We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Ranked #27 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Quebec, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“What a great place!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2011

I loved the week I spent at Samui Sense!!! The room (superior) was immaculate, cute and cozy with first class amenities including kimonos and umbrellas. The restaurant facing the ocean offers a nice breakfast buffet, you can order drinks and food all day long from your long chairs on the beach. The personnel is very nice and helpful. There is also a nice pool. Hotel is very calm surrounded with greenery and very well kept...I was definitely very happy with my choice...and I strongly recommand a stay there!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SRacine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    63
    73
    41
    11
    9
See reviews for
36
101
19
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2011

My boyfriend and I stayed here at the end of two weeks of non-stop travel through cambodia and thailand.

We stayed in a standard room that had been refurbished, the room size was average with a massive king bed. We didn't have a view, but then we spent most of our time on the beach where they had umbrellas and sun beds set up daily. I can definately reccomend the thai massage girls set up the the left of the hotel (When looking from the beach)- but ask for an oil massage if you don't like being turned into a pretzel like I do :)

Each morning we walked past the pool rooms and junior suite, their verandas face directly onto the path so there is not alot of privacy outside these rooms and I was glad not to have paid the extra.

It was only 50 meters to the restaurant which did a good breakfast. In the evening the beach is turned into a chillout zone for happy hour (bean bags to sit on, creative lighting and 2 for 1 coctails), dinner on the beach was also great and the food was delicious (though probably the most expensive we ate on the island- at about $55 (AUD) for 3 courses and drinks).

Location wise it was exactly what we were after- the hotel is on the main shopping/eating strip in Lamai and everything was in walking distance- great pubs, fantastic restaurants, it was a little quiet at this time of year, but this suited us. The hotel is set well back from the street and you don't hear the traffic at all.

The staff were very friendly and patient (especially when I stuffed up the in-room safe and had to get it reset) there was a bit of a language barrier, but nothing to stop you chosing this hotel.

We would definately stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kununurra
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2011

We have stayed here several times and will again in early 2012. The staff , whilst there may be some minor language barriers are always very cheerful and helpful. The rooms (we normally stay in a pool side villa) are clean and have what you need. The location is ideal for us as it is a fairly quiet area yet close to all that you need. We have found the beach to be one of the best on this stretch of Island. Dining whether for breakfast, lunch or dinner is a very pleasant experience and the quality of the food is very good.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KununurraKim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mulvane, Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have stayed at Samui Sense four times over the past three years and each time I stay for two weeks. It is the only true 4 star resort on the island of Koh Samui. The resort is beautiful and it is located right on the beach of the Gulf of Thailand. The sunrises and sunsets are beautiful, the service is the best you'll find anywhere, the food is excellent, and the rooms are clean and in very good condition. I would not return to this resort if it wasn't as good as I say it is. That is why I've been there four times. I have made many close friends with the people that work there and you will, too. If you are looking for fun, you'll find it there. If you want to take someone you love to a very romantic place, Samui Sense will make your loved one glad they are there with you. Samui Sense will make your stay one you will not forget.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Dan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlington, Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

I thought initally it might be out of the way when I considered how many places I had to visit on business on Koh Samui. It later turned out to be a blessing. I had a great room and loved the restaurant, which was steps away from the beach. Every morning a small black bird would perch on the back of theempty chair opposite me, waiting for me to drop a morsel or two on the floor. And then, almost faster than I could blink, it would swoop down and fly away. Most of all, I appreciated he incredible service from the front desk (Noli Dura), who helped me plan my meetings in a way that not only saved me time but money. I arrived at the hotel still suffering from the effects of food poisoning in Bangkok, I had gone to the hospital but some of the effects still lingered. Noli helped me solve that problem, too. Altogether, a great experience.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

Check-in was smooth and friendly. The location of the hotel is quite good, very close to the beach and on the other side you can walk around shops/restaurants.
The beach itself is enjoyable, and the pool is very nice.
Breakfast was good : pancakes and eggs made on-demand, as well as a selection of cereal, cheese, juices, bacon, yogurt and all the basic stuff. We had to check out of the hotel early (before breakfast time), and they gladly gave us a small box with food for the way.
We don't have any major complaints. We recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jonseh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 April 2011

First of all we would like to thank the staff of this fantastic hotel, the Manager that helped us with everything and the Lady that were boss of maintinence ( i think )THANK YOU.
We arrived 25 of march, to a rainy Koh samui, the welcome we got from the reception was a big smile and a tour around the facilities. We were escorted to the bungalow (101) and it was more then we could ask for, nice outdoor area and a BIG bed.
The first night we were just walking around in Lamai, and were just looking forward to a nice 1 day on the beach.
But then on the next morning big trouble came along, RAIN RAIN RAIN, iv never seen anything like it, and neither had the thai people in Samui. ( at least for 50 years ),
flooding and people were walking with water up to their neck. Restaurants were forced to close and no shops were open, minor problem to us but a big problem to the natives.
During this period the staff were fantastic, they helped us with everything, money ( atm`s didn`t work ), and to get fresh food, i cant be more greatful. During this rainy period, friend of us in other hotel didn`t have a shower,toilet,or electric that was working for 3 days, we had everything, thank`s to a generator in the hotel, power were on for 3 hours and of for 2, ( give or take )..
After 7 days of rain, the sun finaly came, and we could see the damage the waves had done to the beach and to the protection wall towards the restaurant, everything were crushed,they started to fix everything right away,
The Beach looked fantastic in the sun, and the service from the restaurant staff were quick and always with a smile.
The pool surroundings were taken from a picture from paradise, fantastic again.
The hotel served a nice meal in the morning and the hostes were funy and always smiling, i was looking forward to breakfast every morning.
The food in the restaurant tasted wery nice, we had fish and pasta there, recomended. The cleaning ladys were so to say spotless :).
When we are going to Samui the next time, we will stay there again..
its safe, everyone is smiling, close to everything but it`s quiet in the garden, and if you have trouble they will help you.
The only thing that is a little bit on the negative side, is the prices in the restaurant, overpriced !! but then again, no big deal.
a tip :
Have a dinner on the beach with a nice red wine and pasta, priceless.

Thank you for everything,

Line & Ted

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Teddemannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 521 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#18 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#14 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 294 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Aloha Resort
Aloha Resort
#44 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marina Beach Resort
Marina Beach Resort
#35 of 50 in Lamai Beach
3.5 of 5 bubbles 73 reviews
0.3 mi away
Varinda Garden Resort
Varinda Garden Resort
#21 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Sense Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Sense Beach Resort

Property: Samui Sense Beach Resort
Address: 124/61 Moo 3 Maret Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Sense Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Lamai beach, Koh Samui’s white sandy beach with various shopping and nightlife entertainment , Samui Sense provides you with an ultimate comfort in one of Koh Samui’s best locations. We are only less than 30 mins from Koh Samui’s airport and only 15 mins to Chaweng nightlife area. Our small boutique hotel has recently been upgraded to a true four-star boutique hotel standard, blended with Koh Samui’s original design concepts, our hotel accommodation design ranges from traditional Thai architecture to modern contemporary. Our 44 units comprises of 6 Poolside Villas, 8 Thai Villas, 20 Superior Rooms, 8 Junior Suites and 2 Executive Suites. Samui Sense represents what Samui's old charm used to be and is a well preserved property on the island with true Samui hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Samui Sense Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Sense Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Sense Beach Koh
Samui Sense Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing