We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich Resort Gets Better and Better”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Ranked #24 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I have just returned from my annual trip to Thailand and again stayed at The Rich Resort.
Each year I return this place gets better and better, the room I had this time was huge with a nice balcony, sea view and a strong free wifi signal.

The best improvement this trip was the new french chef and new menu in the resturant. The menu now has lots more choice and loads of grill items in Jack Daniels sauce and it's cheap! (I recommend the chicken and prawn combo in Jack Danies Sauce for 200baht).

Will be back again next year (if not sooner)

Thank you Rich Resort and Swing Bar for another great holiday

Room Tip: Book early as it is now getting so popular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phil_Asia_1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (451)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

247 - 253 of 451 reviews

Reviewed 27 August 2013

This hotel is definitely good value. We initially booked for 2 nights but ended up staying for 2 weeks. The location is spot on right near the beach and close to everywhere in Lamai. The rooms were clean and great price. The girls at reception are also very helpful if you need to book any tours or tickets. The hotel was full basically all the time we were there and I can see why. Great price and great value.
Also definitely check out the fireshows at the hotels bar across the road Swing Bar. Excellent fireshows on the beach.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tanya C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The location is very good, from my room to the beach in less than a minute, two minutes from shops and main bars/restaurants. I found the staff to be very friendly and extremely helpful; (thanks to the girls on reception) nothing was too much trouble. There is free wifi and free sunbeds (the best ones the beach). The room was very clean, large with air conditioning and good wet room. It is a nice resort and I would come back when going to Samui in the future.

Room Tip: Go for the large A/C rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TonyNosam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

We appreciate you taking the time to review our establishment. Yes our location is one of the best in Lamai and right on the beach. Glad to see that the staff were friendly and helpful. Yes we provide free wifi in all the rooms, in the restaurant/bar and even on the beach where you can lounge for free on the restaurant sunbeds. Great to hear that you will return to see us in the future. See you soon and thank again for the review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2013

The room was clean, with a comfortable king size bed. Also a few steps away from the beach and Lamai main street, full with food and entertainment. Superb for backpackers or those who just wanna get away from the city.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soo_mei2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 August 2013

Thanks for your opinion of our hotel. Location, location, location...I think everyone who posts a review comments on our great location. Best location on Lamai beach and walking distance to everything in Lamai town. Good to hear that your room cleanliness was up to standard....we randomly inspect the rooms to insure the cleaners maintain standard. Yes we have quite a few backpacker customers because our prices are some of the most affordable in Koh Samui and we are also located on the beach so this makes our accommodation very popular. Thanks again for your review!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2013

The location is very good, near the beach and the night market. Have free wifi and free sunbeds on the beach. Nice staff, but they are not good at English. The room is clean, but a little bit small and hot, maybe next time I would book another room with air conditioner. Anyway, it is a nice resort and I will come back when going to Samui.

Room Tip: Book a big room with air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Meow345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2013

Thanks you for your feedback on our hotel. It is great that you found our resort to be nice and will return on your next trip to Samui. Yes free WiFi in every room, in the restaurant & bar and even on the beach. Yes free sunbed use on the beach for all customers.
Sorry about the language barrier with the reception staff. We have some new staff training under our normal staff and their English is not perfect but they try their best. Yes, we offer 4 different room types 2 types with fan units and 2 types with air conditioning units. We offer fan rooms so we can provide the most affordable prices to budget travelers. The guest can book the room type that fits their budget and can always upgrade rooms after check in if we have availability. Thank you again for your review and see you again on your next trip to Koh Samui!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2013 via mobile

OK the price was right, however my stay was less than pleasant.

Staff could have been a lot friendlier and helpful- in fact I felt that I was being ripped off when I was enquiring about taxi prices etc.

The room smelt awful and was in a pretty poor state of repair. Furthermore it wasn't too clean and the shower didn't work properly.

I would not recommend this to anyone unless you were on a very tight budget and had no choice.

However the one plus was its location right on the beach.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank QChristopher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2013

Thanks for your review. We appreciate everyone's feedback both negative and positive. We are happy to hear that you found the location to be good. I think almost every review has our good location as one of the positives.
Sorry to hear that you felt you were being "ripped off" when asking about taxi prices. Our transfer/taxi rates are all standard posted rates and guests are required to sign a triple copy bill whenever they have a transaction with reception. This triple copy bill signed by the customer provides the customer, reception and management with a copy providing a system of checks and balances which reduces the chance of being "ripped off" to 0.

Sorry to hear that you felt the room was not adequately cleaned and was in a poor state of repair. This is the first I have heard of this. Did you bring this to the attention of the reception staff? I would like to know which room number?
We have been running at a 95% average occupancy level for the last 2 weeks so the staff have been working at full capacity. We will look into the case to make any improvements we can for future guests. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2013

We found this hotel on Agoda while scouting for something nice but cheap enough to fit in our backpacker budget. We decided on Lamai beach as it was meant to be quieter than Chaweng, although we hadn't bargained on the area being quite as quiet as it was, but it was fine for a few days.
We had a standard fan room with an extra bed, the room was absolutely huge! Really clean as well, and had a big bathroom with a shower etc, so couldn't fault it at all.
From the hotel you cross the road and you're in Swing Bar which is a great beach front bar with an indoor bit and lots of loungers outside right on the water's edge was fab. Nothing beats lying in the sun being delivered cocktails!
The beach is really nice and pretty quiet, and they serve good food so all in all a winner. If you're there for a few nights definitely try and work in the Friday fire show, it's brilliant!
I'd say come here if you want to chill out and relax, but it's not the best for nightlife (although Chaweng is only 15 minute taxi ride away).

Room Tip: Go for aircon!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gemma N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2013

Thank you very much for providing your opinion of our accommodation. We are happy to hear that the room seemed good value for the budget prices. It is also nice to see that you found the rooms to be large and clean. The cleaners do a great job and the management inspect the vacant rooms daily to insure these standards are maintained. Yes, Lamai Beach is a bit less action than Chaweng Beach but some people prefer this. We always have our nightly fireshows and our beach parties on Mondays and Fridays as you mentioned to keep people entertained. Thanks for the review and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.9 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
251 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#17 of 51 in Lamai Beach
322 reviews
9.4 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
741 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
575 reviews
1.1 mi away
Blu' Beach Bungalows
Blu' Beach Bungalows
#25 of 51 in Lamai Beach
53 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Address: 109/12 M3 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Lamai Beach
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £7 - £18 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rich Resort Beachside Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is conveniently located on the central Lamai beach road, close enough to all of Lamai's amenities yet far enough for a nice, quiet relaxing holiday. Located on what many consider to be Koh Samui's most beautiful beach, Rich Resort Beahcside Hotel is within walking distance to all of Lamai's major amenities and conveniences including shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Expedia, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Ebookers so you can book your Rich Resort Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing