We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Uncle Rang Restaurant
Ranked #18 of 162 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 17 January 2013

Good food and the staff was very nice. The restaurant is cute and on the beach. The place is clean and good price for the food. We went there two times to eat.

Terry and sherry clark

1  Thank Terry C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2013

Thank you very much Terry and Sherry for your review. We do appreciate it. Thanks a lot to know that you enjoyed and loved to eat in our restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (217)
There are newer reviews for Uncle Rang Restaurant
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

104 - 108 of 217 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2013

This local restaurant was closest to our Banyan Tree hotel so we dined here a couple of times. It is on a really nice stretch of beach, with shallow waters all the way to a coral reef which encircles it. Food is good and reasonable, and there is a good choice. Wine is available, but like in Thailand everywhere is more expensive - stick to beer! Staff are friendly and service is good.

Thank Janey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you very much for this great compliment about our place. Thanks a lot enjoying our food and services. This is another encourage for us to keep it up our job and responsibilities.

Thanks for sharing your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2013

If you are looking for rustic Thai food in simple surroundings, Uncle Rang would be a good choice. Do not expect luxury. Plastic chairs, a menu with too many choices (a bit more restraint in their offering would be good, especially having the Western dishes seems odd) but a lovely view over the bay towards Lamai beach.

The friendliness of the owner/manager makes up for any mistakes. This is a place to relax and have a bit of fun. If something goes wrong with your order as we saw a few times around us, just let it go...with these prices and the friendly intent of the place everybody should remember their on holiday.

The curries were very good, especially the yellow one. Cocktails are not bad at all.

In short: A cute little place to visit, solid rustic Thai food with a killer view.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jan341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2013

Thank you very much for such a great review about our location. Thanks as well sharing your views, this could help us build a stronger and competitive service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2013

For our last meal in Koh Samui, my husband and I wanted to go somewhere near our hotel and near the beach. We hadn't idea what to expect when we went to Uncle Rang. We were pleasantly surprised by the amazing beach side view and the delicious food. We asked for everything to be spicy and it was just right. I highly recommend their green curry soup with roti. My husband got the pad thai with king prawns. He said it was delicious as well. The service, however was not great. It took an hour for us to get our food, but thankfully we had a gorgeous beach view to distract us.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Monita81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013 via mobile

Have to say not the cheapest but well worth every Bart , happy waitresses , good food and a good cocktail list .
All the usual things with eating out side like bugs and things but hay that's the way it is everywhere. When on koh Samui will go back 100%
O try if you have room the mango and sticker rice very nice

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank aldojca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Rang Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Uncle Rang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing