We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The worst 500 Baht I spend in Thailand!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Spa Resorts Samui Beach
Ranked #27 of 45 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 December 2012

The Spa used to be an institution. It was THE place to go to detox in Samui. Unfortuantely, it's success has been and gone. Long gone! The service is awful, the view of the beach is more like a view of a fishing boat yard, and the restaurant is NOT health food. They add MSG and sugar to everything, and when they run out of RAW cacao they use Cadbury's drinking chocolate. No joke!

I went to have a aloe vera body wrap for 500 B. I looked on the spa menu, it said it included 15 minutes in the herbal steam room. But the surly, sullen lady on reception said ''10 minutes!'. ''Only 10 minutes!'' No Thai smile here then.

i paid up, and went into the steam room for my measly 10 minutes. It was grotty, filthy, and cold. The window on the door was missing!

I then, was lead to the Sala for my wrap.

The grumpy lady slathered me in Aloe vera, which took all of about 3 minutes, slopping it on without care - jabbing me in the throat once, while she was at it. Then plopped a sarong over me and left me for half an hour.

I lay there trying to relax with the sound of an angle grinder going outside, and a fishing boaat revving it's engine.

Not the most relaxing experience!

This place continues it's downward slide, while the prices continue to rise. It's dirty, and in need of some TLC. Avoid!

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank andrewskin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 2 December 2012

Lovely place. Wanted to go here ever since reading this article in The Guardian http://www.guardian.co.uk/travel/2002/mar/09/restandrelaxation.shopping

Found the resort to be pleasant though the busy road meant that traffic noise was a problem the first time I stayed as my room was on the roadside. I loved the quiet atmosphere within the resort and enjoyed the 7 day fasting programme so much I went back again a second time to do it. The juices are fresh and delicious and the restaurant is fantastic when you are not fasting too.

Great massage available as well as daily free meditation and yoga classes at a charge of 300 baht. Also nice steam room to help with the cleansing. Chemical free pool also on the grounds.

The beach is not fantastic but it's definitely OK. I will return.

Room Tip: Stay in the A-frames and avoid the rooms that back onto the roadside - they are noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2012

The Spa Samui was my first detox experience abroad and Im very glad I did mine here. I knew I wanted to do my detox in KS and was having trouble deciding where to go within a good price range. Was highly recommended to this resort from a few people who enjoyed it greatly. I was very happy with the detox programme and the service. Everyone was very hospitable and staff were always there for you to ask questions of any types, often very proactive in getting involved with the guests as well. I did the full program with the yoga and amphuku massages included and i thought they paired well with the fasting. The restaurant called Radiance offered me a great introduction into more vegan and raw foods which eased me in to the cleanse well and I left with newer ideas to include more fresh foods into my diets. The service was really good, though the rooms are not that fancy, the location really kept its truth in allowing people to really get back to the root of themselves and practise mindfulness and be calm. I would come back again :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alena K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

OK, so a first for me. Detox! I did the "Change My Life" 7 day detox program. Every day I went to a guided meditation, yoga, massage, and sauna. I also drank the shakes, took the supplements, and put 17 liters of coffee water up my bum twice a day. Haha! It was interesting. I met the most amazing people who were doing the exact same thing and we had a lovely time together laughing, laying by the pool and watching movies in the evenings. :) We all bonded and had the best time. I was not hungry at all, but of course by day 8 when I could eat, I honestly could not get enough food. Plus there is this amazing restaurant and I wanted to try all the food. WHEN I go back, I will stay longer before and after the fast to enjoy the restaurant. I also took Graeme's class on Nutrition and really learned a lot. I think if you are going to go here you need to try everything! I also did the "Releasing" with Wayne and have to say it was a very unique experience that I really think helped me a lot. Try it!! I went to "Change My Life" so I tried everything and did a mind, body, spirit cleanse. I think it also helped that I stayed off the computer and phone the whole time too. It did change my life and I will go back. 5 stars...at least!!!

Room Tip: I stayed in a regular room and it was fine. The A frames were really nice too. Either one!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank chipsahoy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Very good salads, extensive menu, fresh juices, fantastic for detox. A must for healthly minded people

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TezzaTivakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I had an amazing time at this resort. It's right on the beach, but at a really quiet spot. There's a lot of wonderful people, a lot of solo (women) travelers. Every morning there's free meditation, each night there are free personal growth seminars (i.e. family constellations, EFT, astrology). There is an amazing organic vegetarian restaurant on site, with lots of raw food options.

The bungalows are basic, but nice. The only down sides are that the bungalows close to the reception are noisy and I heard that the rooms in the hotel are right on the street, and it's hard to sleep there.

You can do a detox / fasting course here, but be ware there is not a whole lot of guidance. Staff is hurried and not very personal, although professional.
It didn't feel very hospitable that the internet and WiFi were so expensive for guests.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Arizonastar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2016
Google Translation

Room Tip: 山側のリゾートは、部屋によって高低差がかなり違うので、部屋のロケーションを確認した方がいいでしょう。レセプション、レストラン、マッサージサラ、ヨガサラ等の往復を考えると毎日、登山位になりますから。
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank riegrace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#13 of 51 in Lamai Beach
569 reviews
0 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
0 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#10 of 51 in Lamai Beach
435 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
726 reviews
0 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
320 reviews
0 mi away
Dharasom's Colonial House
Dharasom's Colonial House
#19 of 1,347 in Bangkok
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Spa Resorts Samui Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Spa Resorts Samui Beach

Address: 171/2 M.3, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Spa Resorts Samui Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Spa Resorts Samui Beach Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing