We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“value for money”
Review of Palm Coco Mantra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Palm Coco Mantra
Ranked #1 of 45 Lamai Beach B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 August 2014

My Husband & I planned for a small Thai Trip on our anniversary.We stayed at Palm Coco Mantra for 4 nights and truly spent a relaxing holiday there.The Hotel staffs were very friendly, polite & helpful.We stayed in a superior double room with sea view. The exterior of the hotel was very beautiful but I got upset when I entered in my room. That was a very average room with average interior. The balcony was very nice but the sitting arrangement was very poor and dirty with torn sit covers. The major problem we faced were Ants..you have to keep checking your bags as they can attack any time if food items are unpacked (Chocolate, biscuits,chips,sweets).There are baby lizards in the room and bathroom and always played a hide n seek with me ;-).Staff should be more perfect in matter of cleanliness. The things we loved was the beautification outside of the hotel, the beach side though it was not a swimmer's one but it was compensated by a lovely pool. Breakfast was very good & options are there for all kind of people. We hired a scooter from reception desk for 4 days for 200 BHT/day & saved a lot of money. Hiring car will not be a good option as beach sides are very crowded from evening to morning & you may have to face problem to park the car. Whereas its very easy to park a scooter at anywhere.Foods & drinks option are available with good price. They have a massage boutique in the hotel. You can take a kayak & enjoy the sea at time of tide, the water was only knee heights. While walking in the sea have to be careful about rocks. We got this option thru a deal so in terms of value for money, Yes! its a good place for a peaceful holiday.

Room Tip: Go for Villas or Deluxe double/Twin rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank PragnaRoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Greetings from PalmCocoMantra!First of all ,please accept our apologies for any inconvenience during your stay with us, We 'll try our best to improve and develop our hotel to be a hotel that the guests enjoy their stay, unfortunately by the time you stayed with us,it was the low tide season(which usually happen in some months).If you visit us again(especially from October-April)you 'll find that all sea activities can be enjoyed together with a very nice view from each room! Welcome Always..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (299)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

115 - 121 of 299 reviews

Reviewed 12 August 2014

My hubby and I stayed at Palm Coco Mantra for 9 days and enjoyed every second there. The staff is the most welcoming and friendly staff I've ever met. We booked a superior double room which has a beautiful sea view and is spacious and very nice. We rented a motorbike from the hotel to tour the island and for sightseeing (it only costs 200 Baht/day). I was a bit apprehensive about renting a bike but it turned out to be an enjoyable and safe option. Food at Coco bar is tasty and reasonably priced. Breakfast is delicious too. Swimming in the pool at night was nice (open till 9 pm). Free Kayaking at sunset was lovely too. The sea was shallow in the morning but that didn't bother us since we went out daily for sightseeing and for some fun activities. The resort is suitable for couples and families. It's an amazing place if you're looking for a relaxing getaway or if you want to stay in a calm area away from the busy center but still can rent a motorbike and reach central Lamai in less than 5 minutes. We booked a taxi from and to the airoirt with the hotel for $15 one way. Hot water and toiletries are always available. Wifi works great! All in all, it was a fantastic stay and we highly recommend this resort!

Room Tip: Superior double rooms are very nice and have a great sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank noushi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Greetings from PalmCocoMantra!Very nice to see your wonderful review and we feel very that you had a nice stay with us .I've tried my best to develop and train our staff to give best service to our valued customers.Please accept our apologies if you faced with any incinvenience during your stay with us and do not hesitate to tell us,please visit us again,welcome,welcome!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

when we arrived we were a little disappointed that the beach wasn´t exactly that, there are other reviews that say it is shallow, but al least the week we were there, there was no beach at all, the water was ankle level at most, and I dont think the kayaks could have been used either. BUT it IS oceanfront, we had a room with a terrace overlooking the sea, absolutely beautiful, for a third of the cost of other hotels nearby, and with an ample front to the sea, in an area without beach bars with loud music or lots of people. What really makes this hotel special is THE STAFF in Thailand people are usually smiling and good natured, but this staff was something special, you can tell they love their work and they are motivated and driven to help. The reception and restaurant staff were all great. I can make a couple of comments IF the management reads them, I´m sure they will see they have an opportunity for improvement. In a beach hotel like this, many people stay several nights, so they should have a little more variety at breakfast, maybe one different item each day (one day pancakes, another day porridge, another day french toast, etc). AND they should make the restaurant a little more cozy, with better ambiance for dinner, it has a regular white fluorescent light, so it feels like a cafeteria, maybe if the changed the lights, put tables on the beach, with candles, and some music, this could perfectly become a nice spot for a romantic dinner or some wine on the beach, or even beach BBQ some special night. Also another issue is it is a little far from everything, shops, restaurants, etc, so having a nice place for dinner on premises would be much better. We rented a little car from a nice lady very near the hotel, and that was absolutely great, because it allowed us free movement in the island.

Room Tip: pay the extra for the rooms with terrace and ocean view, they are much bigger and the terraces are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MariMichelena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2014

Greetings from PalmCocoMantra!Very nice to hear from you and we are happy that you enjoyed your stay with us.Unfortunately during your stay,it was such a time of low sea tide in our bay, but we hope that you enjoyed our pool!By this time of the year(from October-April)we have plenty of water in the sea and suitable to swim and sea activities,so if you have any chance to visit us again,please come to us,you'll have a perfect sea view with many kinds of sea activity.welcome and hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

We have stayed there for 3 days, and enjoy it. The staffs are so friendly and helpful for everything, provided round trip transfer to and from the Air Port, bike rental without insurance charge, fuel charge and excess time charge! A room is well new decorated with modern style, all accessories are European standard, also with international breakfast with good tastes.A standard pool front of the beach. The weak points are: location is hard to find if you come by yourselves and a sign pole is very uninteresting, but the very weak is the beach is not suitable for sea lover, but so clear water we could walk in the sea by easy avoiding to step on the rocks. The total performance of the hotel is O.K..

Room Tip: Booking a villa is the best for private atmosphere and quality of sleeping.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SUTHON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Swassdee krab K.Suthon.Greetings from PalmCocoMantra.Thank you for your review and we are happy that you had a good time with us.I am sorry for some inconvenience during your stay and we'll try our best to improve,also the water tide in the sea now becomes high and suitable for sea lovers( From October-April every year) so you can enjoy! Looking forward to seeing you again soon,welcome back again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights in April 2014. The beach is lovely with beautiful views. We particularly loved the kayaks supplied by the hotel that could be used to paddle in the calm waters. Rooms were well appointed, although I was a little disappointed with the "quality"of the in room safes which were essentially a box with a padlock on them which could be broken into if someone really wanted to try. A little out of "town" which suited us fine as we just wanted to relax and soak up the sun & enjoy the views.
Song-taews (local taxis) are available from the main road not far from the hotel which will take you into Lamai for approx 50 baht.

Room Tip: Take a kayak out for a paddle at dusk. A beautiful way to see the sunset & enjoy the scenery...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ranigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 29 October 2014

Hi Ranigirl!,greetings from PalmCocoMantra, thank you for a nice review and hope to see you again at our resort,we'll try our best to improve our service and maintain our resort in good condition to welcome you all!Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2014

After having stayed the previous 4 weeks in the north of Thailand, arriving here we had the feeling of finally arriving at holiday destination.
Maybe it is the beach or maybe the unforgettable view on the ocean from our bed itself that enchanted us so much.
The rooms are really spacious with king size bed and canapé, the walls not quite as colourfull as shown on the pictures which was good.
For breakfast they had a buffet with both Asian and European dishes, which were of a good quality. We had lunch/ dinner there a couple of times and we can only say that it was delicious, plenty and staff was mostly very friendly (Except for one young lady which was constantly in a bad mood)
As the restaurant is located just a few meters from the sea, it was just unique relaxing there even after you had finished your meal and feel the warm seabreaze!
Nice big swimming pool with good temperature to swim. As to the sea, it is a lagoon where you can swim at high tide, the water temperature being very warm.
For families with small children this is a big advantage, as it is pretty safe for the youngsters. Bring some water shoes as you will find plenty of shells and coral reef debris. A treasure not only for kids...

The hotel is located outside lamai beach which was a good choice, as lamai has become so touristic since we were there some 7 years ago, that it looks like chaweng, only smaller: this place has lost its character and almost only hosts cheap shops and cheap china made articles are sold on the market.
We walked to lamai by the beach at low tide which was a nice experience. On your way there you can relax at the bar of one of the many resorts. Going home you take a taxi or red cab, but the prices they claim are too high, for the 5 minutes drive, so you really have to negociate and try not to pay more than 150 thb.

We told the manager who,was on checkup visit during 3 days to maybe invest in some more longchairs and umbrellas, which were mostly broken by the strong winds. He thanked us for the suggestion and promised to do so.
One negative point was that we had booked our room with roundtrip transfer from the airport with agoda.com Unfortunately, although we tried to contact the hotel via agoda, this failed and the hotel did not have any notice of our arrival time of the plane. So we had to spend 500 thb for the taxi tranfer. However, when we changed the hotel after 7 days, they paid for the taxi.
The mistake was really on behalf of agoda.com who also never replied to us, or who do not give you a mail address of the hotel on the reservation form, unlike we are used to with booking.com

Altogether, it was a pleasant stay and we can only recommend this lovely hotel at reasonable price for beach front at koh samui.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on 2nd floor, no elevator, but this keeps you in shape. Luggage is taken to your room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christiane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 25 October 2014

Greetings from Palm Coco Mantra! thank you for your nice review and please accept our apologies about some inconvience during your stay.We promise to maintain our good standard and 'll try my best to improve some week points from our guests' review.Please visit us again.You are welcome!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We stayed here nine nights in December and were reluctant to leave when we did. Our room was cheerful, full of natural light, very clean and well-serviced with a comfortable bed and awesome air-conditioner that kept us nice and cool throughout our stay. The room had a mini bar for drinks or snacks and a big new flat screen TV across from the bed with HBO and a few English-language channels.

The pool and beach area was a 30 second walk from our room. The small overall size of the hotel meant that even at capacity there was always room for all the guests down on the semi-private beach and by the pool. The breakfast was served at a covered open-air beach side veranda that services as a restaurant and bar the rest of the day and was great for sitting at with the laptop in the afternoon or for pre-dinner drinks at sunset. The breakfast buffet was a bit repetitive, especially for us as vegetarians, but the staff was helpful and gracious and offered to prepare us special food if requested. We preferred the hotel's location far from Lamai's public beach for it's privacy, beauty and distance from the hawkers and party bars. The hotel offered us great deals on new scooters during our stay so we could easily venture to other areas anytime. There were also many (highly-ranked) restaurants, a few local bars and a Family Mart within a ten minute walk of the hotel. At the time of our stay the tides were very low in the afternoon but swimming in morning was always nice.

Bring bug spray; the mosquitoes were brutal down by the beach at all times of the day, even during breakfast.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
4  Thank Paula P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
palmcocomantra, Owner at Palm Coco Mantra, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2014

First of all,thank you for your nice review and we'll keep our hotel in good shape,thank you for your nice recommendation and you are always welcomed back to Palm Coco Mantra.

I've tried my best to manage the mosquitoes problem which occured during some time of the year and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
1.3 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
741 reviews
0.9 mi away
Sallamai Resort
Sallamai Resort
#1 of 51 in Lamai Beach
322 reviews
0.7 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
456 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#14 of 51 in Lamai Beach
575 reviews
1.6 mi away
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
Rich Resort Beachside Hotel
#24 of 51 in Lamai Beach
450 reviews
9.8 mi away
Coco Palm Beach Resort
Coco Palm Beach Resort
#13 of 30 in Mae Nam
482 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palm Coco Mantra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palm Coco Mantra

Address: 143/11 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £34 - £85 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Palm Coco Mantra 3.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick and getaroom.com so you can book your Palm Coco Mantra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Palm Coco Mantra Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing