We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous Surroundings, Friendly Staff and Amazing Pool Access Room”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in a Pool Access Room in August 2012 for 6 nights using a pay 2 stay 3 night deal via Le Meridien's website. We really enjoyed our stay and we especially liked our room; the pool access room was really special. To us it was nicer than a private plunge pool as you could actually swim as opposed to just get wet. It was quite large and very under-utilised so each time we swam in it we were the only ones there. Morning swims before breakfast were our favourite! The room decor was beautiful with a bit of a Sino-Portuguese feel. Our only problem with the room was the mozzies. There is an open air bathroom (separated to the airconditioned bedroom by a door which you keep shut) which let mozzies in, however each day housekeeping came with citronella, mozzie coils and mozzie zappers to kill them before they did any harm so it wasn't too much of an issue.

Housekeeping was a little slow, one day they didn't come until 5pm and a couple of days around 3pm. We complained and then they came quickly but you don't really expect to have to complain when its a reputable hotel. The towels also need to be thrown out - they are worn out and thin. One was even fraying at the end which was really unacceptable. We complained and they were changed straight away. But again, this is pretty obvious and just seemed like blatant cost cutting - if the towel looks old, thin and threadbare throw it out!

The hotel surrounds are pretty with nice architecture and nice tropical plants. The hotel grounds are small though - before it was a chain hotel it was an independent boutique hotel 'The Gurich' so don't expect a large resort on many acres. There really is only just enough room by the pool and we resorted to saving sun loungers to make sure we got a spot.

The beach isn't really worth trying to swim in, however you can walk or kayak to neighbouring beaches which are great. The main part of Lamai Beach is nice and in the other direction Coral Cove and Silver Beach were nice as well.

There is only one restaurant but it was nice. We only ate there for breakfast and a couple of lunches. There is a good restaurant right next to the resort on the beach which is cheap and delicious. It is also worth travelling to either Chaweng Beach or Lamai Beach for dinner where there is more action. The Lamai night market is great for pad thais, curries and satays (or cheap cocktails) and there is a full street market on Sunday nights which is worth going to.

Overall, we had a great stay and we would return. We felt it was value for money and the staff were really lovely.

Room Tip: The Pool Access Room was great to wake up to a quick swim before breakfast. The pool is quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FlissandCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2012

Dear FlissandCarlo,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our Pool Access Suites and took advantage of the semi-private pools. It is certainly a good escape for those who want to just laze around nearby the room or have that early or late night swim as you did. You will also be pleased to learn that all bathrooms of this room type have now been screened off to keep out the mosquitoes while still allowing for fresh tropical air to pass through.

Unfortunately, housekeeping services left room for improvement and for this we apologize. While you metioned that they promptly took care of your concerns, we certainly agree that the issues can be better avoided and have addressed them with the team.

It sounds as though you also had a chance to explore the areas around the resort which is one of the main advantages of our location being separated from the hustle and bustle of crowded beach areas while maintaining close proximity to get there as needed. Lamai town less than 5 minutes away by car or 20-30 minutes by walk on beach, tides permitting, is actually the 2nd largest on the island after Chaweng and offers great value for food and drink as you had discovered. Coral Cove and Silver beach which you mentioned are also gems and the hotel offers daily shuttles there for guests to explore.

Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back. We look forward to the opportunity to making the visit even more comfortable and appreciate you taking the time to communicate to us.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (987)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

706 - 712 of 987 reviews

Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

I booked the LM as I prefer SPG hotels and the W wasn't offering as good deals. We had a Pool pavilion room which had the most amazingly comfortable bed and pillows, our own very decent sized pool and outdoor bath with good shower and a nespresso machine!!! Godsend. What a lovely resort. I was a little cautious because it's only a cat 4, and I would have preferred a cat 5, but it was lovely. Great service by all staff or anything we wanted. Spa was lovely with two French masseurs and at 2-4-1 excellent quality. The restaurants was great for breakfast, drinks and snacks in afternoon and dinner. Only downside was it was not walking distance from main town centers which necessitated the expensive cabs. Definitely have lunch at the small roadside cafe that has the world flags. Amazing and embarrassingly cheap. Go out of LM, walk left and on other side of the road and you can't miss it.

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2012

Dear lcie_lynx,

We are delighted to here that you enjoyed the Pavillion Pool Villa. The beds here are often highlighted by guests so it is good to know that you rested well during stay.

The hotel is situated about 20-30 minutes from Chaweng but only 5 minutes from Lamai which is Samui's 2nd largest town. Guests can even walk there in about 20-30 minutes from the beach when tides are low making for a lovely stroll and offering options beyond only our location. As you hopefully tried, we also have daily shuttle service to different parts of the island and nearby beach coves as well.

However, it sounds as though you took advantage of our facilities in both the restaurants and spa, enjoying both.

If you liked the Pavillion Pool Villa with its 16sqm private pool, do consider the Ocean Front Pool Villa with a 25 sqm infinity pool and excellent views over the Gulf of Thailand!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2012

But would only recomend the hotel if you do have a great pool villa. The rest of the hotel is a little shabby. The service is fantastic and the pool is lovely though. They aim to please.

I will Definitly return, next time I want to splurge on a villa with a spectacular view. Oh...and the beds are fantastic. like floating on clouds.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anrubins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear anrubins,

I believe you stayed in our Ocean Front Pool Villa after mentioning the spectacular views as these rooms certainly do offer that with its proximity to the beach and the 25sqm infinity pool in the room. Unfortunately for us, we don't see our guest as much once they've checked in to this room!

We are glad that you will definitely be returning and if there is anything more to make your stay even more comfortable or enjoyable, please let us know.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2012

Me and my husband stayed here during our Koh Samuian honeymoon for 4 nights last year. We stayed at the Pavillion Pool Villa for 2 nights and moved to the breathtakingly beautiful Ocean Front Pool Villa for the last 2 nights. The rooms were nicely decorated in a pan asian style and it was just perfect honeymoon setting! The staffs were very attentive and friendly.After housekeeping they left small surprises for us every night and it felt nice to come back to room after touring around the island to open up the small gifts they left for us! The food was enjoyable, although we were at the hotel only for breakfast. Getting around Koh samui and other beaches weren't difficult at all since the hotel staffs arranged cabs/tuk tuks for us.

Recommended for couples who are looking for an ultimate Koh Samuian experience!

Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
Thank akshasarang22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2012

Dear akshasarang22,

We are delighted that you enjoyed your special honeymoon stay in our Ocean Front Villa and even had a chance to try the Pavilion Pool Villa before that. Both are certainly ideal for honeymooners who are looking for good private space and a romantic setting.

As you enjoyed your stay with us in general, please do return for a visit and perhaps to celebrate an anniversary next time!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

Fantastic resort, everything was fantsatic!
Wonferfull rooms and villa with private pool, food was fantstic.
The only thing i did not like was the beach, the resort in 10 minutes far from lamai beach and silver beach.

Really advised!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank suguruitec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear suguruitec,

We are glad that you had a fantastic stay in general and thank you for taking the time to share your enthusiasm!

While I'm not sure which villa type you stayed in, please do consider the Ocean Front Pool Villa if you have the chance on another occasion, if not on this one. With a private 25 sqm infinity pool facing the ocean, surely it will warrant some more positive emotions!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2012

We stayed at Le Meridien for a week in a Pool Access Villa, it was fantastic, very enjoyable, rooms are lovely, buffet style breakfast which was good quality and as much or as little as you wanted, maid service is excellent, quality of food service is very good, pool area is delightful

Room Tip: the spa is expensive, although beautiful and very good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pauline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear Pauline B,

It certainly sounds as though you enjoyed your stay all around which is a pleasure to learn.

The Pool Access Suites are great for those who like a little extra time closer to their room withough having to miss pool time given the added feature and benefit of direct access to a semi-private pool. We are glad that you enjoyed it.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you and your friends back for another stay!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

This resort is breathtaking, Villas sensational, gardens well manicured and the pool area is beautiful with a sensational view. I would recommend this hotel however would like you to note we have had many issues with service which ultimately boils down to a lack of communication and the staff not having great English. We have been served the wrong dish, brought the wrong breakfast, had to return tea which was not the tea ordered- thankfully we got it right third time, waited over 2 hours for cucumber to put in a vodka soda and today our cleaner even washed our drinking glasses in the sink of our bathroom :( I have tried a few of the cocktails (martinis) which resembled dish water and the service in the restaurant is atrocious waiting over 30 minutes for our cocktail to arrive when we are the only ones in the restaurant or to be served our food before the cocktail we ordered over 30-35 minutes earlier. The breakfast is sensational with a great variety and all of the staff have been friendly. I think there are not enough systems in place and this alongside communication issues is resulting in poor service. The menu in not extensive however is beautiful yet fairly small portions. In saying all of this we would consider returning as the resort is so sensational aesthetically with friendly staff. For the price we paid for the Pavillion pool villa it was certainly great value. Everything is immaculate and luxurious and the pool is nice and big. Fittings & fixtures are also beautiful :) (10 min in a taxi to Chaweng 200 baht)

Room Tip: pavillion pool villa :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avidtravellera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 3 September 2012

Dear avidtraveller a,

Thank you for your honest feedback which seems to have left some mixed feelings about our resort. As you were happy with the facilities and attitude of our associates, please rest assured that the rest can be taken care of.

Communication issues can often lead to expectations not being met and after having heard your concerns, I am sure that we can rectify them. We do however, apologize for the inconveniences experienced and hopefully by the time of your departure, many of the issues had shown improvement or clarification.

As for the cleaning of your glasses in room, please rest assured that procedures are very strict combined with use of proper clearning chemicals and sanitisation methods, all aimed at meeting Starwood hygiene standards and in consultation with Environmental Health Consultancy, regularly audited throughout the year.

While enjoying our facilities, it is even better to know that you found it to be good value for money. As discussed, please do look in to our Oceanfront Pool Villa on a future visit and you will surely be further impressed.

We certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,425 reviews
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,530 reviews
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £79 - £376 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Agoda, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing