We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great honeymoon location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Southern Caliornia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great honeymoon location”
Reviewed 14 December 2013

My wife and I enjoyed staying at the Le Meridian, especially because it was away in a quiet location away from the hustle of the main Chewang Beach area (if you prefer to be near the main part of the island this is not the place for you). The quality of our stay was excellent, from the room (with an outside rain shower) to the service of the staff (all very courteous and friendly). We really enjoyed participating in the 'Celebration of the Day' even in the evening lighting chinese lanterns and seeing releasing into the air. The pool area is nice and relaxing, and the Ocean Pier is a nice feature of the hotel (unfortunately we didn't get a chance to experience the dining on the pier). We only had 1 meal at the hotel since we opted to try a handful of the many restaurants in the other parts of the island (the hotel offers shuttle service to Chewang Beach, Bophut, and other parts of the island, however, you're on your own to make it back to the hotel).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Birju A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Birju A,

Thank you for spending your honeymoon with us and congratulations once again! It is good to know that the quiet and calm provided for a relaxing stay but that you were able to find your way around the island when in the mood for venturing out and about. The daily shuttle service is indeed an easy way to explore other areas.

The Ocean Pier Dining experience missed is truly a unique one so perhaps, this is something left for next occasion! At least you were able to join the special Celebration of the Day ritual and we certainly hope that your worries floated away while here.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    574
    235
    92
    30
    18
See reviews for
153
549
43
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (224)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 December 2013

Everything about this property is amazing, most especially the people. We had a nasty bit of food poisoning essentially from the moment we arrived (thank you Subway @ Phuket airport) so weren't able to take advantage of everything the resort had to offer or how close it was to either Lamai Beach or Chaweng.
The people: It seems almost unfair to only mention a few people since everyone goes above and beyond. I would like to especially thank Bank, who ensured that the team was aware of our medical issues and could help. I would also like to recognize Raim @ the restaurant - she was so kind to provide us ginger tea and comfort food to make the bad evenings just a little bit better. Their concern was genuine and it was so very much appreciated.
Location: we didn't venture far unfortunately, but at the same time we really didn't need to. We walked down the beach to Lamai (probably 2 or 3km at least) and found a couple nice places to eat and, of course, enjoy some foot (a.k.a. full leg) massages right at the water. There is a small beach right at the resort, although a 10min walk either way and you get something even better.
Resort amenities: we had a pool access suite, although spent more time at the main pool staring out at the ocean. It never really felt busy, although I think the resort was fairly full. I really wish we could've done Thai boxing, Yoga, or some of the jewelry/craft classes offered during the days. Next time! We did really enjoy the in-suite DVD players and library of movies. We didn't try the Spa as we chose to venture outside the resort (hard to stay inside when there are massages on the beach)
Food: we ate at the restaurant every day and really enjoyed it. Never felt the urge to leave, although a 5 or 10min walk would find you choices in either direction down the road.
SPG recognition: they do a good job recognizing SPG status, with upgrades, drinks, welcome gift, etc. This was very consistent with other Starwood properties in Thailand.
Transportation: they can arrange travel to/from locations, including airport, if you want. We just took cabs since they're easy to come by (right across from the hotel almost all the time). 600 Baht to the airport, for reference. Seemed about right for the island and consistent with our experience in Phuket.

Thanks again for the great stay. We have to come back just to see and do everything we missed out on.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WhitecapsSuperFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear WhitecapsSuperFan,

It is indeed unfortunate that you arrived ill and that it hampered your stay a bit. However, from your experiences shared, it does sound like you were still able to enjoy and discover quite a bit from the surroundings of our resort which is good news!

Your kind recognition of Bank and Riam are much appreciated and has been shared with the team. We always aim to ensure our guests are comfortable so thank you for letting us know how to help!

There are certainly many activities to be tried in both our resort and around the island so please do come back to experience more.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 December 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Le Meridian Koh Samui on our honeymoon and we could not have asked for a better place to stay.
We had a Ocean View Pool Villa – a special upgrade as a gift from the hotel as it was our honeymoon and it was simply perfect for us. The room/villa was beautiful and the facilities first rate. We ate in the restaurant everyday and the quality of food was unbelievably good and there was nothing on the menu that we tried that we didn’t like. However the best part of our stay was the high standard of service offered by every employee – they were all so friendly and willing to help with anything we needed. We will definitely be going back to visit.

The hotel is located at the northern end of Lamai beach – however that is perfect as it is a quieter part of the beach and close to Chaweng, Silver Beach and only 30 minutes from the airport. Facilities within walking distance include, supermarket, ATM, pharmacy, restaurants.

Room Tip: The private villas are worth the extra cost.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jill K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear Jill K,

Congratulations once again on the special occasion of your honeymoon! We are thrilled that you chose to spend it with us here in Samui and that perfect memories were taken back.

I am sure the team was all delighted to be of service.

While it sounds like you certainly familiarized yourself with the surrounding area, we appreciate your mention that all meals were taken with us and that the food was enjoyed throughout your stay.

Please do return as promised, perhaps for an anniversary if not before!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 December 2013

Staying at Le Meridien Koh Samui made my family vacation even more enjoyable and relaxing. The pavilion villa was so nice that the three day passed too quickly. Swimming at night at the private pool and having rain shower were the routine for finishing the day.

All the staffs were so nice and helpful as well. Last Recipe offered great Thai cuisine and Italian cuisine as well, and the two supper at Last Recipe were much better than I expected.
Also Le Spa was another nice experience to relax with wonderful massage.

Only cons that I experienced was weather and mosquitos. I thought Thailand is in dry season during December, but it rained almost everyday. Mosquitos were the big problem for my family, and my son and I were biten too many time even though the staffs had visited us day and night to expel the mosquitos. Those were the only drawbacks that I thought of.

Overall, I truely appreciate Tina, General Manager, and the staffs at Le Meridien.

Room Tip: Pavilion Villa was just wonderful!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidLKR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 16 December 2013
Dear DavidLKR,

We are glad that the family enjoyed their stay and the facilities of the Pavillion Pool Villa as well as meals in Latest Recipe restaurant and of course Le Spa!

We do regret however, that the weather was not very cooperative during your stay and that there was some discomfort from mosquitoes which wet weather never helps with. On a more positive note, we are currently in the midst of installing additional screens and curtains in the bathroom area to improve the openess, allowing for fresh air but perhaps also a bit more protection at the same time.

Should you have another opportunity, we hope you will return for some more holiday time and to make up for any missed excursions/activities that a sunny day might have allowed for.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013

Our stay at Le Meridien was Romantic Perfection in its purest from. The room "ocean front pool villa" was like a dream, the bed was as good as a bed can be and the service was one of a kind. We loved every aspect of the hotel and the staff helpt make our stay memorable. However, the hotel is away from the main shoping area and one has to hire a taxi for going to main market area and village road show..

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YPAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 December 2013
Dear YPAL,

We're glad that you had a romantic and relaxing holiday while with us. The Ocean Front Pool Villa definitely helps with that and it is good to know you enjoyed it!

The hotel is situated between Lamai town (about 5 min by car or 20 min walk on beach when tides allow) and Chaweng (about 10-15 min by car). Hopefully, the proximity wasn't too much of an incovenience and allowed for a peaceful stay away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to get to. Hopefully, you also had a chance to take advantage of our shuttle service during stay.

Thank you for sharing your experience. Our team was more than delighted to look after you and to ensure a memorable visit as mentioned! Please do come back for more.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We couldn't agree more with Zander S.' review "luxury in paradise'. We were delighted with the Feng Shui accommodation; teak and white linens. The bed was exceptionally luxurious. We adored our semi-private pool, perfect for an early morning swim.
The staff (headed by Botan) was outstanding; all had great attitude and energy; we felt truly welcome in the fullest sense.
We enjoyed the 7:19 pm lantern ceremony.
The resort is an oasis of calm; but there are cute restaurants and shops close at hand for exploration, and the Lamai Beach scene is at hand.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LindaTurner41153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear LindaTurner41153,

It certainly sounds like you and Zander S had similar experiences indeed, both enjoying the Celebration of the Day ritual and the Pool Access Suites which allow for direct access in to a semi private pool. They really are great for swims on a whim without having to leave your room!

It is also good to know that you met BoTan and that she and the team all took good care of you while here.

We hope you will return for more exploration should your travels bring you back this way.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Castro Valley, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviewed 21 November 2013

My wife and I were fortunate enough to spend 5 wonderful days at this luxury resort. I can not recommend it more highly. The accommodations are wonderful and comfortable. The food was excellent and the service top notch.
Highlights
We had a room with a semi private pool. We could swim right off our Lanai and that was wonderful. The main infinity pool was also wonderful.
We had a delicious Thai dinner out on the docks that extend off the beach in front of the hotel. Very romantic, just the 2 of us and the waiter. We were not rushed and there was something magical about eating under a blanket of stars.

THE BEST part is the nightly lantern ceremony at 7:19PM 19:19 At the main reception area there is a quadrangle. The staff comes out with four red lanterns, places them in the 4 corners of the quadrangle. They then bring out these white paper lanterns with candles that are about 4 feet tall. You wade into the reflecting pool in the middle of the quadrangle, light and release the lanterns. I really can not do this ceremony justice here. It is truly awe inspiring to see 15 or more lanterns floating into the night sky.

This hotel is worth the trip.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Dear Zander S,

Thank you for highlighting some of the special memories from your trip.

The Celebration of the Day ritual is not to be missed and does indeed light up the sky in a very special way while evoking emotions. We are glad your found it to be awe inspiring! Moreover, we are glad that you also had the chance to experience our Ocean Pier Dining which offers a unique "floating" experience with the Gulf of Thailand backdrop!

We're glad that these experiences contributed to a romantic and comfortable stay for you and your wife while with us here in Samui. We hope to see you both again soon!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,385 reviews
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Starwood APAC, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing