We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptionally attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
“Exceptionally attentive staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We are a British couple now residing in Dubai so we thought we would take our annual holiday to Thailand this year as we are used to high standards in Dubai we were not disappointed with this hotel. We stayed in a garden villa but due to a slight maintenance issue we were upgraded to villa 107 with a lovely beachfront location and exceptional views. The villa we found to be exceptionally comfortable and well appointed and housekeeping was excellent. The staff throughout the hotel with the senior management of Killian (GM ) and Didier ( food and beverage manager ) were always there and on the ball. Their dedication passed through to all members of staff. Special thanks to Didier who gave us great advice on places to go and restaurants to visit. We would like to give special praise to Woody in the Banana Leaf restaurant who was very gracious and entertaining and we have left with fond memories of Koh Samui. We visited the spa on site and we were very impressed with the quality and professionalism , one of the observations my husband has seen is that although you can get much cheaper massages on the beach these masseurs are not trained like the ones in the hotel and he felt much more relaxed after visiting the hotel spa. The Tawan restaurant was also lovely and we had an exceptional meal there with probably the best steak my husband has ever tasted.Only disappointing thing was the weather as we had 11 days of cloud and rain. We also feel as other people have mentioned that the Tapas bar did not seem to have an identity and as a British couple would have liked to have had a drink at the end of the night but staff seemed to be keen on closing just after 10.30 pm when It should have been open until midnight. With the clanking of bottles behind the bar we got the message on several occasions that it was time to leave ! As we mentioned to Didier it is such a shame that this area could be a great meeting point and it seems to be under utilised.

Room Tip: If you want to treat yourselves go for a beach villa with private pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Julie B -

Greetings from Koh Samui and thank you very much for sharing your experience here at the Renaissance. It was wonderful to have you as our guests and to have a chat with you every day. I will pass your thanks and greetings to Didier and Khun Woody too.

We have taken up your comments on Tapas Bar and are actually working on a menu revamp as well as the closing times as i agree with you - even if I am not British - that having a good drink at night is part of what makes a good holiday perfect.

As Dubai is not that far away, I hope that we can welcome you back one day to Koh Samui.

All the best to you and sawasdee krub!

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,158 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    697
    326
    83
    29
    23
See reviews for
237
655
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

We booked a 'long weekend' at the Renaissance to get away from a particularly busy time in the UK. Our ocean view room was upgraded to a top floor suite with stunning views across the Lamai Bay. That was a good start. All employees that we encountered at the Renaissance were most helpful and courteous. Breakfast time was a delight as was dinner in the Banana restaurant. The only puzzling aspect was the Tapas bar which didn't seem to serve tapas which would have been fun. We decided to extend our 'long weekend' and in fact stayed 11 nights being transferred to a Beach Villa. Again - an excellent accommodation with our own plunge pool. As written before, all employees were excellent and helpful but a special thank you to Didier who gave us good advice concerning what and were to go and thank you for the surprise birthday cake.

Room Tip: The Beach villas are cry quiet and peaceful but also close to breakfast and the beach and pool. Gre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MalcolmM1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Malcolm M -

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your long weekend escape... I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and villas as well as our brekfast and other food options. In fact we are working on a menu that will offer Tapas from different regions of Asia as well as Europe. Please come back and visit us to taste them!

I will also pass on your comments to Didier as we always strive to help our guests discover intrigiung experiences during their holidays.

With best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013 via mobile

A lovely hotel with lots of villas appsrtments scattered around, not easy to find your way around to and from your room to the beach and restaurant. The greenery is kept very tidy and looks but very beautiful with lits of butterfly's flying around. The beach was disappointing, especially as I like to snorkle, when the tide is out, you can only paddle and when the tide is in, there is only couple of feet of water. The staff always came around to see if we needed anything and they also handed out complimentary fruit all day to us by the pool. Would I book again, not sure, I think I would look for a similar priced hotel with 5star service that I expect with a great beach.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank truesavings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear truesavings -

Greetings from the Renaissance Koh Samui and thank you for taking the time to write a review.

While the water levels in fornt of the resort are successively getting deeper now until the end of the year, we also have an option for snorkling and swimming fans nearby called Silver Beach which is a mere 15 minute walk away.

Thank you for your comments on the gardens and service provided by our team and should you decide to stay with us again, I would be very happy to show you the way to the best snorkling spots on the island.

With best regards,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, null, Vietnam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2013

Every year we come back to Lamai and The Spa Samui for fasting. After finding the Renaissance, we've never bothered to look for another accommodation. The pool villas are comfortable, the staff courteous and always smiling. Despite the gloomy and rainy arrival, Alex was very sunny. He welcomed us at the airport with a very professional attitude. You can feel that he takes care of the guests. Yesterday was the best check-in we had at the Renaissance. Good service is in the details. And Alex will make a good hotel GM someday.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pollynne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
Dear Pollyne -

Greetings from Koh Samui! Thank you for your wonderful feedback about our resort and the team of Navigators. I will share your comments on Alex with him and the team.

We hope that you will come back to visit us soon. Please feel free to contact me directly via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com.

Sawasdee Krub!

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
muscat
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This is our first time in koh samui so we were unsure where to stay. We thought we would play it safe with a name like marriott as we would not be disappointed and we were not. Alex at the front desk was our star on arrival. He helped us check in and was totally hands on. We had a problem on our first night with the air con and sure enough, we were moved into an even better room. The hotel may not be the latest in the area but in terms of cleanliness and hospitality, it tops many places I have been to. Set in a beautiful and quiet part of samui filled with lush greenery and beauty. Totally zen if u are looking for peace and serenity. Would totally recommend it. Looking forward to another six wonderful nights at this beautiful place.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ali s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear ali s -

Its great to have you with us and I look forward to another interesting chat with you during breakfast time. I will share your comment about Alex with the team!

Wishing you a blissful vacation,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
110 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

We ended our tour of Thailand and Cambodia with a stay at this hotel and it was phenomenal. We had one seaside villa and one other villa for our kids. The seaside villa was breathtaking! You just couldn't beat the view and the privacy. Our patio had a private plunge pool and lovely lounge chairs so that you could just stare at the sea. The inside of both villas were the same it was just the location that was the difference. Both of the interiors were gorgeous. They were spacious with a great shower and bathroom.

The beach was just ok because in July there is really almost no water. The tide is so low that you would need to walk out for about a mile to even be submerged. We did take the free shuttle from the hotel on two days to visit the beach in Chaweng and it was really beautiful. We were also given a recommendation by the staff to visit Silver Beach which was just a 15 minute walk from the hotel. That beach was amazing.

The pool area is beautiful and it was fun to cool off in the pool after a day in the sun.

The breakfast buffet was fantastic. There were many choices both western and Thai.

On one night we went to the Seafood BBQ on the beach with a female impersonator show. Both were great. If you are there when they are having this, you should definitely do it.

One last thing is the management of this hotel. I can't say enough about how wonderful and friendly they are. We went to the reception on the beach and got to meet all of the upper management and they were so friendly and helpful.

You should definitely consider this hotel when booking in Koh Samui

Room Tip: If you can, choose a seaview villa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CuriousTraveler6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear CuriousTraveler6 -

Greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for sharing your vacation memories at the Renaissance!

We are so happy to read how much you enjoyed your stay and indeed it was a pleasure having you. By the way: Every other week we are alternating the show during the Beach BBQ on thursdays to an original Thai Fire Performance which is exciting too.

We sincerely hope to see you on Koh Samui again and wish you all the best while discovering other destinations!

Sawasdee Krub!

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noida, India
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2013

Located on Lamai beach, 20 minutes from Chewang and 30 minutes from Fishermen's Village, Renaissance is a Marriot Property, with very friendly staff, amazing food and fab rooms. We stayed in a pool villa which was amazing. The Beach is ok, with a huge part of the sea surrounded by a natural coral giving you this huge expanse of the ocean with just ankle deep water for you to take a walk in!
I tried almost every dish on the in room dinning, and each dish was better than the previous one (all Thai curry items).
Has 3-4 restaurants, but could only visit one for the breakfast.
The hotel runs a few shuttles to Bopat and Chewang, with fixed timings. Cab to Chewang one way will be 300 to 400 BHT.
Overall very nice staff and great all green Ambience - all villas are surrounded by lush green plants and trees.

Room Tip: Take a room away from the main entrance. Usually if you have booked a deluxe room, chances are you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SiddharthaThakur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
Dear SiddharthaThakur -

Greetings from heavenly Koh Samui!

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your vacation which us and I will pass on your love for our curries to our culinary team! They will for sure be excited to hear your comment and be inspired to create new dishes, as we are revamping our menus to offer even more local cuisine.

With best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#8 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 735 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Marriott, TravelUp, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing