We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rich Resort, Great Place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Guam, Mariana Islands
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Rich Resort, Great Place!”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I stayed here for about three weeks last summer, and had a great time. I had a bicycle that I had rented, and they made sure I had a good, secure place to keep it. The room was clean and the location is right on the beach, close to all the bars and restaurants in Lamai. You also receive a discount on food and drinks at the Swing Bar, and they have weekly partys on the beach. A sure thing for the price!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank SWW119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
We appreciate everyone's reviews and feedback of our business. Yes a bicycle is a great way to get around or you can just walk because we are in a great location as you said right near the beach and walking distance to everything in town! A sure thing thing for the price yes! Thanks for your opinion of our hotel and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    154
    145
    58
    33
    38
See reviews for
25
146
94
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Seville, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

We booked 2 nights but stayed for 5. Lamai is a very nice beach. The hotel has very good cheap rooms for the location and what you get. The room was cleaned well daily and had good wifi and comfortable bed. They were doing a bit of maintenance on the hotel when we stayed but nothing that disturbed us. The reception staff helped us arrange a tour around the island which was very fun. In all a great budget hotel with a great location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 26 June 2014
Thank you for reviewing our business. Lovely to hear that you enjoyed the location and your stay. Also good to know that you found the rooms affordable and clean. We are one of the most affordable accomodation on Koh Samui and we are in a great location on one of the best beaches in Koh Samui Lamai Beach. Yes we provide free Wifi in all of the rooms, in the restaurants and even when you are lounging on the sun beds on the beach.
Sorry about the small maintenance issue, we were just repainting and refurbishing the vacant rooms, so all of the rooms will be updated before next high season. This maintenance is all complete now and there was no noise to disturb the customers.
Great to know that the staff were friendly and helped you with your tour. The reception can arrange many tours and tickets.....the around the island tour is one of the most popular!
Thank you again for your feedback of our hotel and hope to see you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Anyone travelling to lamui on Koh Samui this is the property you MUST book, the rooms are spacious, extremely clean and the price per night is right.
The staff are extremely helpful and the food in the restaurant very tasty and inexpensive.
I will certainly book again.

Room Tip: I booked a deluxe fan and was very comfortable ( 103 )
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 441AlanB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It looks like you enjoyed your stay. Yes our rooms especially the deluxe are very spacious, clean and we have just upgraded all the rooms with fresh paint and fixtures. Yes we are one of the most affordable accommodation in Samui and we are located in a great location right near the beach! Great to hear that the staff were helpful and you enjoyed our restaurant Swing Bar. Great to hear that your will book again. We hope to see you again in the near future and thank you again for taking your time to provide feedback of our business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I stayed there for 4 nights. Rich beach resort occupies two sides of a little street and is haphazardly crammed between other businesses. A random collaboration of art and architecture give the resort a fun kistche vibe. The location is perfect, right on a beautiful beach and a short walk from bars and restaurants. Our room was quite clean and in good repair. The staff were very nice, helpful and spoke relatively good English. Food and drinks at the beach bar were a little expensive so I would recommend walking down town for your eating and drinking needs. Rich Resort was a great bargain for the price, although I would advise adding air conditioning as the room did not breath at all (you can have the air con turned on for an extra 200bht a night). I would stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Esther M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
We appreciate your opinion of our service and product. Thank you for taking your time to review our hotel. It is nice to know that your room was clean and in good repair. We have just finished upgrades to all the rooms including new paint and fixtures. Also lovely to here that you found the location to be good and our staff helpful. They do their best to make check in and check out as quick as possible and can help you book your tours, motorbikes, cars, transfers etc.

We offer the fan room because it provides a lower priced room for guests to book. Our motto is "affordable beachside accommodation" and we try to provide this. Yes for some people the climate in Thailand is too hot. We have many people stay in our fan rooms with no problem. It is our most popular room type because of its price. We offer air conditioned rooms also and guests are always welcome to upgrade to an air conditioned room dependent on availability. Your advice is good advice to upgrade to the A/C room when it is humid season if it is within the guest's budget.
Thanks a lot again for your review and great to hear that you would stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I satyed 4 days in this hotel on 22/5/2014-26/5/2014.near to the beach,night life,restaurants and everything but quiet.this hotel also own a bar which is swing bar.its very special and the foods they make are excelent.all the staffs in this hotel are friendly and helpfull.i feel very comfortable during my stay in this hotel.will stay again when i go back to samui.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gurpal9838
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 5 June 2014
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Very good to hear that you found the staff friendly and the location good. Also excellent to know that you enjoyed the food and service in our bar Swing Bar. Thank you for your compliments and thanks again for giving us your feedback of our business. Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for six nights (booked in advance) as our first hotel in koh samui, looking at all the good reviews I believed we were in for a comfortable stay, however we found quite the opposite. The pictures and descriptions of the rooms are deceiving, having no air conditioning it was near impossible to sleep!
I thought I should also mention that the water from the taps and shower smell like sewage, we complained to the staff who simply said there was no water left. Meaning we had been showering in re used water!
The smell from the loo was also disgusting, in the middle of the night all the water gets cut off and we couldn't even brush our teeth or flush the loo.
The safe in the rooms are extremely untrustworthy.
I can evidently say I will not nor recommend this hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Bella R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Hello and thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. Sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your stay. In regards to our photos online we specifically had the photographer redo the photos previously showing where everything is in the rooms including the windows to avoid any discrepancies. So the photos are definitely wysiwyg. The only reason the room may not have looked the same as the room type you booked is if you are upgraded to a higher room class in which case you are getting a better room for the same price. This occurs sometimes if we have a double booking of one room type.

The online description of the rooms are correct and the room name or description says directly in it that the room is a fan room or air conditioned room. This is consistent across all of our online agents and on our own website.
We offer the fan room because it provides a lower priced room for guests to book. Our motto is "affordable beachside accommodation" and we try to provide this. Yes for some people the climate in Thailand is too hot. We have many people stay in our fan rooms with no problem. It is our most popular room type because of its price. We offer air conditioned rooms also and guests are always welcome to upgrade to an air conditioned room dependent on availability.

In regards to the water problem, yes you are correct we had an issue with the water system for 1 day where we had to replace the pump to our deep well and had to shut off the water. The water was discolored and had an odor for 1 day due to sediment being churned up in the well due to the installation and priming of the new pump. The water was not "re used" water. We posted notices at reception that this maintenance was occurring and that we were sorry for any inconvenience. This was a 1 day occurrence and unfortunately unavoidable. We are sorry for any guests that were inconvenienced by this as we resolved the issue asap.

Thank you again for your review of our hotel. As an aside, is a bit curious how the majority of negative reviews come from reviewers with only 1 review, whilst the positive reviews mostly come from reviewers with multiple reviews.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 16 May 2014 via mobile

After a couple bad stays on our travels this was a nice change. Budget rooms but they are clean and comfortable. Right near to a beautiful beach and great ocean. The rooms are nothing special but very good for the price. We extended our stay to 1 week and enjoyed every day. The staff are pretty friendly and you can rent mopeds from them if you want. Check out the fire shows on the beach at night...amazing No problems with this place and great price.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Slydogq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RichResort, Guest Relations Manager at Rich Resort Beachside Hotel, responded to this review, 18 May 2014
Thank you for your input and feedback. We appreciate our guests taking the time to review our hotel so we can make any improvements. Nice to see you found the location good. I don't think you will find one review where a guest was disappointed with the location as we are right beside the beach and walking distance to everything in town. Yes our rooms are basic but very affordable. You must have really enjoyed your stay if you extended it...that is great to hear. Also nice to hear that the reception were helpful in arranging your motorbike rental and that you enjoyed the fireshows in our bar Swing Bar. Yes cheap rooms with a great location.
Thanks again for taking your time to review our establishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.3 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
304 reviews
0.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#9 of 50 in Lamai Beach
666 reviews
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#16 of 50 in Lamai Beach
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.4 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#12 of 30 in Mae Nam
410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
201 reviews
7.3 mi away
ibis Samui Bophut
ibis Samui Bophut
#46 of 187 in Bophut
1,519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rich Resort Beachside Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rich Resort Beachside Hotel

Property: Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Address: 109/12 M3 Maret, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Rich Resort Beachside Hotel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel is conveniently located on the central Lamai beach road, close enough to all of Lamai's amenities yet far enough for a nice, quiet relaxing holiday. Located on what many consider to be Koh Samui's most beautiful beach, Rich Resort Beahcside Hotel is within walking distance to all of Lamai's major amenities and conveniences including shops, bars and restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Rich Resort Beachside Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing