We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great, relaxing stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
NYC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great, relaxing stay!”
Reviewed 26 February 2012

We were very excited for this 4 day hotel stay based on online pics and reviews--Le Meridien Ko Samui did not disappoint. Hotel entry way and open-air lobby were very impressive and we immediately felt relaxed. B/c of SPG status, we were upgraded from standard Verandah Suite to our choice of Plunge Pool Suite or Terrace Suite, however, since we arrived early, neither room was ready which was fine as we were able to relax beach/poolside with welcome drinks.

We opted for Terrace Suite as it provided more light and space. Room was amazingly decorated--attention to detail was impressive. Bed was extremely comfortable providing restful night of sleep. Bathroom sink/vanity are was beautifully decorated and bath/soap amenities were nice. Although toilet, tub and shower is in outdoor area, it was fine as we didn't really have a problem with mosquitoes as other reviewers had mentioned and we rather liked this unique layout. NOTE: Our room (3202) overlooked the pool access suites--there were a few nights that guests utilized the pool late at night after some drinks it sounded, and were rather loud. We informed the front desk and they addressed problem right away, so wasn't a huge issue...but just be aware if you are a light sleeper like I am.

Pool is amazing--very clean, large, and provides a magnificent view of the beach and unique pier. Pool staff was attentive, serving us drinks and food poolside with no problem. Poolside lounge chairs and salas were plentiful, we never had a difficult time obtaining a spot. This area of Lamai beach has a shallow shoreline, but still nice for wading in the water when high-tide is in. You can walk to other beach areas along the shore in Lamai as well as Grandfather/grandmother rocks which are nice walk from Le Meridien. The hotel also has a very unique floating pier that is very peaceful especially in the morning when the water is calm and and sun is rising!

Overall, would highly recommend this hotel for relaxing stay for couples looking for quiet getaway! Staff is very friendly and attentive, grounds and rooms are kept immaculately clean.

ps. Le Spa was great! We booked last minute couples treatment and did not regret it!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bootowork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear bootowork,

We are glad to learn that you were immediately impressed with the property upon arrival at the hotel and felt quickly at ease. Regretfully, the room was not available right away and we appreciate your patience in waiting by the poolside!

The Terrace Suites are indeed special but more importantly it is good to know that you were able to rest well although we apologize for the some of the external noise from other guests.

It sounds like you had the opportunity to explore the area around our hotel. Lamai beach is one of the more quiet and peaceful beaches on the island so great for walks as you had experienced upon low tides.

Thank you for your support in recommending Le Meridien Koh Samui and we hope to welcome you back to the island!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

917 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    549
    230
    90
    30
    18
See reviews for
146
534
43
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2012

Just returned yesterday from Le Meridien Koh Samui and had a wonderful experience which we wanted to share with everybody. The property is managed by a lovely lady Tina Liu who entrusts with confidence her guests to a truly professional ladies and gentlemen.

I would say 85% of the guests are there on vacation but they also have some corporate travellers. The arrival experience is lovely especially if you come after sunset as the arrival path is cleverly lit and they have their own scent with is inviting and homely.

Mr Witt met us at the airport and after a long journey there is cold towels and water and great music in the car which takes about 20 minutes.

The reception team, hotel shop and Latitude 9 bar surround a shallow pool with twinkling lights and lanterns which gives you a sense being in Thailand. The smiles of the Thai people are famous and you will not be disappointed here either.

We booked a plunge pool room which was nice, not huge but well designed with outside shower and pool, well equipped bedroom with good A/C and a sitting room which opens to the gardens with fan, sofa, mini bar and coffee facilities.

Make sure you go to Latitude 9 bar for the lantern ceremony which takes place at 19.19pm each nice. It is a lovely touch and you are invited to join other guests to launch lanterns into the sky. Breakfast is very varied and served outdoors and overlooking the sea.

No need to worry about lunch as there is no limit to the amount you can have and chefs on hand to cook eggs for you. This is also where dinner is served and sorry it was not busier as it was as good as some of the alternative local restaurants. Other musts are Dr Frogs, Tawaan at the Renaissance Hotel, Zazen, The Cliff, New Hut (cheapest lunch venue on the beach) Zicos (Brazilian barbi) and Rice. Italian seems to be the popular choice of restaurants here at present but all have Thai foods if you wish. During the day Pui and Pla will look after you by the pool and there are lots of snacks and goodies to sample.

Went to the W Hotel for drinks one night which was good but expensive for what it was.Try the Fisherman's Market on Fridays at Bo Phut which was fun and tasty snacks line the streets. We made some great friends with the staff at this resort and were genuinely sad to leave and will certainly return.

Thank you Le Meridien Koh Samui.

Howard and Guy

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank howard59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear howard59,

Thank you for your comprehensive post which gave a great overview of your experiences here at the hotel and around Koh Samui island in general. We appreciate that you noticed the small details from our custom artwork along the cobblestone path in parallel with the arrival art by LM100 artist Hisham Bharoocha and the LM01 signature scent, designed to evoke a sense of comfort and home.

The "Celerbation of the Day" ritual in particular is not to be missed and we are glad that you were able to enjoy that with us each night as well.

Your recognition of Pui and Pla has not gone unnoticed and it is good to know that they contributed to relaxing days by the pool.

I am sure that they, along with the rest of the Le Meridien team, are very much looking forward to having you back in the near future!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I recently spent three days at Le Meridien Koh Samui and found the whole experience absolutely average and the level of service barely acceptable. The hotel features some amazing design aspects and absolutely love the sense of arrival. My room was dark with way too many curtains (this would be hell for someone allergic to dust I was thinking!), a completely useless enclosed verandah with no air con and the bathroom ,although well designed, features a freezing cold plunge pool that has again no use. The restaurant was again average and room service rather disappointing. It was no news to me that the beach is not swimmable but again I could not see the point of the enormous plastic floating jetty. Finally, the massage I had at the spa was again very average and the treatment room dark. A very very average experience that does not make me want to come back.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nevius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear Nevius,

Further to our discussion following this post, I'd like to apologize to you once again for a stay that obviously didn't impress.

The resort design seems to have drawn mixed feelings but the service level experienced is not acceptable and the team will certainly work on improving this together with priority.

As for our suites, we have different options available that might better suit your needs. Two alternatives for example would be the Terrace Suite which offers a large outdoor balcony and more light. Our Pool Acess Suites on the other hand allows for immediate access in to an outdoor semi private pool from the convenience of your outdoor terrace. Should you opt for even more space, we have 2 villa types to choose from as well.

As discussed, please do allow us another opportunity to demonstrate a much better than average stay experience on a future visit and we look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

I am not sure why this place has received some bad reviews. I can understand if there is the occassional issue with staff as this hotel has not been open long so many of the staff may still be in training. We stayed here at the very end of our trip and it was a pleasant surprise. We arrived very depressed as we had just left a wonderful spot in Koh Tao and we did not want to leave. But all good holidays must end right? So when we arrived we were greeted with smiles and kindness that instantly perked up our spirits. Also, when you enter the resort you realise it has definitely been built around the element water which I find incredibly relaxing. I found the resort grounds very peaceful and I look forward to returning one day as anyone can find some zen at this place.

We were upgraded to a bigger room which was a welcome surprise. I did get a chance to see their "standard" room and this would have been fine as well. I found both room types lovely. They have all the accomodations one would need on a holiday. The outdoor/indoor bathrooms were light, airy and immaculately clean. The bed was SUPER COMFY. It was like sleeping in a cloud.

The menu choices at the restaurant and spa were abundant and we loved every dish we tried. I have to say I have stayed at many Le Meridiens over the years and the massages at each one are brilliant...so be sure to try one!

Overall this is a great spot to choose for your next holiday. I can say I am looking forward to returning very soon! Thanks for a great end to my holiday!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vs2008vs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear alvs08,

We are happy to learn that upon arriving at the resort, you were immediately impressed with our welcome, the ambiance and your room+facilities! First impressions and the arrival experience in particular can certainly set the tone for rest of stay so it is good to know that you were properly received!

Feng Shui influences had a profound influence on the resorts design and construction so we are glad that the harmonious surroundings were felt during your stay.

We definitely look forward to welcoming you back for another relaxing holiday and hopefully soon!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Almost shaking as I write this on day 7 of 9 day stay. What a disappointment! Where do I start? We arrived at 9 pm to a less than warm check-in where my Platinum status was questioned, then doubted. I was asked to show card (new cards don't come out till March. Don't they know that?) Another staff member interceded and saw that I was indeed PLATINUM. We were shown to room (Verandah suite) which was so dark and small with no real balcony or view. We expressed our disappointment and they said hotel was full but they would try to upgrade us later in our stay. They would however comp breakfast. Next morning after finishing breakfast we were leaving when we got chased down with a bill. I said I was platinum but they insisted we sign the bill. Then I went to the front desk to ask for the manager who was SO sorry and full of promises to make it better. Never heard from her again or saw her. Not once did she check back to see if things had improved. So we tried to make the best of our dark depressing room.....unless we happened to be there between 5:15 and 6 every night when the cleaning staff showed up to do the room followed 15 minutes after finishing by the turn down service! Seriously? That's the ONLY time you really need want to be in the room. It is now 5:30 and we want to take a shower and relax but can't. Zero privacy. I guess they prioritize the large pool suites and do the bottom tier rooms last. Finally just the little things. They said we would get 2 free drinks at the bar every day, but that never happened. We got a bill each time. Honestly I don't mind paying for drinks but don't promise what you don't deliver. Make the system work. Finally, the service at breakfast. Grumpy and passive. No smiles. Out of croissants at 7:15. Asked repeatedly for a replenish and waited another half hour before giving up. Cereal selection stupifyingly limited. Just not good for us here. Bad first impression and never got better. Big Kudos though to Pla at the pool who couldn't have been more gracious and accommodating. She's the best of the bunch. BTW we came from the Le Meridien in Siem Reap Cambodia and the experience was the polar opposite. Total Platinum welcome experience and non-stop genuine smiles. OK that's it. It's 5:45 and still no sign of housekeeping. This really sucks! Never again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank tim c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 March 2012
Dear tim c,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience while staying at Le Meridien Koh Samui and we regret to learn that your visit resulted in a series of negative events.

Fortunately, we were able to catch up before you departed in order to clarify some of the incidents. Once again, we apologize for the late servicing of your room as there was a misunderstaning that you wished to have it at that time on a daily basis which is why are attendants intentionally showed up at approximately the same time period throughout your stay until clarified after we spoke. As for the other issues, unfortunately, our reservation details upon arrival had your SPG Gold status still recorded before it was recently changed to Platinum (congratulations by the way) so our associates were trying to clarify the matter and without later recording the new status properly, this resulted in a series of other events in which you were not properly recognized. We apologize for the inconveniences caused and have already briefed the team on this incident and hopefully, some of the rectifications made improved your last few days here. Moreover, we do hope that you will reconsider returning to give us another try as discussed.

If there is anything I can do to personally assist with your reservation, please let me know.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2012

The entire Le Meridien experience from being picked up at Bo Phut pier to checking out simply highlighted the amazing service which we received.

From our pick up at Bo Phut we were provided a lovely car and chilled water when in the car. When we arrived at the entrance to the hotel the driver radioed someone else who came and met us, then escorted us to someone else who was waiting (it's an incredible reception area) to check us in. The staff took care of all the details while we relaxed with a cool flannel and gorgeous drink. With the checking in done, we were then shown around the grounds and to our room...and wow!

Our room was literally a self contained villa with its own private pool, decked area all the way around it, some comfy sofas in one corner and the outside bath and rain shower were awesome. It was idyllic.

The service at the hotel was brilliant, everyone consistently friendly and open to helping you anyway that they can and with a smile.

There's a lot more to this hotel than some of the reviewers on here have said and I would recommend this hotel to anyone I know travelling in the area. I believe the hotel manager/general manager (Tina) said goodbye to us when we were checking out who was gracious and took time to ask what our plans were etc and explained some of the offers that they have with Le Meridien chain.

This brand was ace and I would absolutely stay at others based on this wonderful experience!

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cjhmasters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Cjhmasters,

Thank you for sharing a detailed review of your experience at Le Meridien Koh Samui!

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed your Pavillion Pool Villa and your overall stay at the hotel in general. While it is good to know that you will stay at other Le Meridien hotels based on this experience, we hope you will return to our property in particular. If you liked our Pool Pavilion Villa, please consider giving the Ocean Front Pool Villa a try as well. Now that will really be a WOW experience! We are currently running some great value offers for our Villa rooms.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

It was amazing hotel- great service, great staff, great pool area and pier, great food, had a very nice room with a massive bathtub :)
only minus: there were a lot of people reserving the beds with towels in the morning before going to have breakfast, but showing up only after 3 themself. It was pitty for people who really wanted to enjoy day staying by the pool all day long

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kristinaili
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 1 March 2012
Dear Kristinaili,

We are happy to learn that you enjoyed the service and facilities of hotel all around.

We certainly do not encourage guests to reserve daybeds and will do our utmost to try and better monitor the situation in the future. Hopefully, it did not prevent you from getting a sunbed while here as usually, there are many available for guests. Perhaps next time you might also want to consider our Pool Access Suites which surround a semi-private pool so you can dip right in from the comfort of your own outdoor terrace. We actaully have 3 of these pools in addition to the main swimming pool.

Please do come for a return visit as we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,353 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,556 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing