We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superior staffs!! Beautiful facilities! But ...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #6 of 51 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Cannot praise enough for the staffs here. One of the best I have experienced in any hotel. Kudos. Excellent. Beautiful lantern ceremony at 1919 hrs daily and the ocean pier dining experience was breathtaking. But ..... The staffs' excellence were downplayed by the rather unpleasant experience in room 2601 (pavilion pool villa). Mosquitoes everywhere in the outdoor toilet. We suffered a few bites and could not feel comfortable using the toilet, no matter how much kind staffs tried assist using incense coils or drawing curtains. Also no privacy in the villa as I could hear everything neighbor talked about as there was only a short wall separating villas. Breakfast was also disappointing, with flies hovering around covered breads and buns and limited selections, surprising for a le meridien brekkie. Avoid pavilion villa and don't pay for breakfast but rest assured, staffs will address you by names throughout the property and make you feel much special and attended to.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
3  Thank HnD_1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear HnD1507,

With such great feedback about our team and our facilities, it most certainly is a shame that some elements downplayed those experiences as mentioned and for this we apologize.

The Pavilion Pool Villa is an open style concept with a lot of outdoor space. The bathroom does have sheer curtains that go around and thought that had done the trick when we checked with you during stay. Our apologies if this was actually not the case. May we recommend the Ocean Front Pool Villa for next time as it also has a lot of outdoor space but also more indoor space as well.

For breakfast, as you know the restaurant is also open air. We have a selection of eastern and western favorites with 2 live stations, all of which are on a rotating menu. Additionally, there is an a la carte menu mainly used by those who do not have the buffet included in the rate plan so this is indeed an option. If there is something in particular that you would like to suggest that we have, we are very happy to get your comments and are always looking for ways to improve. Please bear in mind too that our resort is 77 rooms so it is not unlikely that we do not have all the same selections of our sister properties who typically cater to triple our inventory. However, whatever we are missing, hopefully it is nothing that a rotation and direct feedback can’t fix!

Again, we regret any discomfort caused on this occasion. If you have a chance to return on another visit, we will certainly remember you (by name) and do our best to deliver a more exceptional experience. Please do not hesitate to contact me personally.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,027)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

493 - 499 of 1,027 reviews

Reviewed 4 August 2014

As expected a true five star venue . Tina the GM is to be commended . Spent 4 nights end of July . Lovely accommodation , truly personalized service . Beach is disappointing but the hotel offers a shuttle to a lovely beach just down the road . Overall a truly great hotel .

Room Tip: Pool access room is recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank Dr P E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Dr P E,

We’re glad you enjoyed your overall stay and found the service to be very personalized!

We certainly endeavor to know our guests and hope that you will have a chance to return. The resort does indeed have a daily complimentary round trip shuttle service to both SIlver Beach and Lamai as well as an evening 1-way service to different parts of island depending on night. Hopefully, you had a chance to explore over your 4-night stay with us.

Thank you for choosing Le Meridien and for taking the time to share your feedback!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We had a slightly unusual arrival at Le Meridien, finding it over-booked, but immediately being offered the chance to spend a night at their luxury sister hotel the Vana Belle, at no extra cost.

When we arrived again the next day, while the welcome was hugely warm and generous, we found our original choice of hotel room - the Plunge Pool Suite - a little dark and claustrophobic, with nowhere to sit outside, so asked if we could move to a different room. This was done immediately and with no fuss and we were offered a larger upstairs room with an open balcony.The fact that this was (oddly) cheaper was noted by the management, who offered to offset any difference on pricing from our final bill, which was very kind in that we'd booked the original room fully aware of its size. The room we were given was beautifully furnished with a massive king-size bed and nice outdoor bathroom.

The hotel itself is set in immaculately-kept grounds, all leading to the beach-front restaurant and pool, which - for the most part - offers a tranquil place to soak up the sun and take the occasional dip. Service poolside is friendly and the bar menu is wide-ranging. Service was occasionally a little slow, but nothing that the environment couldn't compensate for.

The hotel runs a series of activities each day including yoga and thai boxing which, while we didn't participate, seem well-delivered and popular. The gym is - as others have - said, exceptionally well-equipped for a hotel of this size. The hotel also has a couple of canoes available for use by residents.

Breakfast is a buffet affair in the open air (with shade as necessary) with a very wide range of different foods and drinks and eggs cooked to order, all presented to a high quality, and with exceptionally attentive and helpful staff always on hand.

We ate in the restaurant - the Latest Recipe - on only one evening and had a perfectly decent if not spectacular dinner of Thai food.

The one area which probably lets Le Meridien down a little compared to its competitors is the lack of an attractive beach - there's only a short distance to the shoreline and what sand there is is quite scrubby. That said, the hotel has constructed a long floating pier out into the (shallow) sea which does allow you to enjoy a quiet sundowner.

The hotel is within walking distance of the main action in Lamai beach and about 15 minutes by taxi (400 Baht or so) from Chaweng so there was never a shortage of things to see or do.

Others have commented on the lantern-lighting ceremony at 19.19 every evening. We had mixed weather when we visited so were only really able to see this in all its glory on our last evening at Le Meridien. But it was a beautiful thing to see and the idea of letting guests set off their own lanterns into the night sky is a very touching one, and clearly appreciated by everyone involved.

Room Tip: As noted, we found the Plunge Pool Suite a little small and dark and a corner upstairs room much mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank LondonPhilC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear LondonPhilC,

Thank you for your fair detailed review and well rounded highlights about our resort.

We’re glad you had a chance to try our sister resort during your visit but spent the bulk of your holidays with us! Unfortunately, the Plunge Pool Suite was not to your liking but luckily the Verandah Suite was. Each of our rooms have a unique feature differentiating them and the price increments on each type represent the demand and what is generally considered an extra luxury in room. Naturally, that is all subject to what is important to each guest and we understand that the Verandah space better met your needs.

It seems the general service and facilities met your expectations for the most part and we apologise for any delays mentioned from time to time. While you did not participate in some of our activities offered, I am sure your observations are appreciated by other guests.

Hopefully, we’ll have a chance to welcome you back again should your travels bring you back to Koh Samui!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Le Meridien Resort Koh Samui was absolutely amazing. The whole place is indeed a tropical paradise and the staff aim to please at every opportunity. The Resort is a quick transfer from the beautiful Samui Airport and is nestled right away from the hustle and bustle of the streets and scooters.

If your looking for tropical tranquility and a getaway from the typical "touristy" spots, this place is for you!

Just a stones throw from Shopping in Cha Weng or many of the available tours, consider taking the town car at a brilliant rate compared to a metered taxi, a great way to explore Samui in your own time. The Spa and the service, amazing!

Our room (Ocean View Pool Villa) was kept spotless, Thank you Nui, your dedication and hard work is much appreciated.

Thank you to Pla, your service was second to none and your friendlyness and smiling face lit up the bar, keep up the good work. Ton and Num at the pool bar, a big thanks also, your long island ice tea's are delicious, also great service.

Also a big thanks to all the reception staff and Botan for assisting with all our plans around Samui. Tina, it was great to have a chat and the Resort is second to none, our stay was amazing and we will certainly be back.

Rene & David

Room Tip: Go all out and get the Ocean View Pool Villa, total privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rene J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Rene J (&David),

We’re glad that you enjoyed your stay in the Ocean Front Pool Villa. Your recognition of the team and even Nui in reservations is most appreciated. It is not often that those behind the scenes get recognised.

It’s good to know that you had a chance to explore the island in addition to enjoying the service and facilities of our resort. Hopefully, the location off the main ring road between Lamai and Chaweng made getting around very convenient and accessible. Our resort cars are indeed minimally priced above the local taxis and a great option for getting around.

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback and we hope to welcome you both back again soon as promised!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2014

My wife Rani and I first visited Le Méridien Koh Samui two years ago to celebrate our 20th wedding anniversary. We loved our experience so much we’ve just had our 3rd two-week stay in two years – celebrating our 22nd anniversary.

Also, this is my 3rd review on Trip Advisor. Please feel free to look at the other two as many have found them helpful. So, I’ll try to add a bit more than my previous reviews. Lastly, my wife and I travel to Thailand frequently; we’ve been to the wonderful “Land of Smiles” nearly 15 times over the last 25 years and do feel that we know Thailand and the Thai pretty well.

The General Manager Tina and her team led by the Assistant GM Botan, have created a warm and memorable property. In full disclosure, I should let you know that I just made Platinum for life at Starwood (500+ nights in ten years) so while I certainly do get recognition for my loyalty, I do have a good sense of other Starwood hotels and resorts, and I can honestly say that Tina and her team are truly exceptional – probably in the top 2 or 3 of all Starwood properties that I have stayed globally.

The staff is what makes this experience so wonderful. They know us by name and welcome us with hugs and warm smiles. And they do go out of their way to make our stay exceptional. As I said in my previous reviews, no issue, problem or request is too big or too small. And yes, while you may not get the exact response that you wanted – Thailand being Thailand – they always strive to be helpful, prompt and resourceful.

I think one example really demonstrates this. My wife is not only Vegan, but also Gluten-Free as she has a true Gluten allergy. We wrote ahead to Tina about this, and she and her lead chef prepared a full Vegan Gluten-Free menu for breakfast, lunch and dinner. They even baked Gluten-Free bread for us that was actually pretty good! (First time that I ever liked the stuff …)

Another reason we like this property is that we don’t like to stay “on resort” for the entire day. We love to explore, meet other people and try new restaurants. Le Méridien is conveniently located between Lamai and Chaweng, two interesting towns that are 10 minutes away by taxi, or the hotel’s convenient nightly shuttle. On this last note, we struck up many good conversations with other guests on the rides into town sharing experiences for diving, sight-seeing and dining.

The “things you should consider.” The beach isn’t the greatest so if that’s really your thing, you may want to look elsewhere. They do have an amazing infinity pool and beautifully landscaped grounds, however, and many of the rooms and villas have their own private pools. Also, I would categorize this more as an adult, couples or families with older children resort. I will defer to the other reviews from people with children, but to me Le Méridien has a more adult vibe.

At the risk of being boring, my wife and I are already planning our 4th trip back. Why mess with a good thing?

Room Tip: Try to finagle your way into an ocean-front villa. They are spacious and private, and you not only...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank MikeK13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear MikeK13,

It was so nice to have you and Rani back home!

We truly appreciate your return visits and do not take them for granted. We hope to keep improving on our special menus and will surely do our best to ensure that not coming back is a non-option.

As a lifetime SPG Platinum member (and Samui island expert by now), we appreciate your insights shared during stay which have been a help to our operations and other guests!

We definitely hope that it won’t be too long until we get to see you again.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed two nights @ Le Meridien Samui with our two children in a beach front pool villa and really enjoyed it.
The pool villas are decorated in an elegant manner with a traditional Chinese touch.
The villa is spacious and the bedding is excellent. My kids slept on the sofa bed.
The private pool is rather big and the outdoor sofa beds are more than comfy with an amazing sea view. There is even a tiny garden.
The bonus is the espresso coffee machine in the room.
My kids enjoyed the evening "celebration of the day", the lucky lanterns and the fish feeding activity.
The restaurant is offering a good variety of food at reasonable price, there is as well a special kid's menu.
The service in the hotel is of a very high standard, the managers are always making sure that your stay at the hotel is at its best.

We fully recommand this hotel !

Room Tip: Pool villa are worth it. Register as SPG member before booking and you will benefit from extra bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank weiniBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear weiniBangkok,

It sounds like you stayed in our Ocean Front Pool Villa which is 165sqm with a 25sqm infinity pool. We’re glad it was comfortable for your family and that the the illy espresso machine in room was a welcomed extra touch.

Celebration of the Day and fish feeding are indeed unique experiences at our resort and we’re happy your children had a chance to participate in both. Hopefully, they were memorable events for the family!

Thank you for staying with us and for recommending our resort.

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

My family and I just returned from our Asian vacation that included Hong Kong, Macau and the beautiful island of Koh Samui. We came to Koh Samui to just unwind and Le Meridian Resort did not disappoint. We had the most amazing time. Our room was spacious and equipped with a private plunge pool. From the front desk, to the housekeeping, to the gardener, our experience is further enhanced by how gracious and polite the staff was. The service was impeccable. Botan, the front desk manager, was such a delight. She took the time to get to know the guests by name and was always around offering to help at every opportunity. Most importantly, our dining experience was unforgettable. The dishes were absolutely delicious and the presentation, topnotch! We stayed at the resort for 8 days but wish it was longer.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Charis-YVR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Le_Meridien_Koh_Samu, General Manager at Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Charis-YVR,

We’re glad to hear your Asian holiday tour ended with a relaxing last stop at our resort.

It’s good to know that you enjoyed our service and facilities and that everyone you came across well represented our unique Asian hospitality. Thank you for your kind recognition of Botan in particular who I am sure was happy to assist in any way.

If 8 days wasn’t enough, we hope you will return for another stay soon!

Sincerely,
Tina

Tina Liu
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.6 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#3 of 51 in Lamai Beach
1,460 reviews
6.7 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
1 mi away
Sandalwood Luxury Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#10 of 104 in Chaweng
2,602 reviews
1 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
740 reviews
1 mi away
Pavilion Samui Villas & Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Address: 146/24 Moo 4 | Surat Thani, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#5 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#7 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
#8 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £135 - £367 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on an idyllic stretch of exclusive Lamai Beach, Le Méridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa is a chic and intimate resort with a unique blend of stylish amenities, luxury services, an inspiring atmosphere and rich, cultural experiences. Inspired by timeless beauty and diverse cultural influences, the resort features an intimate selection of 64 suites and 14 stand alone villas, some with their own private plunge pools, infinity pools, limitless ocean views and private dining pavilions. Each exquisitely appointed with the most modern in-room facilities, high ceilings, expansive windows and open-air bathrooms. The resort features the Le Méridien signature arrival experience programme; an inspiring restaurant concept: Latest Recipe; and the savvy lobby lounge bar Latitude 9, the resort poolside Plunge Bar as well as the world-class luxury Le SPA.Reflect and relax at the world-class luxury Le SPA, with a customized menu of rejuvenating experiences that combine ancient cultural methods and ingredients to revitalize mind, body and spirit. A beautiful oceanfront infinity pool and expansive deck offers a stylish daytime retreat for a refreshing swim with spectacular ocean views. Guests can stay fit in the state-of-the-art fitness center, offering the latest and best exercise equipment and daily Yoga and Pilates classes. Relax by day on the resorts 224-meter floating pier that extends over the Gulf of Thailand and by night, enjoy a unique and sophisticated venue for an exclusive dinner, celebratory cocktails or engage with other well travelled new friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Le Meridien Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing