We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacations Ever”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Kanpur, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best Vacations Ever”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Amazing resort, beautiful location and what a friendly staff.

I stayed here for 5 nights, and this turn out to be my best vacations ever. The traditional huts or cottages kind of suits with amazing green surroundings. It feels so close to nature. The staff is very friendly and always at your service. I will surely visit them next time and that too with my family and friends.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SHIVAM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear SHIVAM_11,

Yes, please do return and please do bring family and friends!

The Pool Access Suites will be a great option for this with 6, 7 or 8 rooms around a shared pool! We'll make sure everyone has a great time.

Until then, we're glad you enjoyed the resort and landscaping, adding to a great vacation. We'll await your return and thank you for staying with us!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

931 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    560
    231
    92
    30
    18
See reviews for
149
539
43
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

My partner and I stayed at Le Meridien in March 2014, and from the moment we arrived to the moment we departed, it was easily one of the best and most memorable vacation experiences we've ever had. We were warmly greeted upon arrival by Botan, and we enjoyed a cool drink next to the reflection pool while our bags were taken to our room. At the time, I remember looking at the pool wondering what purpose it served, with it's wide space and shallow water - it wasn't until later that night when my partner and I participated in the lamp lighting ceremony that we discovered what a special and cleverly designed space it was. We stayed in a pool access room, which allowed us to step from our bedroom door directly into a semi-private pool shared with about 4 other villas. We loved it, and thought it would be a great space if you were travelling with a small group of friends. The accommodation, food and service really couldn't be faulted. During our stay, my partner and I got engaged, and Le Meridien helped us celebrate by arranging a full day cruise through the marine national park, champagne, and an outdoor private candle-lit dinner on the hotel pier at the end of the day of the proposal. We also used the main pool, drank plenty of cocktails, fed fish by hand at the end of the pier, went sea kayaking, and did a thai-cooking class. We would have stayed for an entire month (or longer!) if we could have. As great as the facilities and location were, the thing that really made this experience special was the service. From the youngest trainees like Namira, who spoke English very well and had this innate skill of just being there with a smile whenever you needed or wanted something, all the way up to the General Manager Tina, who really impressed us by working alongside her team and getting to know the guests like they were friends - the service was fantastic. And I have to make special mention of Botan - she was just the best. She really exceeded our expectations, and was instrumental in designing the most romantic and memorable proposal experience. If you are looking for a romantic holiday destination to pop the question, or just a relaxing holiday with friends and family, this place is hard to beat. We look forward to going back.

Room Tip: If you are travelling with friends, try the pool access villas - you then get your own private pool...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Simon W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear Simon W,

Thank you for such an amazing review.

It is really gratifying to learn that our guests brought home such special memories and the way you described your trip and experiences had just sounds so special, romantic and fun!

A warm congratulations once again on your engagement too. A cruise to the islands, champagne and candle light dinner on the Ocean Pier was a solid plan! We were only too happy to help deliver this unforgettable moment and I know that BoTan in particular was very excited to be a part of that.

The Pool Access Suites for friends, family or anyone looking for a quick and convenient dip at their doorstep is a great recommendation. We have 3 different shared pool clusters of 6, 7 or 8 rooms around each.

When you're ready for another celebration, do bring your friends and we'll be sure to work on another unforgettable trip!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san francisco
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

A nice hotel in a secluded part of the island. This hotel has a nice pool.Staff and service was fabulous and always professional. The property is incredible. A great place to spend in Ko Sumi. This property is over 20+ years old , but a legend in Ko Sumi.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThePlumber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 July 2014
Dear The Plumber94070,

Thank you for your review and positive feedback regarding your overall stay.

We're glad you enjoyed the service all around along with our location on the southeast part of the island in between Lamai and Chaweng.

However, allow me to just clarify that our property is 4 years old and the under management of Starwood Hotels and Resorts and the Le Meridien brand since September 30, 2011.

That said, we do hope that you will continue to return for at least 20+ years to follow!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maryland, USA
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

The staff consistently aims to please, location is picturesque and the architecture makes it worth a visit even if you're not staying there. The bathroom was the highlight of our room with a rain shower, sunken tub and endless wonderful smelling candles burning. The restaurant, Latest Recipe, has Thai and Western food, all of which is tasty. The beds were very comfortable and the spa definitely top notch. Little things like daily yoga and boxing classes and the evening lantern ceremony are icing on the cake. This review would have been a 5, but the staff's English really needs improvement.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank punkykey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear Punkykey,

We're glad you enjoyed the resort architecture and design, finding the extra touches and activities enhancing to the stay. It is certainly not typical of an internationally branded resort but hopefully reflects the Le Meridien core values of chic, cultured and discovery in a boutique environment!

We apologize that you came across some members of the team who left room for English skills improvement. This is indeed a continuous process when working with a second language for the team. Hopefully, you also found many fluent communicators as well and that they were of help. Meanwhile, we will keep trying to raise the competency levels as much as possible.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doha, Qatar
Level 5 Contributor
46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Just completed a one week stay here with my family of 5 (6 yr old, 4 yr old and 2 yr old) in the pool villa room. I choose this hotel as I’m starwood platinum.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to friends and would stay here again. I think this is a perfect place for couples but still a place that families can enjoy as well. I have stayed in Bali, Phuket, Goa and the Maldives and this location and hotel would only come behind Maldives as a great place for couples. If I only considered the hotel for my ranking then I would give it an ‘excellent because of the staff and boutique nature of the hotel. However, I must consider the location of the hotel which includes the beach/water so this is why I ranked the hotel ‘very good’.

We had our concerns when booking this hotel because of our kids since this looked more like a hotel for couples. However, we completely enjoyed our stay with our young kids. Our pool villa room was able to accommodate all three of our children; our two oldest slept on the day bed sleeping opposite ends of each other and our 2 year old slept in a roll away crib. We didn’t lose much space within the room.

Good
The staff was outstanding! Within the first couple of days of our stay several of the staff knew the names of our kids. Even with turn down service our ice bucket was filled without having to request this. I believe some of the senior management of the hotel were on holiday during our stay, so it was their delegates which provided this great service.

This hotel seems to be more of a boutique hotel then part of a major chain. The property is small and the grounds are great. This was a pleasant change from staying in the large resort type of hotel.

The restaurant is open with great views of the pool and ocean, a very relaxing way to start the day. The breakfast buffet included an egg station for made to order eggs.

The floating pier offered two great functions a nice place to enjoy sun downers and an opportunity for our kids to feed the fish each morning.

Our kids insisted on attending the nightly lantern ceremony every night as it is a great ceremony for both kids and couples.

The hotel offers a free shuttle for nightly drop offs at Lamai, Chwang and the night market. You still hard to get a cab back but at least each night you had a choice to eat dinner at the hotel or a local restaurant.

The hotel decorated our room with balloons and provided a great cake for daughters 4th birthday. The most innovated birthday cake was from Pla, the Latitude 9 bar tender. She cut up an apple and put two candles in a cucumber and brought it to my daughter to sing happy birthday to her. Needless to say my daughter was feeling much love with all the attention the staff showered her with on her birthday.

Bad
Mosquito’s- were a problem within our villa. While the hotel provided the mosquitos smokers they still managed to get into our room. Luckily we didn’t seem to get bitten but their presence was noticed.

Flies- as mentioned earlier the restaurant is open air so on some days we had to deal with flies during our morning meals. This detracted from at least two of our meals during our stay, continuously waving our hands to keep them at bay, but comes with eating in an open air restaurant.

Issues from other reviews:
Water/beach- Only one time during our stay was the ocean water covered with algae. All other times the water was clear. While the sea does not offer a perfect clear blue sand bottom the water is still clear. I can’t say that beach is terrible but I can’t say it is outstanding either. I would probably give the beach a 6 or 7 out of 10 compared to all the other beaches I have been to.

Lack of breeze within villa’s- all villa’s with the exception of the ocean view are completely enclosed and difficult to get a breeze. While this can make it hot, the overhead fan in our outside area made sitting outside a pleasant experience and we had not issues with the lack of breeze or temps while sitting outside in our pool villa.

Other information
Room recommendations: If you book an ocean view villa then you probably want to request 1103 or higher ocean view villa. 1101 and 1102 you could easily see a person standing at the pool from the pier. However, you cannot see into the actual rooms from the pier.

Be aware that this hotel does not offer connecting rooms

There is a taxi stand in front of the hotel with at least 1-2 taxis available throughout the day, taxi to Lamai was 200-300 Baht, Chwang beach was 500 baht and we got a taxi to the airport for 600 baht.

There is a restaurant, local I think, next to the hotel both on the beach and road side but you will need cash. There is also a message place on the road and beach side as well and a place that will do your laundry on the road side next to the hotel.

Room Tip: Room recommendations: If you book an ocean view villa then you probably want to request 1103 or high...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank cincoMcBrides
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 18 June 2014
Dear cincoMcBrides,

Thank you for your extensive review and it is great to learn that all members of your family enjoyed their stay while with us, especially the birthday girl!

I am sure readers will benefit from your detailed information shared about both our service and facilities as well as around the island.

The tropical environment does sometimes make nature a challange and we apologize for any discomfort during your stay. That said, we're glad everyone was comfortable in the Pavilion Pool Villa and made good use of the room and space.

Our boutique resort prides itself with a warm and intimate setting, giving guest a sense of place. As such, it was a pleasure for our team to get to know your family in a more personalized way and to extend our Thai hospitality. Thank you for your recognition of their efforts and for what was described as outstanding service!

We hope that your family will have the chance to re-visit us again one day. There are at least 2 more little birthdays to celebrate...just to be fair!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

We stayed here in June and it was the. most. amazing. hotel we have ever stayed in. The staff were fantastic, food was AMAZING, and as you walked around the grounds it smelled of Lemon Grass. Everything was just amazing, and we will be going back again. Huge terraced room and the most delicious arrival drink. Anyway, beautiful hotel. Definitely recommend!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sara V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Sara V,

It is good to learn that you had an incredible stay and enjoyed both the service and facilities offered.

Knowing that our guests notice the fragrance around the resort validates that small details make a difference and hopefully provide for a relaxing feel.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review and we certainly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San francisco
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Upon deciding on Koh Samui to be the island to visit in Thailand, we started looking at resorts, its locations, and of course, prices. We didnt want to be in the smack middle of the tourist attraction, and we didnt want to be so secluded that we would have to drive super far to get food other than at our hotel.

Then we saw Le Meredien.

Location on island: Conveniently located far enough from the tourist part of the island (but easily accessable by scooters, 10 min ride), surrounded by restaurants outside of the hotel (we werent able to try the Romantic Bamboo, but heard it was FANTASTIC italian, right outside of the hotel), and quiet, but not super secluded.

Staff: probably one of the best well-rounded group of staff we've encountered during our trips. Genuinely happy. Although the morning staff tended to be a bit more quiet (probablty because it was 6am), it was never at all unpleasant. I'd much rather prefer quiet in the morning and an energetic staff in the afternoon.

Along with all the staff, the front manager, Botan (sp?), always came around to make sure we were having an excellent time! It was personable, which we really appreciated (unlike a business setting). We told her we were going to stay a night at the Le Meredien Bangkok, and she told us that the manager before is now at the Le Meredien Bangkok, and to tell her hello! When we got to Bangkok, we did; and made our Bangkok stay even more personable. Excellent!

Service: impeccable. Absolutely wonderful. I cant say enough about the resort. Everything is clean, well kept, fresh, and most importantly, welcoming. I would go back in a heart beat if there werent other places in the world to visit!

Room: we had a room with a private plunge pool. If you can, DO IT. It was so nice to come back from a day out and just cool down in our own private pool. The hotel pool is super awesome too, but sometimes you want peace and quiet and watch a movie on your ipad while laughing hesterically. It was luxorious.

Oh, and they have THE most comfortable beds. It was really nice to fall asleep and wake up, not noticing 8 hours had passed! I'll have to reach out to the hotel to see what bed padding they used!

Food: we ate a lot at the resort, and it was excellent. Although delicious, it's closer to western prices, so if you get a chance, go outside to explore what the restaurants outside the hotel have to offer. But dont miss the breakfast buffett. Im not a huge fan of breakfast buffetts (although ive been to MANY), but this one takes the cake. It's like breakfast/lunch/cocktail appetizers all in one.

Excursions:
(a) Scooters: rent thorugh the front desk, and get a 150cc. This way you dont have to provide a passport, and it's super convenient to get/return. They call you when the bike arrives, and you just give the keys to the Le Meredian security guard after you're done. Easy Peasy.

(b) Koh Tao/Nangyuan: we booked a speed boat tour through the hotel that was all day, and it was SO MUCH fun. 90 minutes to Koh Tao, jump off the boat to snorkle. 10 minutes to Koh Nangyuan, a yummy buffett lunch. 2 hours free time to snorkle/hike, etc, then 90 minutes back. and they pick up/drop you off at your hotel. Super cheap.

We only visited another resort other than this (because, lets face it, why would you? theres so much to do and see), which was Nikki Beach, and as posh and western-friendly as it was, we would pick Le Meredien in a heart beat over Nikki Beach.

Room Tip: Get the plunge pool room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank higakic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear higakic,

It appears you did extensive research in the planning of your trip and we are fortunate that you looked in to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort and Spa and decided to stay with us!

Glad to see we didn't disappoint and that you enjoyed your stay in the Plunge Pool Suite. The dips to relieve from the heat of day is indeed a luxurious comfort to enjoy in the privacy of your room.

We're also glad that you had the opportunity to explore the island and enjoyed some excursions to neighbouring locations. Koh Samui is renown for snorkelling and diving in nearby Koh Tao and Ang Thong National Marine Park which are easy day trips as you had taken.

Thank you for your in depth review. It was a pleasure for the team to be of service (although we will ensure that the early morning breakfast team steps it up) and to know that the buffet offering was enjoyed.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#2 of 50 in Lamai Beach
1,372 reviews
6.8 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#3 of 186 in Bophut
1,575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Centara Grand Beach Resort Samui
0.3 mi away
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
7.1 mi away
SALA Samui Choengmon Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#9 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Starwood APAC, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing