We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Basic but great atmosphere”
Review of Sunrise Bungalow

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunrise Bungalow
Ranked #41 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Reviewed 3 April 2013

I recently stayed at Sunrise Bungalows with 4 of my friends. We rented the basic bungalows and it is very basic. The room has a double bed and private bathroom. My room was not even 100m from the sea and you could hear the waves early in the morning. The owner went out of her way to make our stay comfortable. We ate most meals at the restaurant and the food was delicious! We rented scooters and a Jeep and again she helped us. She even helped us to organize flights back to Bangkok. There are more expensive and luxurious bangalows. The bungalows are set in a beautiful garden and the view early morning was stunning.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 19 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2013

Its a nice hotel if they try little harder.it needs a bit uplifting .It can do with new towels.a hair dryer, shampoo & soup in the bathroom.There is no umbrella to seat under.The staff are really nice and helpful.The location is good. The see always have big tides. food is ok clean ,very normal nothing too exiting.

Room Tip: We had air con and made our life much easier
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anoosheh A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2013

After reading so many good reviews about this place we were quite disappointed once we had arrived. For the price you pay (950 baht per night) for a concrete bungalow you would expect to have cable tv, air con, hot water from the shower and a kettle, but sadly our room lacked all of these basic amenities. The beach is right in front of the hotel grounds and is served with 5 or 6 sun loungers so not really enough for all of the guests should they all choose to sunbathe at once. There is however a patch of shade under nearby trees where you can setup a towel but for the price we paid we shouldn't have had to do this. Although the owner didn't engage in much conversation with us (which is fine) she seemed friendly with others...perhaps they were her regulars and it has to be said this place seems to draw a particular crowd of what seem to be repeat visitors, but that's just our humble opinion. The bungalows are located at the end of the beach which is a small positive as they are away from the main crowd, however it's a good 20 minute walk via road into Lamai town centre or 10 mins along the sand. Food in the restaurant was actually good despite being overpriced...same dishes can be found in town for less. Tip: try the local night market where a meal for two will cost less than 200baht and is extremely tasty.

After looking around Lamai we found that you can get much better value for money closer to the town - for the same price and also on the beach so worth checking their first.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jetsetters11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 November 2012

We stayed in the stone bungalows with a fan and hot shower. It was a good size room and situated in a beautiful garden. The location is absolutely amazing. Right on your doorstep is the beach and you are at the end of it so there are not as many people. The gym there does the trick, but it is very minimal and not everything works properly. Our hot shower didn't work the first two days, but the staff were really good about trying to repair it. We did get hot water on our last day. I imagine this is because it is the slow season. Overall we enjoyed our stay here.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KssndrKt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2012

We stayed three nights in a basic fan bungalow right at the beach (550 B per night) and really enjoyed our stay!
If you want to escape the loud Lamai Main Beach, this will be the right place to stay for you! It is in the south corner of Lamai Beach near the "grandfather and grandmother rocks".
Our room was clean and the room was big.
The food at the restaurant is delicious - we ate there every day!
The owner (a woman) is the most friendly and helpful person we met on our Thailand trip. She organised everything: our trip to Ang Thong and our way (ferry, bus, train) back to Bangkok! The rest of the stuff is very nice, too.
So go there, relax and enjoy your stay :)

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gecko1105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

My Girlfriend and I hadn't booked anywhere before arriving on Ko Samui but had picked a couple of options from lonely planet. Our first was Sunrise so we asked the taxi to drop us off here. When we arrived we walked down the lovely garden steps, past the pond and water fountain, down by the gym and spa and into the restaurant/reception which looked over a secluded section of lovely beach.
The owner was lovely an freindly, got us set up in a room in minuets. we were there (or as the owner said 'stuck here') for 5 nights, and few places I would want to be stuck more.
Whilst I was there I had my phone stolen. Although the computer at sunrise was 'kaput' the Owner let me use her mobile phone to search for the relevant numbers I needed to call and even made phonecalls for me using her daughters mobile. She went far and beyond the call of duty for us and Im sure she would do the same for any of her guests.
The food at Sunrise was also very good. we ate there most days and enjoyed all our meals.

Couldnt reccomend this place more!!!! As the other reviewers have said, a perfect place to relax away from the hustle and bustle of Lamai Beach and Chaweng but still not far away not to be able to get there quickly and relativley cheaply.

Room Tip: Rooms are Priced accordingly. But the gardens bungalows arent much different to the ones closer to t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jchappers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2012

We stayed here for a week and the owner made the stay for us. She came up to us the first night, just for a chat and made us feel very welcome. She was very helpful and willing to do anything to make our stay on island better (even taking us with her to markets and cooking a big banquet up of fresh fish for my family who were also on the island). The rest of the of the staff are also very friendly, attentive and always smiling. The place is kept really tidy and the gardens are beautiful.

You're right on the beach too, and not amongst all the other bigger resorts, meaning you don't get hassled anywhere near as much to buy things, as you do in Chaweng or North Lamai beaches.

Food here was great too!! And they make a great piña colada.

Range of rooms to suit different budgets; we only stayed in a cheaper one (no a/c) but we had our own bathroom and cleaning regularly. Was great for our budget.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank NatCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.8 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
448 reviews
9.6 mi away
Harry's Bungalows & Restaurant
1.7 mi away
Chaulty Towers
Chaulty Towers
#15 of 51 in Lamai Beach
249 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Blu' Beach Bungalows
Blu' Beach Bungalows
#25 of 51 in Lamai Beach
50 reviews
0.4 mi away
Siva Buri Resort
Siva Buri Resort
#38 of 51 in Lamai Beach
24 reviews
0.7 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#34 of 51 in Lamai Beach
76 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Bungalow

Address: 126/2 Moo 3 Maret Koh Samui Suratthani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#17 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £15 - £76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sunrise Bungalow 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Sunrise Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Bungalow Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing