We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“our home in Koh Samui highly recommended !” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Samui Tonggad Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Samui Tonggad Resort
Ranked #26 of 42 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“our home in Koh Samui highly recommended !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

very clean, great restaurant, peaceful, the staff and the owners are amazing!
will definitely come over and over again! we stayed with our tow kids who'll cherish this place for their life!

Yoss Orit and the kids,

Israel

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank y0ssa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    16
    8
    4
    5
See reviews for
17
24
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago de Compostela, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

We love the food of their restaurant (mixed grilled whith beef chicken and pork), the staff was wonderfull and the music perfect. (Nos encantó la comida, la gente muy amable y la música increíble: baladas rock de todos los tiempos).

Room Tip: Un buen sitio para comer una buena parrillada de carne cuando no te apetezca comida tailandesa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RaulGarciaQuid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Petersburg, Russia
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

I'll never forget my staying at this hotel, because it was absolutely awful!
The sea is shallow and its bottom is strewn with small sharp stones. It was impossible to swim, just to sit in the sea.
They began to issue umbrellas at 11 A.M. only, when one had to leave the beach.
Guests houses are far from the sea shore and one has to climb up the hill under the baking sun.
Landlady is greedy, false and canny. The trick is that she offers an unsuitable room: for example, with separate beds for the spouses and one bed for two girls, and asks for extra pay changing for more expensive one.
Room was very small and poor, with window-to-window and window-staircase view.
The sink was located too high even for my European height, and water was poorly flowing.
Wi-Fi doesn't work at room.
The hotel itself is located far from the main road leading to some place with shops and food.
Breakfasts are all the same, consisting of ham, egg and some cheese, and there is no boiled coffee at all. Hostess was saving even on fruit!
The atmosphere was very unpleasant, and our vacation was spoiled.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alla N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2013

Me and my friend stayed here for 3 nights in may. The resort itself is stunning, the rooms are great an the maids work very hard to keep everywhere tidy. The pool is only small however the amazing beach is next to the pool. The beach side seafood restaurant "uncle rangs" is gorgeous an reasonably priced. All the staff are very friendly and helpful, and can book tours if you ask. Lami beach and shopping area, bars/restaurants is about a 30 minute walk, but the staff will order you a taxi if you do not want to walk. Overall beautiful resort.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jess R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2013 via mobile

We arrived on New Years Eve for a 3 night stay. Overall the resort is average I would say. The Garden View Villas were very nice and modern. Nice bathroom. The villas appear to be brand new. Despite asking for a large bed, we ended up in a villa with 2 singles which we had to push together.

The positives: the rooms were spacious and modern, and clean. Ally is the only member of the staff who really speaks English and she goes out of her way to help you out. The food was delicious.

The negatives: the beach is rather poor I would say. The time we were there was very high tides in the daytime so there was hardly any beach to speak of, and the bay the resort is located in is a bit strange as there are abandoned properties on the Bay with what amounts to rubble in them (pieces of concrete, etc.) which make a walk down the beach a little off-putting. The location of the resort is not ideal. Although it is advertised as being in Lemai it is really not. It is in it's own secluded area which is about a 10 minute taxi to Lemai and 15 minute taxi to Chewang. This ends up being a bit of an ordeal if you want to do any shopping or go out on the town at all. I think it would be fine if you just wanted to chill at the resort but we like a variety of things to do. There was a small pool by the beach which was quite nice, but they only had about 7 lounger chairs at the pool/beach with about 20 guests wanting to sun tan so most people were on towels in the grass. Adding another 10 lounge chairs (at a minimum) would go a long way. In discussions with other guests there were stories of them being asked to move rooms repeatedly during their stays. In one case one couple on their honeymoon told us they were made to move 5 times in 7 days! Another couple also on their honeymoon were moved from the Garden Villa (somewhat close to the beach and restaurant) to the hilltop rooms which are 300 to 500 meters up a hill across the street from the beach and restaurant. I certainly would be quite upset if this had happened to us. The staff is generally not very professional if you are used to most hotels. As noted above Ally and one other staff seem to be the only 2 who speak English well enough to deal with any but the most simple requests/questions and this makes things a bit difficult. Although they clearly try, they just don't seem to get it and are quite discombobulated.

We also had a pretty major ant infestation in our room one night (approximately 30 large ants all over our floor and bed, pillows).

So overall I would have to say I would not stay at this resort again as I believe there are likely others which would be more professionally staffed/run and in a better location.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KeithCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Samui Tonggad Resort, responded to this review, 27 January 2013
First of all I would like to say Thank you very much for such a review. We appreciate your opinion and this might help for us to develop more some of our weaknesses.

Second, let me explain the negatives. As you've said yes, the time that you stayed was super high tide and that was the very first time in our place. Our resort's located in Lamai beach and that is true. And we are thankful that our beach is kind shallow, that helps our location quiet and relaxed atmosphere. Being secluded is an advantage for us as well

Third, our location might not an ideal to those tourist like you that planned and expecting a variety of things to do like shopping, and go down town to buy lots of stuff etc. Mainly, our locations' target clients are those tourist who needs peace that relaxes their mind from bundles of paper works back home. I recommend you next time better get an accommodation along Chaweng Beach and or Bophut area where the crowd of tourist always stay. Three 5 Star hotels near our resort are very thankful as well that our location was secluded and meant for relaxations and peace.

Fourth, we NEVER had a a guest moved 5 times in a different rooms. As per the availability of the rooms, we had guest moved 3 times due to the agency where they booked mismanagement. The guest that you mentioned was supposed to cancel but the agency they booked didn't inform them about our cancellation reason for this several moving about into different rooms. But the guest understands that we are just doing our best to let them just stay in our resort rather not to accept them even we already cancelled their booking. We did as well find another place for them but everywhere is fully booked.

Those other couple that moved twice was informed due to staying in Villa
Garden view as our gift to them to welcome for their honeymoon. The said couple was booked STANDARD ROOM not VILLA GARDEN VIEW it was a FREE UPGRADE for their first night. But after few days they decided to UPGRADE their stay back to Villa garden view, and that is their choice to move back near the beach from the hill side (where the standard rooms located). We can't just ignore such bookings easily on that time reason that it was a PEAK SEASON. All resorts's was totally fully booked everywhere.

About the ants that you mentioned, First, it is your responsibility to tell us know immediately to assist you, why you never let me know about this? Actually those insects are everywhere during rainy seasons to let you know about that. But we can't chase them away that easily as we are in the island where this kind of insects lives on the ground (soil). Secondly, ants might have any food smell inside your room . Otherwise they will never get in if you maintain your room clean without any smells from the food.

Hope you clearly understand the situation now, The said dates during your stay, our resort been fully booked for 2 weeks already extending until right now which is still a high Season. Our resort is not a 5 star hotel as you can see , wherein not all your expectations will be granted. But we as a staff we indeed trying our best to make our guests happy and at ease with us.

By the way, we really do appreciate your opinions and comments.
Thank you very much!


- Ms. Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chubu Area, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

-I think that the sea can be seen depending on the room. Since the site is large, it is a distance splendid to the sea.
-All the staff is smiling faces.
-Although told between the airplane arrival time, when we arrived at here from airport, the front is closed, and nobody was, the driver went to find staff.
-I think that it cares mutually since a meal space is in the same place as a receptionist.
-Although he spent 3.5 nights, I think that it probably is not once exchanged since there has been the same stain as a sheet and cover.
-Although there were two face towels on the day which reached, they decreased in number to one sheet from the next day.
-When I was showering, hot water had stoped suddenly, I poured mineral water.
Then I claimed later, it's for cleaning a water pipe for a week.
But there was no notification of audit. Next time twisting water tap, brown water came out. I'm good the water no having on my head.
-No stock tissue and toilet roll, these become less insufficient every day.
-Inconvenient if no rental motorbike for the hotel located distant from the town.
-Asking the charge of the motorbike rental by e-mail before going, the answer that 250Bh/day if 3 days rental although the original charge is 300Bh/day. But I rent directly 200Bh/day after arrive.
-I know that motorbike rental fee cheaper in town than hotel, but I rent here because I think hotel will do maintaining perfectly.
But cellmotor broken 3rd day, and hotel staff said that paying repair fee to me.
When he asked, "Did you maintain before lent?", "Although not, it is common and repair fee about 200Bh."
Although I claimed to managing director, but after all, I paid 290Bh of the half of the bill 580Bh. Was it really half the sum? It is doubtful.
It's strange that customer will be paid repair fee for motorbike which has not maintained.
-Although Building is newly, but no description of room facility. It's not understand even which TV channel is broadcast.
I thought that it was dangerous handling of the hot-water supply machine for foreigner.
-If it goes to a reception to hear an access code, Wifi can be used in the room. In our room, it was 11-38Mbps.
-Hotel restaurant is in reception, no door, no partitioning screen.
-Since an owner's house is just in front of a reception, it may be convenient one, but there is a life view.
-I thought this hotel have no professional staff, also including owner's wife, managing director.

Room Tip: For a family travel or narrow active range people. The sea view is depending on the room, a prior ch...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank reooone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Samui Tonggad Resort, responded to this review, 20 October 2012
We do still appreciate your review though. Since we have the opportunity to response into this kind of comments, we would like to explain our part that might let you understand at this time the situation well.

First, about our 'entrance', we have two entrance, the first gate that is shut down that you've said was located where our new villa garden is. We shut it down after 21:00hr. for the sake of those our tenants staying with us. The second entrance is open wide to the public as they can still access the beach at night during closed time. The time that you arrived Mrs. Haruko Yamano with your husband, we're still there. You arrived past 22:00hr. You're still lucky that night because we do really care about for our guests and customers when it comes to late check-in. That moment a minute before you arrived we supposed to contact the booking online where you booked in, but then luckily you showed up. Normally our guests who planned to arrived late always informing us. But in your case we doesn't matter at all. And we always have one person standby if we have late check-in. We do send you to the room properly and carry your luggage though and wished you a good sleep then. Hope you still remember.

Second, 'the water'. Yes, we are claiming that we reset the water supply for just about 30 mins, long whilst your staying with us, for the sake of our customers consuming the water. But WE NEVER had pipe cleaning for a week. That is impossible to execute in our hotel, just wondering who ever told and spoke to you in english about this matter. And also, we are just located in island, wherein water is not that accessible sometimes, we are not in mainland. Koh Samui water supply is about to await for the rainy season to produce more safe water for the people of KOH SAMUI. That's why we used to buy water outside to support our guests water needs and change sometimes.

Third thing, 'the motorbike'. At first I certainly haven't received any e-mail from you as regards to the motorbike renting, you discussed above, and even asking queries regarding to the resort's information and even informing us that you will check-in late no. Second, about the motorbike rates, it is always depends on what kind of motorbike you want to rent. And it is normal that once you rent the motorbike, you're responsible to whatever going to happen to you and to the motorbike, wherein you confirmed and accepted that you understand the rules, We do also asked you that renting a motorbike in Koh Samui never had an insurance, better yet rent a car to have it. As well as the day that you came in to ask our assistance for the motorbike, that was your third day renting it. That is the normal rules here in Koh Samui wherever you go. Hope you do understand that we never do over pricing to our guest, as you've seen we showed the repair receipt to you wherein we just let you pay for ONLY 50%. But seems you still not that happy though.

About our restaurant, the place that you're saying is our area for breakfast for the guest, but our restaurant is located right on the beach, where you always passed when you go to the swimming pool isn't it? But you never try to taste any of our menu.

Nevertheless, the problem i think is the communication barrier, as we always talked in person but sometimes you don't even understand what really i am saying. Well maybe, that's the reason why you've said we're unprofessional??
>>>
Once again, thank you very much for this such a review. hope that on your next destination, try to understand and read it's websites to know them better before you go.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2012

We had a lovely time at this resort. The management and staff are so friendly and helpful and always smiling. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Bar and restaurant is right on the beach. We had the best time there and would definitely go back again. Excellent value for money. Laid back, informal, quiet and relaxing which is just what we wanted, but just a short taxi ride to main town and all the night life and street markets and shopping you need. They also offer reliable airport transfers cheaper than local taxi firms. Loved it there. Felt like we were leaving friends when we came home. Think perfect way to sum it up is we wished we could have stayed longer!

Room Tip: Speak to Ali, such a helpful guest relations manager. Some rooms are a little walk away from the bar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Samui Tonggad Resort, responded to this review, 25 September 2012
Thank you Mr. David for such a wonderful memories we had with your family. You're such a good husband and a father to your children. What a perfect and happy family you are.

Thank you as well for these lovely words. It's our pleasure to accept it.
Hope to see you again next time. You will be much welcome to stay with us again.

See you soon then.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.7 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#28 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
1.2 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
0.0 mi away
Palm Coco Mantra
Palm Coco Mantra
#1 of 42 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lamai Bay View Resort
Lamai Bay View Resort
#17 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
0.5 mi away
Grand Manita Beach Resort
1.5 mi away
Coconut Beach Resort
Coconut Beach Resort
#10 of 42 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Tonggad Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Tonggad Resort

Property: Samui Tonggad Resort
Address: 99 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Tonggad Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on a private beach, Samui Tonggad Resort offers sea-view accommodation, with flat-screen satellite TVs. Featuring an outdoor pool, restaurant and spa, the resort is a 30-minute drive from Samui Airport. Located on a hill, rooms enjoy panoramic views just 100m away from the beach and restaurant. New Villa garden view comes with a personal safe and tea/coffee maker. Relaxing massages and spa facilities lets guests unwind at Samui Tonggad. Bookings and motorbike rentals can be made at the tour counter. Traditional Thai dishes are served at Uncle Rang Restaurant, which has an outdoor terrace where everyone can enjoy the sea breeze. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Booking.com so you can book your Samui Tonggad Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Tonggad Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing