We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here when you're doing your cleanse, but bring earplugs”
Review of Poolsawat Villa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Poolsawat Villa
Reviewed 1 March 2014

If you have to stay in this area of Lamai, Poolsawat Villa is the best choice. I am just finishing up my second stay and I would recommend it to anyone as an alternative to the decrepit rooms next door at Spa Samui. It is much newer and while it's beginning to show a bit of wear, it is a vastly better choice.

Pros: Next to Spa Samui (detox programs, delicious healthy restaurant), amazing lap pool, granite floors, huge rooms with plenty of natural light, mostly clean, cheap food/massage very nearby
Cons: Staff speak limited English, furniture/linens starting to show some wear, thin walls (I had a screaming baby next door), far from town, beach not good for swimming

If you stay in the Deluxe rooms and not the villas, be aware that there is significant noise from the street. Additionally, since my first visit, a Eurotrash restaurant/bar has opened across the street - on weekends and random days during the week it blares club music from 8pm onwards. Last night it was still going at 12:30am. If you're not a night owl, bring earplugs.

Room Tip: The ocean view from the second floor is obstructed by the villas - ask for third floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dynamism
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (37)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 37 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2013

My 9 day stay at poolsawat has been great - the room is lovely and the view is amazing. The hotel doesn't have a restaurant but it's right next door to the Spa Resort, a holistic detox resort with a great casual restaurant. There is also some other restaurants and a supermarket at the Buddy resort 100 yards down the road.

The only con is that the beds are hard but they are in line with the nearby Buddy and Samaya Bura resorts which are more expensive.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rani13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2013

Last 3 days in Samui we’ve spend in Poolsawat villas. We already knew in advance that this part of Lamai beach in not great for swimming. There are only I believe 8 or 10 villas and the hotel on the back. The great part is that you have the pool more or less in front of the villa, and at the time we were there whenever we were in the pool it was all ours. Like us, most of the guests were around the island (with bike) most of the day.
The only thing we have been missing was breakfast, but there are restaurants and shops near so you can easily manage also this.

When back to Samui we will for sure spend few days here again.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank flyaway258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

This was the most comfortable and enjoyable stay during our 12 day trip to Thailand. We stayed two nights and stayed in 7 hotels. This one was just beautiful. We had a room with the ocean view and it was right in the center of the hotel, so the view was just magical. There was a patio i could have sat at all day and looked at the view. The rooms were large and clean. The bathroom was massive- well the shower. The water pressure was perfect. They supplied whatever you needed. There was a safe in the room. 24 hr mart directly across the street. A few steps further theres a little strip that has food. We went to the coffee shop twice for breakfast. Also a homemade burger place which had pretty good burgers. Laundry was a few steps further and much cheaper than the hotel. The hotel is a little walk to town and shopping. It took maybe ten minutes to get to town...then we kept walking and went back, which was a short walk. I thought it went by fast because there's a lot to look at and see.
True as others said, the staff spoke very little English. So, different from the other hotels I stayed at they were not able to help with tours or directions, etc. But, we made due. No breakfast or restaurant. The beach directly at the back of the hotel was not swimmable. There were many longtail boats and locals who were doing something. But just a 5-10 minute walk along the beach people were swimming. Wasnt the most clear water, but ok, i guess. Two days later when I stayed at Chewang beach, it was muuch clearer and just beautiful.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liyah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

Stayed in a poolside villa for 7 nights in March, which sadly was a little long. There are places to eat out etc nearby but it wasnt an amazing location, it seemed a little quiet for us (and we were not there to party, but the option is always nice).

The villa itself was great, spacious with big windows looking out onto the pool and a clean, comfortable bed/bathroom. Two minor criticisms my girlfriend made were the lack of any power point near the mirror for hair tools etc and the handheld shower. The cleaning standards were exceptional, the staff waited for us to leave our room each morning then would immediately go in, leaving it sparkling (and even folding our clothes!)

The beach on which the villas are located is not great, it isnt a powdery sandy beach or anything like that, the sand is quite grainy and there are fishing boats lined up on the shore. There is a 7/11 directly opposite so you can buy essentials easily.

The pool is lovely.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

We loved the large villas, king sized bed and huge floor to ceiling windows. Poolsawat looked like a new jewel at a bargain price. We enjoyed staying poolside but there were a few room design issues that occasionally frustrated. As a previous reviewer mentioned, a mounted shower would have been great. There were no power points close to a mirror for shaving,The air conditioner was intermittent in functioning. And you had to get out of bed and fumble for the light switch - none close by. Television signal was occasionally poor and with a limited choice of channels. The heavy sliding door into the villa was a bit of a battle to open and close. And it would have been lovely to have a range of drinks or snacks to purchase whilst relaxing by the beautiful pool - no meal options at all actually. We had to make regular trips to the hotel next door to ask questions - no English by reception staff although they seemed very nice people. These were all little issues we could live with but these are the issues that can get on your nerves and reduce a 4 rating to a 3.
I did not like this part of Lamai Beach - so don't go for a beach experience - stick to the pool.

Room Tip: No real difference in beach villa compared to other villas so additional cost not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Elise5-5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2013

We did an inspection when the hotel was newly opened last year! We returned in March for a 7 day stay!
The room was spacious but no comfortable chars! The bathroom a nightmare - no power point & a shower fixture non existent! The floor ended up as wet as I was & the timber venetians screening the bath already have water damage. To cope I sat in the bath & held the shower over my head! Most unsatisfactory.
The staff were very friendly but only one at reception spoke English.
Compared with other beaches the water is dirty & littered with rubbish. Because of increasingly high tides & beach erosion you can no longer walk in any direction along the beach, even at low tide!
We are now renting a 3 level 3BR house with magnificent views set in a rainforest not far from Kamalaya. Admittedly we have rented for a month & get a better rate but the rental equated on a daily basis is 500THB less than Poolsawat. I am sure there is more reasonable better quality accommodation nearby at Lamai. I hear Buddy's is clean & inexpensive.

Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
3  Thank Julie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
0.2 mi away
Manathai Koh Samui
Manathai Koh Samui
#11 of 51 in Lamai Beach
413 reviews
0.9 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 51 in Lamai Beach
709 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 51 in Lamai Beach
778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
0.1 mi away
Grand Manita Beach Resort
0.9 mi away
Lamai Coconut Beach Resort
Lamai Coconut Beach Resort
#4 of 46 in Lamai Beach
135 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Poolsawat Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Poolsawat Villa

Address: 222 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84280, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 46 Speciality Lodging in Lamai Beach
Price Range: £21 - £41 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Poolsawat Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Poolsawat Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Poolsawat Villa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing