We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunrise Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Bungalow
Ranked #40 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 January 2013

After reading so many good reviews about this place we were quite disappointed once we had arrived. For the price you pay (950 baht per night) for a concrete bungalow you would expect to have cable tv, air con, hot water from the shower and a kettle, but sadly our room lacked all of these basic amenities. The beach is right in front of the hotel grounds and is served with 5 or 6 sun loungers so not really enough for all of the guests should they all choose to sunbathe at once. There is however a patch of shade under nearby trees where you can setup a towel but for the price we paid we shouldn't have had to do this. Although the owner didn't engage in much conversation with us (which is fine) she seemed friendly with others...perhaps they were her regulars and it has to be said this place seems to draw a particular crowd of what seem to be repeat visitors, but that's just our humble opinion. The bungalows are located at the end of the beach which is a small positive as they are away from the main crowd, however it's a good 20 minute walk via road into Lamai town centre or 10 mins along the sand. Food in the restaurant was actually good despite being overpriced...same dishes can be found in town for less. Tip: try the local night market where a meal for two will cost less than 200baht and is extremely tasty.

After looking around Lamai we found that you can get much better value for money closer to the town - for the same price and also on the beach so worth checking their first.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jetsetters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    16
    7
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
23
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed in the stone bungalows with a fan and hot shower. It was a good size room and situated in a beautiful garden. The location is absolutely amazing. Right on your doorstep is the beach and you are at the end of it so there are not as many people. The gym there does the trick, but it is very minimal and not everything works properly. Our hot shower didn't work the first two days, but the staff were really good about trying to repair it. We did get hot water on our last day. I imagine this is because it is the slow season. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KssndrKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deutschland
Level Contributor
69 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed three nights in a basic fan bungalow right at the beach (550 B per night) and really enjoyed our stay!
If you want to escape the loud Lamai Main Beach, this will be the right place to stay for you! It is in the south corner of Lamai Beach near the "grandfather and grandmother rocks".
Our room was clean and the room was big.
The food at the restaurant is delicious - we ate there every day!
The owner (a woman) is the most friendly and helpful person we met on our Thailand trip. She organised everything: our trip to Ang Thong and our way (ferry, bus, train) back to Bangkok! The rest of the stuff is very nice, too.
So go there, relax and enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gecko1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 September 2012

My Girlfriend and I hadn't booked anywhere before arriving on Ko Samui but had picked a couple of options from lonely planet. Our first was Sunrise so we asked the taxi to drop us off here. When we arrived we walked down the lovely garden steps, past the pond and water fountain, down by the gym and spa and into the restaurant/reception which looked over a secluded section of lovely beach.
The owner was lovely an freindly, got us set up in a room in minuets. we were there (or as the owner said 'stuck here') for 5 nights, and few places I would want to be stuck more.
Whilst I was there I had my phone stolen. Although the computer at sunrise was 'kaput' the Owner let me use her mobile phone to search for the relevant numbers I needed to call and even made phonecalls for me using her daughters mobile. She went far and beyond the call of duty for us and Im sure she would do the same for any of her guests.
The food at Sunrise was also very good. we ate there most days and enjoyed all our meals.

Couldnt reccomend this place more!!!! As the other reviewers have said, a perfect place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Lamai Beach and Chaweng but still not far away not to be able to get there quickly and relativley cheaply.

Room Tip: Rooms are Priced accordingly. But the gardens bungalows arent much different to the ones closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jchappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cairns, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here for a week and the owner made the stay for us. She came up to us the first night, just for a chat and made us feel very welcome. She was very helpful and willing to do anything to make our stay on island better (even taking us with her to markets and cooking a big banquet up of fresh fish for my family who were also on the island). The rest of the of the staff are also very friendly, attentive and always smiling. The place is kept really tidy and the gardens are beautiful.

You're right on the beach too, and not amongst all the other bigger resorts, meaning you don't get hassled anywhere near as much to buy things, as you do in Chaweng or North Lamai beaches.

Food here was great too!! And they make a great piña colada.

Range of rooms to suit different budgets; we only stayed in a cheaper one (no a/c) but we had our own bathroom and cleaning regularly. Was great for our budget.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NatCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 July 2012

Sunrise Bungalows is far away from the loud action, but not a far walk either. The bungalows were cute, and the grounds were lovely. Beach location also great! They have a spa and a massage on the beach option (I had a massage on the beach- nice) and also a gym.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SusanaLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, UK
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed at Sunrise Bungalows on Lamai Beach for 5 nights at the end of our 3 week Thailand holiday. It was so relaxing and the perfect way to end our trip!
We arrived a day earlier than we had originally booked, and after travelling all day had our fingers crossed that they would have at least 1 room available that night until ours was ready the next day. Fortunately, the room we had originally booked was available, although not ready, so they quickly tidied it and we checked in within a few minutes of arriving. We stayed in Bungalow 203. It was great value for money! The bunglaow was not directly on the beach but very close, and had lovely views of the sea through the beautiful resort gardens. The room itself was very spacious, with two wardrobes, a fridge and a large bathroom with hot water. The rooms were cleaned every day and the bed was quite comfortable. Our bungalow also had a veranda where we could sit with a cold Chang at the end of the day, watching and listening to the sea
The resort is located at a quiet end of Lamai Beach, right by grandmother and grandfather rocks, so not a lot of foot traffic and away from the 'action', which made it super relaxing. But it also isn't far from Lamai centre so easy to get (10-15 min on foot or about 100 Bhat by taxi) to the action if you want to.
The beach itself is quite hard sand but once you're in the water the sand is pretty smooth, and it was great for swimming.
We ate breakfast everyday at the Sunrise restaurant, but ate most of our other meals at other places in Lamai or Chaweng. What we did eat at Sunrise we very much enjoyed, and the staff are so friendly and helpful...probably the best out of all the places we stayed at while in Thailand.
Sunrise has a fitness bungalow, with weights and other various exercise eqiupment, which we did not use but it looked pretty nice. They also have their own Thai massage place right on the beach which I thoroughly recommend.
We organised our transfer to the airport through Sunrise, which I also recommend.

I don't think you'll be disappointed if you stay at Sunrise Bungalow!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tan_gerine77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.0 mi away
Sukasem Bungalows
Sukasem Bungalows
#48 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.0 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
0.2 mi away
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Samui Sense Beach Resort
#27 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 197 reviews
0.0 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Utopia Resort
Utopia Resort
#25 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
0.2 mi away
Magic Resort
Magic Resort
#39 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Bungalow

Property: Sunrise Bungalow
Address: 126/2 Moo 3 Maret Koh Samui Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#18 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#25 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunrise Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Bungalow Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing