We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Resort”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #8 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
21 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice Resort”
Reviewed 5 October 2012

The Le Meridien Koh Samui resort is located at Lamai Beach half an hour from the airport. The resort resembles stories of Chinese immigrants migrated to Samui and their stages of settling down in their new found land. It reflects the path of progress of the new immigrants from their basic humble accommodation at the beginning to more luxurious accommodations when living conditions gradually improved. Thus the resort has great Chinese influences in the architectures, Chinese cultures and beliefs and strong feng shui elements.

Upon arrival, the Concierge escorted me walking passed a path leading to the hotel lobby. Welcome drink and cold towel were served while the front office staff processed my check-in. I was escorted to my plunge pool suite facing the lawn. I was briefed on the room features and handlings of the room amenities.

The Plunge pool suite consists of three sections. The front area is the sitting lounge. The central section is the bedroom area while the inner section is the open air private plunge pool, the wardrobe, the vanity, the rain shower and the toilet.

The only restaurant of the resort, the Latest Receipt is fronting the pool and the ocean with 2 levels. It is a relaxing open dining area with sea breeze blowing gently. An ocean floating pier of 224m with sleeping bags during the day and becomes a romantic dinning venue at night.

The beach is clean with fine white sand. The sea around Lamai area is generally shallow, which is unsuitable for swimming. Nevertheless there are other water activities like wind surfing, kayaking available. Other activities including Thai boxing at the lawn, fish feeding at the ocean pier and beach volley. The resort has daily shuttle service to other nearby beaches like Chaweng etc. There are trips to nearby walking streets and night markets every night.

On the second day of my stay, I changed to another suite type after I complained to the front office that my Plunge pool suite was lack of privacy. Basically, the ceiling to floor glass walls of the suite provides a nice view during the day. But when night falls and when the light is now, everything inside the room becomes visible outside. I felt like an animal in the zoo. The thin curtain selves more like a decorative items. My activities for the whole night were constraint to the bedroom. I would suggest to the management to fix a layer of block-out curtain at the sitting area so that guests can choose their own preference; whether to be an exhibitionists or at their own privacy. Cally (Kelly) entertained to my complaint and took immediately action on the issue.

Staffs are hospitable and ready to help. I was very surprised to meet Tina Liu, the General Manager of the resort helping out at the restaurant in the morning. She might be the only GM of Starwood hotels and Resorts in the world helping out in the restaurant.

The resort is not big with 66 Suites and villas thus quiet and relaxing. The whole resort is nicely landscaped with beautiful tropical flowers & shrubs. Credit must go to the hardworking gardeners who do a good job maintaining the plants and flowers.

I strongly recommend this resort to those who are planning to visit Samui, who are looking for 5-star comfort and services with a relaxing atmosphere.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Huat88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Huat88,

Thank you for your comprehensive review of our resort. I could not have written a better description myself. It seems you really explored and got to know the details about the facilities and the stories that make our resort unique. (May I just make one very minor clarification that there are 77 suites and villas in all instead of 66).

The manicured gardens of our resort are a priority in ensuring a peaceful and relaxing environment, supporting the strong Feng Shui culture in the design so your recognition of our gardeners who tend to it daily with utmost care is most appreciated.

I'm sorry to hear that the Plunge Pool Suite was not comfortable for you in the evening and we will review your suggestion. It is good to know that our Assistant Manager, Kelly, took care of getting you better situated, hopefully allowing for an enjoyable stay thereafter.

We appreciate your recommendation of Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa and hope that you will return to stay with us again yourself! I look forward to meeting you again at breakfast!

SIncerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    227
    89
    30
    18
See reviews for
143
532
43
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

just spent 10 wonderful days at this establishment , cannot fault it , great people ,service ,food , nothing else needs to be said .far enough away from chewang but near enough to jump in a bus or cab , best idea idea is to hire a scooter , less than 10 bucks a day. traffic is well behaved compared to a lot of countries i have visited.

Room Tip: some of the rooms have there own pool shared by two others , but all the choices were good . you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 795chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear 795chris,

Thank you for making Le Meridien Koh Samui your home away from home for 10 days!

It is good to know that you enjoyed your stay all around and had a chance to explore the island. The main ring road is only 51 km so it is easy to literally get around to explore the intimate island full of charm as you seemed to have done. We hope you also easily found calm and relaxation at our resort as well when not out. The Pool Access Suites which you described share semi-private pools and there are 3 pool clusters in all surrounded by either 6, 7 or 8 suites, great for families or friends travelling together or for those who want easy access to a quick swim at all times!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
51 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2012

This is a hotel full of character with lovely rooms, a great pool and lovely employees.
The plunge pool room is unique and a great value alternative to the Ocean View Pool Villas, even though the plunge pool should be heated as the water is simply too cold.
The Restaurant needs work. There is better and cheaper Thai Food alternatives a short ride away by taxi. Breakfast is ok even though the juices are not fresh. Disappointing for a tropical island. Cocktails at the beach/pool are delicious, especially the Mango Daiquiri! Have a private dinner on the pier that reaches far into the sea, simply stunning and prepared with love and attention to detail. . Do not miss the lantern ceremony in the courtyard, where you can send of the traditional lit Thai paper lanterns into the night sky for good luck and fortune. Every night and simply beautiful! This hotel is one of the best choices on the island and the GM Tina is a fantastic host which reflects on extremely friendly employees. We will certainly be back!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank captainkirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear captainkirk1,

It seems you noticed and appreciated many of the special experiences that can be had at our resort from the "Celebration of the Day" ritual to the Ocean Pier dining under the stars! Nothing makes us more proud than to be described as a hotel full of character and your kind recognition of the team has been shared, thank you.

While enjoying our restaurant and bar facilities, we acknowledge your suggestions for improvement and will address with team but when you do return as mentioned, please do let us know exactly what more we can do to specifically meet your expectations and we will try our best. Feedback is always welcomed constructively and we look upon them as opportunities to get to know our guests better.

If you enjoyed the Plunge Pool Suite and traveled with friends, perhaps next time you might like to try to the Pool Access Suites which gives direct access to semi-private pools and can be fun particularly when shared with neighbors you know!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
51 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

The Oceanfront Pool Villa made this this ultimate hotel experience and is an incredible value when compared to similar accommodations on the island. While the beach may not be ideal for swimming, from the villa the ocean looks perfect and seems to go on infinitely. Reading some of the negative comments about this hotel; they seem to fall into two categories:

1. People who were disappointed by the beach (if you know in advance that the beach here has shallow water and two other other gorgeous swimming beaches are located five minutes away via free shuttle then this should not be an issue --- it also makes this stretch of Lamai beach especially quiet and private which for us was a real plus). The fact that the hotel has only 77 rooms also makes it seems intimate -- as though you were a guest at someone's
private estate.

2.People who had service issues and did not communicate them to a manger; Every request we made was met by immediate action -- the staff simply bent over backwards to indulge our every whim!

The staff really is outstanding -- just keep in mind that not every employee speaks perfect English --- if you have a service issue, communicate it to a manger to be certain it has been understood. Tina and KK are rock stars in my book and made our seven day stay perfect. The only negative for us is that time passed much too quickly here. We would return to Le Meriden Koh Samui anytime and will recommend the same to everyone.

Room Tip: 1.Go for the Oceanfront Pool Villa. 2. Wake up early every morning and enjoy the sunrise and the co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank phlashba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear phlashba,

Your review offers some sound advice.

The Ocean Front Pool Villa does offer great value compared to similar accommodations and some of the best uninterrupted beachfront views. With a mix of quiet and calm the beach does offer privacy but also access to nearby destinations and is excellent for walks. Lamai town only 20-30 minutes down the stretch is accessible during low tides which makes exploring fun. Normally from October through to March, the tides are higher and better for swimming. Our Ocean Pier also takes guests out 224m in to the Gulf of Thailand!

While we hope that our guests are happy and comfortable during their stay, our team certainly encourages feedback and the opportunity to make it as enjoyable as possible while at the resort. It is good to know that your communications with the team ensured this, allowing us to serve you better.

Since you mentioned time having passed to quickly this trip, we hope to have you back soon enough for a longer stay!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 September 2012

Le Meridien Koh Samui is an absolutely stunning property. It is in the perfect location, right between the popular areas of Lamai and Chaweng. The hotel provides nightly transportation to these areas which is fantastic. It really gives you the opportunity to explore the island. The grounds are perfect! The pool area is gorgeous, although the beach is not for swimming - it is rocky, but the pool is definitely more than enough. Plus with so many beautiful beaches on Koh Samui, I suggest you explore the island's other beaches anyways. The rooms are outstanding! We loved our Plunge Pool Suite. It is so unique! With our very own pool! Plus the bed's are heavenly!! The only criticism I have is with an outdoor bathroom (it is connected to the bedroom by the outdoor pool but is still completely private), there are unwanted mosquitoes. You must leave the bedroom door closed at all times. However, the hotel does a good job of stopping this issue because every night the turndown service comes and sets up anti-mosquito candles and catchers which really help. I would DEFINITELY recommend this hotel!! It's beautiful!!

Room Tip: The plunge pool suites are the least expensive but beautiful rooms!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kayla B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear Kayla B,

It is good to know that the hotel location suited your needs. Situated between Chaweng and Lamai, the quiet resort location certainly offers the quickest options for getting to the popular spots without having to be in the right in midst of the hustle and bustle. The island should be explored and it is very easy navigating around while the hotel does offer shuttles as mentioned to assist.

At the resort, we are glad that you rested well on our beds and enjoyed the private plunge pool in room. Hopefully, you had time for refreshing dips to cool off. Just to clarify however, our Verandah and Terrace Suites are two other room options with great value as the Plunge Pool Suites offer a unique additional feature and is typically priced a little higher.

We hope that you will have time to visit us again and perhaps try one of our other room categories which offer semi-private or private pools which you so enjoyed, such as the Pool Access Suites, the Pavilion Pool Villa or the Ocean Front Pool Villa!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We stayed in a Pool Access Room in August 2012 for 6 nights using a pay 2 stay 3 night deal via Le Meridien's website. We really enjoyed our stay and we especially liked our room; the pool access room was really special. To us it was nicer than a private plunge pool as you could actually swim as opposed to just get wet. It was quite large and very under-utilised so each time we swam in it we were the only ones there. Morning swims before breakfast were our favourite! The room decor was beautiful with a bit of a Sino-Portuguese feel. Our only problem with the room was the mozzies. There is an open air bathroom (separated to the airconditioned bedroom by a door which you keep shut) which let mozzies in, however each day housekeeping came with citronella, mozzie coils and mozzie zappers to kill them before they did any harm so it wasn't too much of an issue.

Housekeeping was a little slow, one day they didn't come until 5pm and a couple of days around 3pm. We complained and then they came quickly but you don't really expect to have to complain when its a reputable hotel. The towels also need to be thrown out - they are worn out and thin. One was even fraying at the end which was really unacceptable. We complained and they were changed straight away. But again, this is pretty obvious and just seemed like blatant cost cutting - if the towel looks old, thin and threadbare throw it out!

The hotel surrounds are pretty with nice architecture and nice tropical plants. The hotel grounds are small though - before it was a chain hotel it was an independent boutique hotel 'The Gurich' so don't expect a large resort on many acres. There really is only just enough room by the pool and we resorted to saving sun loungers to make sure we got a spot.

The beach isn't really worth trying to swim in, however you can walk or kayak to neighbouring beaches which are great. The main part of Lamai Beach is nice and in the other direction Coral Cove and Silver Beach were nice as well.

There is only one restaurant but it was nice. We only ate there for breakfast and a couple of lunches. There is a good restaurant right next to the resort on the beach which is cheap and delicious. It is also worth travelling to either Chaweng Beach or Lamai Beach for dinner where there is more action. The Lamai night market is great for pad thais, curries and satays (or cheap cocktails) and there is a full street market on Sunday nights which is worth going to.

Overall, we had a great stay and we would return. We felt it was value for money and the staff were really lovely.

Room Tip: The Pool Access Room was great to wake up to a quick swim before breakfast. The pool is quite large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FlissandCarlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 October 2012
Dear FlissandCarlo,

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay in our Pool Access Suites and took advantage of the semi-private pools. It is certainly a good escape for those who want to just laze around nearby the room or have that early or late night swim as you did. You will also be pleased to learn that all bathrooms of this room type have now been screened off to keep out the mosquitoes while still allowing for fresh tropical air to pass through.

Unfortunately, housekeeping services left room for improvement and for this we apologize. While you metioned that they promptly took care of your concerns, we certainly agree that the issues can be better avoided and have addressed them with the team.

It sounds as though you also had a chance to explore the areas around the resort which is one of the main advantages of our location being separated from the hustle and bustle of crowded beach areas while maintaining close proximity to get there as needed. Lamai town less than 5 minutes away by car or 20-30 minutes by walk on beach, tides permitting, is actually the 2nd largest on the island after Chaweng and offers great value for food and drink as you had discovered. Coral Cove and Silver beach which you mentioned are also gems and the hotel offers daily shuttles there for guests to explore.

Overall, we are glad that you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back. We look forward to the opportunity to making the visit even more comfortable and appreciate you taking the time to communicate to us.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
155 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2012 via mobile

I booked the LM as I prefer SPG hotels and the W wasn't offering as good deals. We had a Pool pavilion room which had the most amazingly comfortable bed and pillows, our own very decent sized pool and outdoor bath with good shower and a nespresso machine!!! Godsend. What a lovely resort. I was a little cautious because it's only a cat 4, and I would have preferred a cat 5, but it was lovely. Great service by all staff or anything we wanted. Spa was lovely with two French masseurs and at 2-4-1 excellent quality. The restaurants was great for breakfast, drinks and snacks in afternoon and dinner. Only downside was it was not walking distance from main town centers which necessitated the expensive cabs. Definitely have lunch at the small roadside cafe that has the world flags. Amazing and embarrassingly cheap. Go out of LM, walk left and on other side of the road and you can't miss it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Icie_lynx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 15 September 2012
Dear lcie_lynx,

We are delighted to here that you enjoyed the Pavillion Pool Villa. The beds here are often highlighted by guests so it is good to know that you rested well during stay.

The hotel is situated about 20-30 minutes from Chaweng but only 5 minutes from Lamai which is Samui's 2nd largest town. Guests can even walk there in about 20-30 minutes from the beach when tides are low making for a lovely stroll and offering options beyond only our location. As you hopefully tried, we also have daily shuttle service to different parts of the island and nearby beach coves as well.

However, it sounds as though you took advantage of our facilities in both the restaurants and spa, enjoying both.

If you liked the Pavillion Pool Villa with its 16sqm private pool, do consider the Ocean Front Pool Villa with a 25 sqm infinity pool and excellent views over the Gulf of Thailand!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,351 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
1,553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing