We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Maybe just a bad night!”
Review of Tropicana

Tropicana
Ranked #15 of 155 Restaurants in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: "Trattoria-style" Italian restaurant & Pizzeria located in center Lamai on the Lamai Beach road (500 meters before Mcdonalds ).
North West England, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
127 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Maybe just a bad night!”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

We chose this pizza restaurant based in reviews on TA, I was disappointed. My son chose a ham pizza with extra pepperoni, it was a long wait, when it arrived they had put extra yellow pepper on, when I mentioned to a waitress she shrugged her shoulders and walked off, we were charged for the extra pepperoni, couldn't be bothered to argue! The major disappointment for me was the bruschetta, this was terrible, crusty bread with tomato purée on with melted mozzarella, tasteless! The lasagna was ok but had cupped up ham in it!!
Don't think I will return again, we had a much better meal in pizza del sol in lamai.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MLGTRD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    321
    169
    43
    18
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“little bit of italy in koh samui”
Reviewed 30 March 2014

we ate here several times and the italian food was not only homemade but delicious. we had the lasagne, salads and pizzas as well as the tiramasu for dessert, all great. good service authentic food.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank michael l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumsey
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great food the best Italian Place in Lamai!!”
Reviewed 19 March 2014 via mobile

I ate at this restaurant many times as I loved it so much!! It has a great atmosphere and wonderful Italian owners with authentic food. The pizza and pasta that I ate was so good and grappa for an after dinner drink. A great place and better food than all the other italian places I tried.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Andrea P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Best Italian in Lamai”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

Walk down the main strip of Lamai and you could be forgiven for thinking that the national Thai cuisine is now Italian!! So many Italian restaurants, so little waistline. After a few days on Thai food, my daughters kept hounding us for a pizza and to be honest there is pizza and there is pizza. We eat a lot of italian and pizza at home and I have a wood fired oven so we know good Italian food when we taste it. We chose Tropicana because it had a good feel to it as we passed and behold, it had the Italian owners at the door to greet us. Always a good sign. Well the pizza and pasta did not disappoint and we went back a few times when we fancied a break from Fried Rice. Great value, attentive, friendly service, big menu. We are now going to Cheong Mon for a week, but we will be back here when we need our 'Ithailian fix'!!!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andypth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeddah
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic Food”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

me and my girlfriend try lots of meals.meet or pizza.
all kind of food was fantastic ! good job guys !!

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank thomas t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tropicana also viewed

 
Lamai Beach, Maret
 

Been to Tropicana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing