We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Ranked #5 of 50 Hotels in Lamai Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A great hotel”
Reviewed 24 November 2013

A great hotel located on a more private area of Lamai beach. Overall, it had great amenities including a substantial gym and watersports. Staff were very helpful and food and drinks were of fantastic quality. Being in a hotel room takes away the feel of paradise as you have that long walk to and from the room, and would recommend the villas or stay in a boutique resort for that more intimate feel. Aside from this though, a very clean and well designed resort with a great beach and amenities to match. Great breakfast too :)

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gazfjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Dear Gazfjones -

Thank you for taking the time to share your holiday experience with the TripAdvisor community!

Indeed the private pool villas are perfectly located, close to the beach and within a tropical garden setting. Our Deluxe Rooms with private balcony or terrace and a jaccuzzi are a mere 2 minutes walk away from the beach and actually have the 50m Leelawadee lap pool right in front of them, so I hope that every guest will find the perfect spot in our resort.

I am very happy to read that you loved our breakfast, the beach and our complimentary kayaks!

Hoping to welcome you back at the Renaissance in the future and with best regards from sunny Koh Samui,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,165 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    701
    329
    83
    29
    23
See reviews for
238
661
32
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (265)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We stay here each time we come back to Samui (5x in 5years). It's comfortable luxury without pretense and attitude. The villas are a great value and although this year we came in the rainy season it was still a great break. Staff are friendly and attentive.

Room Tip: All garden villas are well situated and convenient to main pool and resort restaurants. Perhaps thos...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 2 December 2013
Dear Andrew K -

Greetings from tropical Koh Samui! Thank you very much for your review and for coming back to stay with us for five years in a row. I heard from my team how much you enjoyed your stay and now see your comments here on tripadvisor.

The Renaissance team is looking forward to welcoming you back next year (which is just around the corner) - Please let me know if I may be of assistance with your future arrangements via killian.donoghue@renaissancehotels.com.

All the best,

Killian.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We stayed at Renaissance Koh Samui for 3 nights. I have to say it was really a good experience. The staff there were very friendly and client-oriented. We received a bottle of Champagne and a box of chocolate on the arrival day, because I told hotel that it was our honeymoon. The breakfast was also fantastic! We definately recommend this hotel for your Koh Samui trip!

Room Tip: If you do not stay at a villa, then rooms on higher floor are recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank caddie_l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear caddie_I -

Greetings from Koh Samui and thank you for your kind review here on TripAdvisor! We are very happy that you enjoyed your honeymoon trip and hope to be able to welcome you back - Maybe on your anniversary?

With best personal regards,

Killian Donoghue
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We visited samui this year for our yearly holiday vacation. We stayed at renaissance for 4 nights. Everything in this resort is wonderful including the restaurant and lovely rooms they have. The staffs are well trained. The only bad thing was the weather as it was a bit rainy.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank SamK652
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear SamK652 -

It was lovely to have you with us and I am very happy that you enjoyed your precious holiday time here at the Renaissance!

We are especially pleased to learn that you enjoyed our restaurants. After introducing new menus at Banana Leaf and the Pool Bar, the Tapas Bar will follow this week with Spanish, Thai and Arabic Tapas. I hope you will be back to visit us one day to try out our new menus.

I am sorry to hear that the weather was not perfect during your stay. While there is more rainfall in the month of November, it usually does not last too long and clears up immediately after.

With best regards from Koh Samui to Seoul,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013 via mobile

Booked for 3 nights on this resort. The location is quiet compared to main chaweng road which is a bit busy. The rooms are great, the restaurant serves authentic cuisines. The pool is close to the beach so if you want to swim by the sea its not that hard anymore. Good views.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Evehk115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Evehk115 -

Sawasdee from the Renaissance Koh Samui! We are very happy that you enjoyed your short holiday break with us. Indeed the views of the beachfront pool are beautiful and are one of the things that make our resort special. Chef Tor will be delighted to learn about your compliments in regards to his Thai culinary skills which he and his team take much pride in.

I hope to be able to welcome you back at the Renaissance one day and share the many other discoveries here in the resort as well as on the coconut island of Koh Samui.

Until then I remain with best regards to Hong Kong,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013 via mobile

We booked for 3 nights at this resort. The full stay was great and loving as they do have friendly staffs to accommodate you when you arrive. The rooms are good and clean. The pool is lovely as it is overlooking the sea. The food they serve at the restaurant is great.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Briggsdman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 6 November 2013
Dear Briggsdman -

Sawasdee Krub from Koh Samui to New York!

Thank you for your lovely review. I am very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay with us and especially liked the beverage & food offerings. We have just completed to introduce new menus at our all day daining restaurant Banana Leaf and the Pool Bar which will be followed by an exciting new Tapas menu at Tapas bar in November featuring Thai, Spanish, Arabic and International Tapas.

We hope to welcome you back to the Renaissance one day and send our best rgeards,

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
195 reviews
116 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

So I may be a little biased because they upgraded me from sea view room to a villa, however one can see that no matter where u stay here it's a little bit of heaven...

The staff are unfailingly polite, the hotel has great , sloping to the sea layout with well kept tropical trees and foliage. Rooms are really spotless and quiet. Breakfast and lunch in Bananaleaf restaurant is very good value and the local fruits and special dishes are really good.

Only thing that entailed a 1/10 score was a spectacularly bad 4 cheese pizza at the poolside. Cheese hard to find, undercooked doughy pastry... But hey, who eats pizza in Thailand, should have stuck to local dishes !

Real easy access to airport, some small restaurants and shops in vicinity if you need to get out .

Beach is very nice, water around 1 meter deep for maybe 200 out, so really safe if you have bigger kids.

Great pool overlooking the azure sea ... Beats downtown Bangkok!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Killian D, General Manager at Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear Mark R -

While you enjoyed your upgrade, I am very happy that you also loved our breakfast offerings, the service of the Renaissance team and the tranquil surroundings.

In regards to the Four Cheeses Pizza, I will take it up with our Chef Tor as I know that he is very passionate about pizzas that we by the way bake in our own pizza oven. We have just launched a new range of pizzas and I hope that you would be able to come back to vist to try them.

Until then: Thank you for the great feedback and greetings from Koh Samui!

Killian Donoghue.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lamai Beach
7.0 mi away
Anantara Bophut Koh Samui Resort
7.0 mi away
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
Bo Phut Resort & Spa
#2 of 187 in Bophut
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,538 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banyan Tree Samui
Banyan Tree Samui
#1 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.6 mi away
Amari Koh Samui
Amari Koh Samui
#9 of 104 in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,309 reviews
0.3 mi away
Beach Republic The Residences
Beach Republic The Residences
#4 of 50 in Lamai Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
0.3 mi away
Le Meridien Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa

Property: Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa
Address: 208/1 Moo 4, Lamai Beach, Maret, Ko Samui 84310, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Maret > Lamai Beach
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Luxury Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Romantic Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Lamai Beach
#4 Spa Hotel in Lamai Beach
#12 Family Hotel in Lamai Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa, a Marriott Luxury & Lifestyle hotel is the perfect place for a vacation getaway, destination wedding or executive retreat where you can escape to your own seaside villa with private pool, blending the luxury of the world's best spa resort with the intimacy of a secluded island village. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Hotel.de so you can book your Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort And Spa
Renaissance Koh Samui Hotel Lamai Beach
Koh Samui Renaissance
Renaissance Koh Samui Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Lamai Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing