We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Samui Sense, Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Samui Sense Beach Resort
Ranked #25 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Tonsberg,Norway
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Samui Sense, Loved it”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

This hotel is on the beach in Lamai. My wife and I stayed in a Poolside Villa and loved it.
The closeness to the Beach is the + with this hotel,with free sunbeds for people staying at the hotel is also a +. This hotel i will say is best suited for couples. There is not much to do for children and the pool is not that big. The closensess to the main street in Lamai is also a +, it is
a little way outside the main ruckess and noise from the pub´s. Another + is the resturant at the hotel is also on the beach and some nights a week they place out beanbags on the beach so you can sit and watch to stars and enjoy some drinks.

Room Tip: The poolside rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jimmyg_no
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

203 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    73
    41
    12
    9
See reviews for
38
102
20
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2012

We travelled to Koh Samui to celebrate NYE 2011/12.
As it was peak and everywhere was either booked out or expensive we opted to stay at Samui Sense.
The feedback provided seemed positive and photos on the website not too bad.

As we arrived we were greeted by the senior hotel manager and checked in.
As we were shown our room it was a room which was a garden view on ground floor.
The room was definately dark and had a stale smell from the air con.
There were oil burners around the room, I am sure this is to cover up the smell.
We had no choice but to stay as it was NYE and every where else was booked out.
As we were on the ground floor we noticed the bathroom would smell horrid during the day as i am sure there we sewerage/drainage issues where it would travel from above rooms to the lower rooms out.

The pool is not on the beach front as seen in some photos on websites.
There is a restaurant on the beach front which I would say was the only positive, the chef was a good cook and the menu had a variety of different options from English, Italian to thai food.
The other issue no menus were in the rooms for the restaurant so you had to walk down to restaurant and order requesting room service delivery.

I found some of the front desk staff unfriendly and were not throughly trained in customer/hospitality service compared to other resorts within Koh Samui.
We were promised a scooter rental however, then advised they were all booked out.

I would only reccomend this hotel if you book poolside or the upper level rooms to avoid smells.

Room Tip: Do not book garden view rooms to avoid sewerage smells.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank VVVIIICCKKYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2012

As regular travellers to Koh Samui, we decided once again to spend our Christmas holidays in Thailand. Having stayed at various locations in various hotels, we decided to stay this time in Lamai and began to search for a hotel of choice.

We eventually short listed Samui Sense, as the website looked inviting and, began our usual due diligence in reviewing reviews of past holiday makers. We noticed a large amount of positive reviews and eventually settled for a five day stay in a junior Suite.

Check-in was efficient and friendly with a welcoming glass of juice.

We were promptly shown to our room and upon opening of the door, were immediately hit with a pungent musty smell that was overbearing and, even though we arrived on a sunny day, you required a torch to see into the room...it was that dark!

As the hotel and, indeed the entire Island was fully booked, we had no choice other than to stay in the hotel. The manager advised that he may be able to move us "in a few days" but this never eventuated, accepting that it was peak season and rooms were not available.

In order to alleviate the odour, we resorted to oil burners and open windows, despite the risk of insect bites. This helped somewhat.

Overall, the hotel is located nicely on the beach however, don't expect 5 star luxury. The hotel could do with an overhaul.

Breakfast was nothing special but acceptable for the price. The location of the breakfast area is right on the beach which makes for a relaxing breakfast with beach vistas.

In conclusion, we are very surprised that not too many reviewers mentioned the dark and damp rooms. We asked a few other guests as well as could see into other rooms that were being cleaned and, the darkness and musty smell were very evident, even from the hallway.

Overall, unless other, brighter rooms were available, we could not recommend a stay here unfortunately.

Room Tip: Do not get a ground floor room as they are very dark & musty. Pool side Bungalows looked dated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NonAvailable
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peebles, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2012

The samui sense doesn't look much from the street but it really is a little oasis. We were greeted with a refreshing cocktail and quickly checked in. Our room was fairly small but really was comfortable. We really enjoyed our time in this resort and loved being right on the beach. Breakfast was good with lots of food choice. Tables were set up on the beach at night which was a very nice touch and very romantic. Overall we had a lovely time at this resort and would definitely recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DianneEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2012

The location is great, the accommodation is very comfortable, the personnel is forthcoming and friendly, you can expect professional treatment + the breakfast is excellent:)
Samui Sense beach is a lovely place!

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Veronika S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

the beach next to the hotel was amazing, the rooms were clean and big enough but we found the location to be a little out of the way and there is not much to do on that side of the island. the staff were not very helpful and not very friendly and I found them difficult to communicate with and ask for help - examples are we had to carry our own suitcases too and fro our rooms, we had to walk to the street with our own bags and flag down our own taxis, when asking best places to go we were responded with "I dont know" etc etc.
the bed was the hardest I have ever slept on and i was convinced sleeping on the floor would have been more comfortable!
The breakfast was the highlight, the staff that worked at that time in the morning were alot more friendly and there was enough choice and the seating is right on the beach which was pleasant in the morning.

Room Tip: ask for a room near the pool and close to the beach - they are the rooms that have sitting areas out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Samina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 November 2011

We stayed here for 4 days 3 nights during August 2011 and I got the impression there weren't many people staying at the time.

We had originally booked a bungalow based on reviews on TripAdvisor however once we walked into one down near the pool and bar we immediately thought twice about that decision. Cigarette burns on the old wooden (very plain) bedside cabinet/box things, no two lights matched and the aircon was only putting out wisps of coolish air every couple of minutes. The bathroom would have been extremely modern in the very early 80s.

We asked to see another room and were shown 2 - the Thai Bungalow (slightly more expensive) and the 1br suite (1000THB per night more expensive). We settled on the very modern and up to date suite with balcony. Very happy with the room and its amenities. So modern and new that it felt like it was built the preceding week.

The airconditioning was a central system so you could set and forget while you were there. The balcony with its sun lounges would be great but we preferred to spend time on the beach. Nonetheless - great place to have a G+T while contemplating where to have dinner.

The dark polished wooden floors of the 1 bedroom apartment led up to a beautifully laid floor level (Thai style) bed with crisp white linen and silk oddments as decoration. The bath was large and deep making for a great bath. The wardrobe space was good. There was little 'kitchen' to speak of apart from a tiny (ie: 1' x 1' x 1') fridge with a proper metal sink, but no microwave or stove facilities to speak of. Quite a few channels on the cable - roughly half in English and a few in French and German. The lounge was great and comfortable to relax in with the ipad. If there are a couple of couples staying in suites near each other there is easily enough room to get together for a drink in one room before going out.

Wireless internet throughout the hotel is free (they give you the password when you check in). The speed is pretty good (not as good as Bangkok but still better than some other places we've been). As at August 2011 there is no 3G on Koh Samui. I repeat - there is NO 3G on Koh Samui. You can use your 3G simcard you bought in any other place in Thailand to make calls and text perfectly (and at excellent rates, no matter which company you were with, by the way). So many people at the airport were berating the poor sim card selling girls as though they were personally responsible. What is that about?

You're gonna have to use the usually free internet in the hotel. If you're security conscious (not that 3G will help that) - use a VPN like we do. 10 years and not a problem with phished information yet. Spend 10 or 15 USD for your entire holiday trip and you'll be safe, no matter where you go. You can even use it when you get home and go to hotspots etc.

Back to the hotel... We had decent wi-fi access from our sun lounges on the beach too so the iPad got a work out (check out the photos). Come the evening time they move the sun lounges off the beach and replace them with beanbags. We had a drink here before wandering along the beach to check out dinner options. One thing here - regardless of where you go - if you're sitting on the beach, it's dark, and drinks or dinner are your order - you are going to pay for it. It's the way it is. The food on the beach here is expensive, then so are all of the other beach hotel food options. Don't moan because the seafood banquet in the main street is only $40USD and here you're paying $60USD. You're sitting on a beach with your toes in the sand and someone running food back and forward to you - they don't do this for $3USD a person any more. Drinks are no different. If you want to have cheap drinks while walking on the beach - buy them at 7-11 and have them as you discreetly walk along the lapping waves.

Overall the suite option with balcony was outstanding. If I recall correctly hotel transfers are only one-way if you stay in a suite (ie: the return is free). That's worth the 1000THB for a night on its own. Try it - you'll like it!

Room Tip: Choose a suite - not a bungalow. Do not stay near the pool (noise).
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vicbrett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lamai Beach hotels
0.1 mi away
Lamai Wanta
Lamai Wanta
#15 of 50 in Lamai Beach
548 reviews
0.2 mi away
Am Samui Palace
Am Samui Palace
#17 of 50 in Lamai Beach
198 reviews
0.4 mi away
Thai House Beach Resort
Thai House Beach Resort
#7 of 50 in Lamai Beach
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Lamai Buri Resort
Lamai Buri Resort
#13 of 50 in Lamai Beach
309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Weekender Resort & Hotel
Weekender Resort & Hotel
#31 of 50 in Lamai Beach
337 reviews
1.0 mi away
Royal Beach Boutique Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Samui Sense Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Sense Beach Resort

Property: Samui Sense Beach Resort
Address: 124/61 Moo 3 Maret Lamai Beach, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Sense Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the middle of Lamai beach, Koh Samui’s white sandy beach with various shopping and nightlife entertainment , Samui Sense provides you with an ultimate comfort in one of Koh Samui’s best locations. We are only less than 30 mins from Koh Samui’s airport and only 15 mins to Chaweng nightlife area. Our small boutique hotel has recently been upgraded to a true four-star boutique hotel standard, blended with Koh Samui’s original design concepts, our hotel accommodation design ranges from traditional Thai architecture to modern contemporary. Our 44 units comprises of 6 Poolside Villas, 8 Thai Villas, 20 Superior Rooms, 8 Junior Suites and 2 Executive Suites. Samui Sense represents what Samui's old charm used to be and is a well preserved property on the island with true Samui hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline, Ebookers, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Samui Sense Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Sense Beach Hotel Lamai Beach
Samui Sense Beach Koh
Samui Sense Beach Resort Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing