residence Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing