We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2014

Upon checking in to the hotel, we were instantly upgraded to a suite with a private pool, it was absolutely beautiful (make sure that you sign up to be in the starwood preferred program before you go- its free and you always get upgraded to the next best room free of charge). The outdoor bathroom was nice, although make sure that if you have to go in the middle of the night that you arm yourself with bugspray first. The pool was very clean and well maintained. Fresh fruit was brought to our room every evening which was great. Very plush and comfortable bed. I kind of felt like we were in the middle of nowhere with nothing to walk to, but the taxi system is pretty efficient so if you have somewhere specific to go it should be fine. Make sure you do the lantern ceremony at night!

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CS_Stach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 July 2014

Dear CS_Stach,

Firstly, I need to apologize for the delay in this reply. There seemed to have been some technical difficulties in getting my original response posted but I deifinately didn't want your kind feedback to go unanswered.

It sounds like you are a Starwood Preferred Guest and we thank you for your loyalty in staying with Starwood Hotels and Resorts and of course here at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa in particular. While enrollment is free and we encourage everyone to join as there are immediate benefits to be enjoyed including a 15% discount on food, I also want to clarify that room upgrades will depend on program status as applicable.

The resort is located 10-15 minutes away from Chaweng and about 5 minutes away from Lamai by car. There are shops and restaurants in the neighboring area but the Chaweng and Lamai centre are the closest towns and the islands 2 most popular beaches. As of July, we now operate a daily shuttle that makes a round trip between our resort and Silver Beach as well as Lamai town centre. There is also a daily 1-way evening shuttle to different parts of island depending on day of week. This is after the Celebration of the Day ritual which you mention and is definitely a highlight for guests.

That said, it is good to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we do hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (970)
There are newer reviews for Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

479 - 485 of 970 reviews

Reviewed 5 May 2014

Some friends and I recently stayed at Le Meridien Koh Samui for 3 nights and it was absolutely perfect. Everything from the staff to the rooms was top notch. It is a small property, which makes the experience even better. It is beautifully arranged and decorated. We had been backpacking Thailand for 2 weeks by the time we made it to Koh Samui and decided to treat ourselves, and were so glad we did. When we arrived to Le Meridien, the valet staff greeted us and immediately took our bags for us while we went to check in. The front desk staff was superb. We were greeted by Sarin and Botan with a welcome cocktail and the manager on duty introduced herself to us personally.

It turned out we had booked a room for only 2 people when we had 3 so the staff graciously escorted us to let us see both rooms to decide which one would better suit our needs. We opted for the Plunge Pool Suite, which was fantastic. Very spacious. We loved the outdoor bathroom and shower. We had no problems with mosquitoes as some of the other reviews mention. The bed was so comfortable. They left complimentary water in the room everyday and we had fresh fruit waiting for us upon arrival. Literally no details went overlooked.

Every night at 7 they do the lantern lighting ceremony, which was really fun. Breakfast was included in our stay and the spread each morning was amazing. A great way to start the day. The restaurant for dinner was also fantastic, with a nice patio and a beautiful view of the ocean. The floating bar is an awesome place to have a drink and watch the sunset.

Other reviewers have mentioned the lack-luster beach. It is a smaller beach that tends to be covered in seaweed, but the pool is literally right on the beach if you are trying to lay out and Koh Samui has many other beaches that are easily accessible. It does not detract from the property one bit.

I really cannot say enough good things about this property. The front desk was so helpful, they even arranged for us to rent motorcycles for the day, which they dropped off at the property for us. If you are looking for a fabulous retreat, this is definitely your place.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Morgan M,

We're glad to learn that you and your friends enjoyed your stay at our resort, particularly after traveling through the country for a couple of weeks. Great that Koh Samui made the list of places to visit!

With the rented motorcycles, you probably had a chance to explore the island and hopefully had a good time. It is also good to know that returning home to Le Meridien provided comfort and that you all had a relaxing stay.

Regards,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Amazing service, 100% personal and absolutely fantastic facilities. It was my partners birthday and there was not one person on the day that didn't say happy birthday! Did the 4.15hrs at the Spa and ate on the pier where again both very personalised with happy birthday messages in the room, the spa and cake surprise at dinner! Will definitely return and highly recommend!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dean31181
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Dean31181,

We are thrilled to learn that you and your partner enjoyed your stay with us and that your partner had a wonderful birthday celebration while here!

Spending time at Le Spa and dinner at the Ocean Pier makes for a truly special day and hopefully a very memorable one. It was a pleasure for our team to help celebrate!

Thank you for taking time to share your experience and we will await your return as mentioned; perhaps to celebrate your own birthday next time!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We have been traveling through southern Thailand for four weeks. The Le Meridien was an oasis in our travels. Calm and serene. Well-managed and personable. Pla and Dream, bartenders at Latitude Bar, are great at mixing cocktails and very friendly. Well worth a visit when in Samui. Great breakfast buffet as well.

Room Tip: Stay at one of the pool access suites and meet others also staying around your own swimming pool.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DBTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear DBTK,

After four weeks of travelling through Thailand, we are thrilled that you found a stay at our property an oasis!

Hopefully, the calmness and serenity ensured that you were well rested from your travels. Cocktails from Pla and Dream will certainly help with that so it is good to know that they took care of you.

Thank you so much for including us in your travels and we hope to see you back again one day!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

As this was our first visit to Thailand and to a Le Meridien on SPG points, we had not idea what our stay would be like. First, they upgraded our room to a off patio pool room and then told us breakfast was included. Great quite location, lovely lantern celebration each evening and happy hour buy one, get one free! The staff is so attentive. We were looked after by Luke (GM), Tina (GM) and our favorite waiter Big. Everyone treats you like an individual in a very genuine fashion.
We found out that the comp breakfast was a mistake because we were here on points. They comped up the first day and all food is 15% off. And there is a two free Illy beverage coupon in the room. They also brought us a plate of fresh fruit.

The room is very comfortable other than leaving the door open when they make the rooms. This allows mosquitos in. Once my husband mentioned this, they light coils outside our room. Again, very attentive. Would love to come back except it is too hot for me. Being from Northern California, the heat is exhausting. Will need to stock up on the points to try another location.

Room Tip: Take the private car from airport. It is a good 30 minutes away.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Calidiva50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear Inverleith F,

As a first time visitor to Thailand, we're glad you made it to Koh Samui and enjoyed your stay with us! April is actually one of the hottest months to visit so do not let this deter you from returning, perhaps during a different period next time!

On this occasion, it is good to know that our team took good care of you, particularly Luke and Big in Latest Recipe. Your kind recognition has certainly been shared. The little food & beverage perks seemed to have come in handy as well although we apologize for the misunderstanding about breakfast inclusion on the first day so that one was of course on us. As a Starwood Preferred Guest, hopefully you enjoyed the 15% food & beverage discount otherwise.

We have also reminded our room attendants to ensure that guestroom doors are closed during service in order to keep out mosquitoes as mentioned. Please accept our apology for any inconvenience caused.

Thailand has much to explore and while we do hope to welcome you back one day. please do also look in to the many Starwood properties across the country. Hopefully, some of the starpoints collected here will help with another vacation soon enough!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

This hotel is very different than any other place that I've stayed. There are only 77 rooms, 7 different categories. The bathrooms are actually outside of your bedroom, but private and making you feel one with nature. We had a room reserved for platinum members with a plunge pool. There is a magnificent pool facing the ocean with many smaller pools throughout the property. We had a great location, near the pool. The brunch is outstanding! We ate all of our meals here. They have 2 for 1 happy hours which offer great drinks. 6 free waters a day in your room. each day there is free one-way shuttle to a different place. taxis can really add up because nothing is within walking distance. The airport is $700 bahts or about $23 each way. The hotel offers service for 1800 bhats roundtrip. Some of the waiters do not really understand what you are ordering. When you order water with your meal or at the pool, you have to actually say, "complimentary water" if you don't want to get charged $2.50 for a bottle, when you have them in your room for free. There is a tour operator two doors down to your left of the property. You'll save a lot of money if you just go there and figure out what to do during the day. There is a great place for massages about 50 feet to the left on the beach if you don't want to pay hotel prices and you want one on the beach. They were great. We met so many lovely people staying here. Everyone was enjoying the hotel. Beware of unexpected charges. The most memorable part of the stay if the khom loy lantern ceremony that they have every night at 7:19 in the courtyard to wash your misfortunes away. Beautiful!

Room Tip: loved the plunge pool in the middle of the bathroom. it's worth upgrading so you aren't in...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MarcelleMiami
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear MarcelleMiami,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort. We are glad to learn that you found the facitlites to be very special and serene.

Le Meridien Koh Samui is built to give guests a sense of place and the rooms are uniquely designed to offer something very different in each type. May I just clarify that we have 6 suite types and 2 villa types for guests to choose from. The Plunge Pool Suite in which you stayed does have some nice outdoor features including the refreshing plunge pool as the name suggests and an open air shower, for a true tropical experience. The various other swimming pools you saw throughout the resort are semi-shared pools that can be directly accessed only by guests staying in the Pool Access Suites. Perhaps you might want to try one of these next time! It offers a great place to relax right by the comfort of your own room and large outdoor terrace.

I'm sure readers will also enjoy the various tips offered and it is good to know that you had the chance to explore while here. Our apologies however, for any difficulties in communication with some of the team members and we do hope that this did not ultimately hinder a proper service delivery.

Having met friends while here, perhaps you will return to meet again (or discover new ones) in Samui and at Le Meridien!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

My Wife and I spent a week here in December and had an absolutely great time.
The Oceanfront Pool Villa is really worth the money that they charge. The staff went
out of their way (in true Thai tradition) to make our stay comfortable.
The location is perfect if one just wants to relax and do nothing else.

The only downside to this resort is the limited choice in terms of dining options.
There are some great places around but one needs to take a cab or rent a bike.

Room Tip: Oceanfront Pool villa's are exquisite
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VikramRanade
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Dear VikramRanade,

We're glad you and your wife enjoyed your December holidays with us and that the team looked after you well.

The Ocean Front Pool Villa is a great way to go and it's good to know you found good value in the choice made.

While we do not have the abuncance of dining choices compared to being right on Chaweng or center of Lamai, we are also not secluded in that one is able to walk out and find options. However, getting a taxi if needed was hopefully convenient for you when venturing out and there are indeed great places to discover all around the island.

We hope you will both have the opportunity to return to explore more or just to relax!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,404 reviews
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
12.1 mi away
Four Seasons Resort Koh Samui Thailand
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £122 - £356 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Booking.com, Starwood APAC, Expedia, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing