We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice meal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Salathai Restaurant

Salathai Restaurant
Ranked #14 of 151 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$4 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Cash Only, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
North West England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
120 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Nice meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

We enjoyed our food here, I had lobster which was good, my husband said the shark curry was really good. Kids enjoyed their pasta.
Would return if we visited samui again.

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MLGTRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    160
    61
    24
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
suffolk
Level Contributor
103 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“A Bit Disappointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 April 2014

We thought we would try this as it looked really nice in the photos, sadly it did not live up to expectations. It was right on the road, so very noisy, the food was mediocre and service definitely didn't come with a smile - though it was quick (thankfully, given we were underwhelmed). Some items on the menu were dearer than at our hotel. The toilets were fine and a member of staff kindly arranged a taxi for us.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank summertimeSuffolk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Style over substance”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 April 2014 via mobile

We went to Sala Thai because having walked past it several times it always seemed busy unlike a lot of other restaurants, the whole place is a lot more 'up market' than many other restaurants around but the food wasn't as good, it wasn't bad but we have had better, it just lacked depth of flavour compared to the other places we've been. Sala Thai is a lot more expensive too, we paid twice as much as we did on the previous night and had a meal not as good. The free fresh fruit with your bill is a nice touch though. We will not go back, we'll try other places.

Helpful?
Thank Ryan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Over rated”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I read a lot of recommendations on the Sala Thai restaurant in Lamai. One of the places to have dinner in. So, I did and was disappointed.
The food is OK but not special.
The spiciness is rather European than Thai. Not what I expect in an authentic Thai restaurant. Maybe, that's also the reason why this place is full of tourist, but almost no Thai people having dinner there.
Why are there Spanish Tapas on a starters menu of a Thai restaurant???
Seafood is a rip-off. If you order king prawn, you get the smallest prawns they serve. If you want real king prawns, you have to order what they call jumbo prawns or even lobster for a surcharge (well, of course, it won't be a real lobster...but just a king prawn).
Prices are high (50-100% more expensive than in other good restaurants).
Service is good and friendly but not special.

Overall, I wouldn't recommend this place. There are better restaurants in Lamai for less money and better experience (ie, try the fish restaurant between the Fenix resort and Hin Yai & Hin Ta.....here you will also find more Thai business people than Tourists....judge yourselves)

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alsterschiffer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dublin
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Very friendly and patient service. Happy to allow mix across the menu with no fuss. I wanted to try baracudda but cooked thai style spices deep fried which was not on the menu. No problem and it was devine. Next evening I had same fish but with red curry sauce and steamed rice. Wonderful! Rest of the crew also loved it and one of them is very fussy with steaks but they delivered. Can't recommend it enough.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank njon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Salathai Restaurant also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Salathai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing