We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Isolated but Good, Simple Food”

Uncle Rang Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 158 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Isolated but Good, Simple Food”
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We ate at Uncle Rang's during our recent trip to Koh samui. It was very near our resort and after seeing signs for it we checked out the favourable TA rating and opted to see for ourselves. Despite the awful name (sorry but it is!) we happily had a positive experience.

Uncle Rang's is situated right on the beach in the vicinity of 2-3 top end resorts so can probably expect to benefit from a good amount of trade during the high season. However, in the low season when we visited we were the only people in the restaurant for the entire time. It isn't situated on a main strip so it doesn't get much passing trade. This may be something to keep in mind for those in need of atmosphere whilst eating. My partner and I however enjoyed the sole attention of the service staff and joked that I had hired out the whole restaurant as a romantic gesture!

The food and drink were very good value for money. Local beers were no more than 100BHT and house wine was only marginally more expensive. They do a good selection of seafood, Thai and western dishes: I had the Thai Chicken with Black Pepper & Garlic with Steamed Rice and my partner had the Garlic and Sweet Chilli Tiger Prawns. Both were delicious and of good portion sizes. We stayed for 2-3 drinks after eating and the staff were happy to provide this for use whilst they packed up around us. They were very friendly and chatted to us about the animal that was making strange noises in the roof space! They also explained that they were going to start finishing for the night but we could take our time which I thought was nice of them to tell us. This meant we felt comfortable rather than thinking they were trying to rush us out. We'd definitely eat here again and can fully recommend this to others.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Psychobobb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    108
    69
    15
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“Simple and very good”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

We stayed in a hotel next to Uncle Rang restaurant and spent 4 evenings of our 8 in this restaurant. The service was good. We ate a lot of sea food and we loved it, especially the tiger prawns with garlic or sweet chili sauce. We were two families with kids and had wonderful time by Uncle Rang. The location is great, directly on the beach out of all touristic spots. If you come early you can enjoy a very nice sundown...just take a cocktail and sit on the beach.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Michaela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taizhou, China
Level 2 Contributor
2 reviews
“GOOD”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

good taste,nice seaview.We have papaya salad, grilled fish, pineapple rice and beer,they are all delicious.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank clair1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Decent thai food”
Reviewed 22 May 2013 via mobile

We had our dinner one night as its just next to our hotel. Reasonable priced thai food. Ordered thai style grill white snapper.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mikeengkh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Decent restaurant with a local flavour”
Reviewed 27 April 2013 via mobile

We tried a number of small restaurants around the Banyan Tree and all had good features. We ate at the top of he resort, next to the reception and we certainly saw no evidence of poor hygiene in the kitchen area.

We had standard Thai stuff, but rated the chilli sauce with the fish cakes and the Massaman curry sauce very highly. Drinks had to come up from the pool bar (and food went down) so drinks were a little slow, but OK. Had a good chat with a very pleasant Philipino hostess. No language problems. All in all a pleasant evening.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Thompsons-Abroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SamuiTonggadResort, Guest Relations Manager at Uncle Rang Restaurant, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Thank you very much for this wonderful review Mr. Thompson, I do had a great night speaking with both of you tho. It was nice reading this review in fact I was really enjoyed with the conversation (not a typical topic from outside) and I liked that night with a couple like you.

Hope to chat with you again in the future.
I can say that you really liked the food that I offered to you. :)

Thanks a lot Mr. Thompson.

- Ali
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Uncle Rang Restaurant also viewed

Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Uncle Rang Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing